Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 27th of September 2008 (Sat)   #1
bad karma

Default Silver reflective or white reflective umbrella?

I was deciding between these two but I am not sure about what to get

White umbrella with black back
http://www.amazon.com/Adorama-Interi...2533367&sr=1-1

Or

Silver umbrella with black back

http://www.amazon.com/Adorama-40-Sil...533367&sr=1-11

Does the white reflective one give off more of a softer reflective light?
bad karma is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 27th of September 2008 (Sat)   #2
msowsun
Cream of the Crop

Default Re: Silver reflective or white reflective umbrella?

I am still pretty new at using umbrellas but....

I believe the white with removable black is designed to be used a a shoot through when the black is removed and a reflective type with the black backing in place.

The sliver reflective umbrella can only be used as a reflective type.
msowsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of September 2008 (Sat)   #3
bad karma

Quote:
Originally Posted by msowsun View Post
I am still pretty new at using umbrellas but....

I believe the white with removable black is designed to be used a a shoot through when the black is removed and a reflective type with the black backing in place.

The sliver reflective umbrella can only be used as a reflective type.
Thanks! I appreciate the response.

The removable black back on the white leads me to believe it can also somewhat be a reflective as well, otherwise why would they have it, that is the confusing part for me.
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 27th of September 2008 (Sat)   #4
SkipD
Cream of the Crop