LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


What should I have set the AF focus point on?

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Kids & Family
Thread started 10 Oct 2008 (Friday) 20:57   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
Kauaicrazed
Senior Member
Joined Oct 2007
778 posts
Orange County, Ca
[MORE/SHARE]

I set it in the middle and the middle of the picture looks sharp. LOL! But what should I have done to get both of them in focus? Should I have set the aperture differently? Thanks in advance!

F/4.5, ISO 200, lens: EF28-105, 38.0 MM

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://i68.photobucket​.com ...0/alohamommy/IMG_24​32.jpgexternal link
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Byte size: ZERO

Post #1, Oct 10, 2008 20:57:31




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
AndreaBFS
Goldmember
Joined Dec 2007
1,345 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

It looks like the focus point grabbed the tractor wheel way behind them. You might have been OK with focus and recompose (put the center point on the pumpkin or one of the kids) since you were at f4.5. I have my focus points set on the joystick, so I would have picked the one closest to either of their eyes and done it that way. The item in the center of the picture was just too far back to have focus on that *and* the kids.

Post #2, Oct 10, 2008 21:00:36




LOG IN TO REPLY
Lunajen
Goldmember
Lunajen's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
1,635 posts
Portland,Tennessee
[MORE/SHARE]

Yeah a higher apeture would have helped but manual focusing would have been better.
But if you are using the focusing points use all of them in a situation like this.

Post #3, Oct 10, 2008 21:01:06


Websiteexternal link.Flickrexternal link
Twitterexternal linkFacebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jim ­ G
I feel thoroughly satisfied
Jim G's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
12,251 posts
Australia.
[MORE/SHARE]

As AndreaBFS said... the center focus point was on the background and thus the camera's focused on that. I'd use a side focus point or focus and recompose..

Post #4, Oct 10, 2008 21:02:10


Gear Listhttp://www.codastudios​.com.auexternal link Reviews & Hotlinks: Domke F-3x - Pelican 1510/1514external link & 1610/1614external link - DIY Variable Length OC-E3 - Crumpler 6 Million Dollar Homeexternal link - FA-100external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
macroshooter1970
Cream of the Crop
macroshooter1970's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
7,491 posts
Arizona
[MORE/SHARE]

you can use other points,not just the center.

Post #5, Oct 10, 2008 21:03:04




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jim ­ G
I feel thoroughly satisfied
Jim G's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
12,251 posts
Australia.
[MORE/SHARE]

Lunajen wrote in post #6474811external link
Yeah a higher apeture would have helped but manual focusing would have been better.
But if you are using the focusing points use all of them in a situation like this.

Have to disagree with you there - manually selecting one is going to remove any chance of computer error here. The auto selection isn't always right. MF isn't necessary in a situation like this, just selection of the appropriate point.

Post #6, Oct 10, 2008 21:03:21


Gear Listhttp://www.codastudios​.com.auexternal link Reviews & Hotlinks: Domke F-3x - Pelican 1510/1514external link & 1610/1614external link - DIY Variable Length OC-E3 - Crumpler 6 Million Dollar Homeexternal link - FA-100external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DJShuttering
Senior Member
DJShuttering's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
162 posts
Atlanta
[MORE/SHARE]

What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.

Post #7, Oct 10, 2008 21:21:07 as a reply to Jim G's post 17 minutes earlier.


Rebel XTi 18-55 50 75-300
My Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
FocalPrincess
Cream of the Crop
FocalPrincess's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
8,223 posts
Hibernating near Hershey
[MORE/SHARE]

I change the focal points a lot, doesn't take more than a second to do once you get used to doing it. I do recommend practicing when the shots don't count.

Post #8, Oct 10, 2008 21:26:48


Blogexternal link | Galleriesexternal linkhttp://www.dbimpressio​ns.comexternal link "The artist is nothing without the gift, but the
gift is nothing without work." ~ Emile Zola

LOG IN TO REPLY
Kauaicrazed
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Oct 2007
778 posts
Orange County, Ca
[MORE/SHARE]

Wow thanks guys for the tips! You are all so helpful! I am gonna try your suggestions! Thanks so much!

Post #9, Oct 11, 2008 00:45:40




LOG IN TO REPLY
Becca
Lady in Red
Becca's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
7,155 posts
Glendale, Arizona
[MORE/SHARE]

AndreaBFS wrote in post #6474808external link
I have my focus points set on the joystick, so I would have picked the one closest to either of their eyes and done it that way.

Well, I've learned my something new today! I never knew that function existed and I will use it A LOT! Thanks!

Post #10, Oct 11, 2008 07:39:16


Becca
"The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page." ~ Saint Augustine
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
CheetaPita
Goldmember
CheetaPita's Avatar
Joined Apr 2007
2,503 posts
Louisiana
[MORE/SHARE]

DJShuttering wrote in post #6474890external link
What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.

this is exactly what i do....i very very rarely miss focus

Post #11, Oct 11, 2008 08:47:52


http://carleymacphotog​raphy.blogspot.com/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
gdykstra
Goldmember
gdykstra's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,297 posts
Duluth, Georgia
[MORE/SHARE]

DJShuttering wrote in post #6474890external link
What I would do is put the center of the camera on one of the subjects and press the shutter half-way down and lock in the focus, and then frame the photo.

This is also what I do as long as I am in "One Shot" mode. Use a different focus point if you are in "AI Servo" mode.

Post #12, Oct 11, 2008 09:07:03


Model Mayhemexternal link | Websiteexternal link 5D Mark III|5D Mark II|TSE 17mm f/4.0 L|24-70L f/2.8|85L f/1.2 II|135L f/2.0|70-200mm f/2.8L IS II|400mm f/5.6L|100mm f/2.8 Macro|15mm f/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
752 views & 0 likes for this thread
What should I have set the AF focus point on?
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Kids & Family



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00106 for 5 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
846 guests, 816 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is mm\'s

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.