Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 15th of July 2001 (Sun)   #1
Teffy

Default My Gear: Pros and Cons

Here are impressions of my photography equipment after a few months of use. I am a rank beginner.

-------------
CAMERA
-------------
Canon Powershot Pro90 IS
I love this camera. It can take some stunning pictures.

Pros:

- 10x optical zoom. I don't know how anyone lives without it.

- Swivel/tilt LCD makes for much easier composition of shots where it is difficult or impossible to get the camera and one's head in the right place relative to the subject. Before I bought the camera, I thought this feature might be useful 5-10% of the time. I have found that it is actually useful about 90% of the time (I have been mostly shooting plants and animals outside).

- Loads of ability to adjust/override automatic settings. I was surprised to find how often I use these features!

- The Image Stabilization - wonderful when you are in the mood for handheld shots (or when there's no time for the tripod).

- The camera looks way cool.

- 10x optical zoom.

- 10x optical zoom - oh yes.

Cons:

- Startup is slow.

- Autofocus can be slow.

- Manual focus is a pain since the adjustment in large-ish increments rather than continuous, and are no numbers displayed to indicate distance. That is why I added a Macro Rail for use with my close-up lens.

------------------
TRIPOD LEGS
------------------
Gitzo Explorer (aluminum)
Totally awesome. There is a picture of it at http://www.bogenphoto.com/feature/rightscreen.php3

Pros:
- The slight twist required to loosen or tighten the legs for extension is wonderful. No sore fingers here.

- The ability to lock the legs at any angle between 0 and 90 degrees is wonderful, especially on uneven terrain. And the leg angle locks are very easy to work.