Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Kids & Family
Thread started 10 Oct 2008 (Friday) 20:57
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

What should I have set the AF focus point on?

 
Kauaicrazed
Senior Member
778 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Orange County, Ca
Oct 10, 2008 20:57 |  #1

I set it in the middle and the middle of the picture looks sharp. LOL! But what should I have done to get both of them in focus? Should I have set the aperture differently? Thanks in advance!

F/4.5, ISO 200, lens: EF28-105, 38.0 MM

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://i68.photobucket​.com ...0/alohamommy/IMG_24​32.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Byte size: ZERO



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
AndreaBFS
Goldmember
1,345 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Oct 10, 2008 21:00 |  #2

It looks like the focus point grabbed the tractor wheel way behind them. You might have been OK with focus and recompose (put the center point on the pumpkin or one of the kids) since you were at f4.5. I have my focus points set on the joystick, so I would have picked the one closest to either of their eyes and done it that way. The item in the center of the picture was just too far back to have focus on that *and* the kids.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Lunajen
Goldmember
Lunajen's Avatar
1,635 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Portland,Tennessee
Oct 10, 2008 21:01 |  #3

Yeah a higher apeture would have helped but manual focusing would have been better.
But if you are using the focusing points use all of them in a situation like this.


Websiteexternal link.Flickrexternal link
Twitterexternal linkFacebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jim ­ G
I feel thoroughly satisfied
Jim G's Avatar
12,251 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Australia.
Oct 10, 2008 21:02 |  #4

As AndreaBFS said... the center focus point was on the background and thus the camera's focused on that. I'd use a side focus point or focus and recompose..


Gear Listhttp://www.codastudios​.com.auexternal link Reviews & Hotlinks: Domke F-3x - Pelican 1510/1514external link & 1610/1614external link - DIY Variable Length OC-E3 - Crumpler 6 Million Dollar Homeexternal link - FA-100external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
macroshooter1970
Cream of the Crop
macroshooter1970's Avatar
7,491 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Arizona
Oct 10, 2008 21:03 |  #5

you can use other points,not just the center.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jim ­ G
I feel thoroughly satisfied
Jim G's Avatar
12,251 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Australia.
Oct 10, 2008 21:03 |  #6

Lunajen wrote in post #6474811external link
Yeah a higher apeture would have helped but manual focusing would have been better.
But if you are using the focusing points use all of them in a situation like this.

Have to disagree with you there - manually selecting one is going to remove any chance of computer error here. The auto selection isn't always right. MF isn't necessary in a situation like this, just selection of the appropriate point.


Gear Listhttp://www.codastudios​.com.auexternal link Reviews & Hotlinks: Domke F-3x - Pelican 1510/1514external link & 1610/1614external link - DIY Variable Length OC-E3 - Crumpler 6 Million Dollar Homeexternal link - FA-100external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DJShuttering
Member
DJShuttering's Avatar
162 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Atlanta
Oct 10, 2008 21:21 as a reply to Jim G's post |  #7

What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.


Rebel XTi 18-55 50 75-300
My Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
FocalPrincess
Cream of the Crop
FocalPrincess's Avatar
8,223 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Hibernating near Hershey
Oct 10, 2008 21:26 |  #8

I change the focal points a lot, doesn't take more than a second to do once you get used to doing it. I do recommend practicing when the shots don't count.


Blogexternal link | Galleriesexternal linkhttp://www.dbimpressio​ns.comexternal link "The artist is nothing without the gift, but the
gift is nothing without work." ~ Emile Zola

LOG IN TO REPLY
Kauaicrazed
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
778 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Orange County, Ca
Oct 11, 2008 00:45 |  #9

Wow thanks guys for the tips! You are all so helpful! I am gonna try your suggestions! Thanks so much!




LOG IN TO REPLY
Becca
Lady in Red
Becca's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
Glendale, Arizona
Oct 11, 2008 07:39 |  #10

AndreaBFS wrote in post #6474808external link
I have my focus points set on the joystick, so I would have picked the one closest to either of their eyes and done it that way.

Well, I've learned my something new today! I never knew that function existed and I will use it A LOT! Thanks!


Becca
"The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page." ~ Saint Augustine
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
CheetaPita
Goldmember
CheetaPita's Avatar
2,503 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Louisiana
Oct 11, 2008 08:47 |  #11

DJShuttering wrote in post #6474890external link
What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.

this is exactly what i do....i very very rarely miss focus


http://carleymacphotog​raphy.blogspot.com/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
gdykstra
Goldmember
gdykstra's Avatar
1,330 posts
Joined May 2007
Duluth, Georgia
Oct 11, 2008 09:07 |  #12

DJShuttering wrote in post #6474890external link
What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.

This is also what I do as long as I am in "One Shot" mode. Use a different focus point if you are in "AI Servo" mode.


Model Mayhemexternal link | Websiteexternal link 5D Mark III|5D Mark II|TSE 17mm f/4.0 L|24-70L f/2.8|85L f/1.2 II|135L f/2.0|70-200mm f/2.8L IS II|400mm f/5.6L|100mm f/2.8 Macro|15mm f/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,111 views & 0 likes for this thread
What should I have set the AF focus point on?
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Kids & Family


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00098 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is ajmorphy
871 guests, 650 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016