Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Photo Sharing' section > Kids & Family
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th of October 2008 (Fri)   #1
Kauaicrazed
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 778
Default What should I have set the AF focus point on?

I set it in the middle and the middle of the picture looks sharp. LOL! But what should I have done to get both of them in focus? Should I have set the aperture differently? Thanks in advance!

F/4.5, ISO 200, lens: EF28-105, 38.0 MM
Kauaicrazed is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 10th of October 2008 (Fri)   #2
AndreaBFS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,345
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

It looks like the focus point grabbed the tractor wheel way behind them. You might have been OK with focus and recompose (put the center point on the pumpkin or one of the kids) since you were at f4.5. I have my focus points set on the joystick, so I would have picked the one closest to either of their eyes and done it that way. The item in the center of the picture was just too far back to have focus on that *and* the kids.
AndreaBFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of October 2008 (Fri)   #3
Lunajen
Senior Member
 
Lunajen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portland,Tennessee
Posts: 1,635
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

Yeah a higher apeture would have helped but manual focusing would have been better.
But if you are using the focusing points use all of them in a situation like this.
__________________
Website. Flickr
Twitter Facebook

Lunajen is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 10th of October 2008 (Fri)   #4
Jim G
I feel thoroughly satisfied
 
Jim G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia.
Posts: 12,251
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

As AndreaBFS said... the center focus point was on the background and thus the camera's focused on that. I'd use a side focus point or focus and recompose..
Jim G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of October 2008 (Fri)   #5
macroshooter1970
Cream of the Crop
 
macroshooter1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,491
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

you can use other points,not just the center.
macroshooter1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of October 2008 (Fri)   #6
Jim G
I feel thoroughly satisfied
 
Jim G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia.
Posts: 12,251
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunajen View Post
Yeah a higher apeture would have helped but manual focusing would have been better.
But if you are using the focusing points use all of them in a situation like this.
Have to disagree with you there - manually selecting one is going to remove any chance of computer error here. The auto selection isn't always right. MF isn't necessary in a situation like this, just selection of the appropriate point.
Jim G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of October 2008 (Fri)   #7
DJShuttering
Member
 
DJShuttering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 162
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.
__________________
Rebel XTi 18-55 50 75-300

My Flickr
DJShuttering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of October 2008 (Fri)   #8
FocalPrincess
Cream of the Crop
 
FocalPrincess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hibernating near Hershey
Posts: 8,223
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

I change the focal points a lot, doesn't take more than a second to do once you get used to doing it. I do recommend practicing when the shots don't count.
__________________
Blog | Galleries
"The artist is nothing without the gift, but the
gift is nothing without work." ~ Emile Zola


FocalPrincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of October 2008 (Sat)   #9
Kauaicrazed
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 778
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

Wow thanks guys for the tips! You are all so helpful! I am gonna try your suggestions! Thanks so much!
Kauaicrazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of October 2008 (Sat)   #10
Becca
Lady in Red
 
Becca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 7,155
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreaBFS View Post
I have my focus points set on the joystick, so I would have picked the one closest to either of their eyes and done it that way.
Well, I've learned my something new today! I never knew that function existed and I will use it A LOT! Thanks!
__________________
Becca
"The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page." ~ Saint Augustine
Gear List
Becca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of October 2008 (Sat)   #11
CheetaPita
Goldmember
 
CheetaPita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 2,503
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJShuttering View Post
What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.
this is exactly what i do....i very very rarely miss focus
CheetaPita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of October 2008 (Sat)   #12
|)\/8
Senior Member
 
|)\/8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Duluth, Georgia
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: What should I have set the AF focus point on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJShuttering View Post
What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.
This is also what I do as long as I am in "One Shot" mode. Use a different focus point if you are in "AI Servo" mode.
__________________
Model Mayhem | Website
5D Mark III|5D Mark II|TSE 17mm f/4.0 L|24-70L f/2.8|85L f/1.2 II|135L f/2.0|70-200mm f/2.8L IS II|
400mm f/5.6L|100mm f/2.8 Macro|15mm f/2.8
|)\/8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
any way to lock auto focus on center focus point? mpdej8 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 19 23rd of October 2008 (Thu) 09:43
set focus point? BlueTreePhoto Canon EOS Digital Cameras 16 3rd of September 2008 (Wed) 09:48
40D focus point stuck on top left point in, P,Tv,Av,M modes? Ideas? jmcphoto Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 3rd of September 2008 (Wed) 07:12
Servo focus (20d) - centre focus point only? Molydood Canon EOS Digital Cameras 19 8th of August 2007 (Wed) 21:15
XTI 9 Point or single point focus? jon1996 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 7th of July 2007 (Sat) 01:23


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.