LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


High ISO and Banding on 50D

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 23 Oct 2008 (Thursday) 22:59   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
StephenJames
Member
StephenJames's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
85 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Can someone tell me what is with banding at high ISOs... I have the 50D and first thing i did with it was to take it out for a test at Hi1 and Hi2 and i got horizontal bands all through the image... I don't mind noise.. in fact i love grain in my black and white images, but this banding makes these ISO levels useless... what gives?

Post #1, Oct 23, 2008 22:59:19


Canon EOS 5D Mark III | Canon EOS 7D | Canon EOS 70D
70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM II | 50mm 1.4 | 16-35mm f/ 2.8 L | 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Lazuka
Cream of the Crop
Lazuka's Avatar
Joined May 2008
5,639 posts
in a movie studio, in full production.
[MORE/SHARE]
banned

You might want to post some examples.

Post #2, Oct 23, 2008 23:00:00


I suck at Photoshop.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tsmith
Formerly known as Bluedog_XT
Tsmith's Avatar
Joined Jul 2005
10,420 posts
South_the 601
[MORE/SHARE]

@ which speeds too. I've seen images posted that didn't show banding.

Post #3, Oct 23, 2008 23:02:16



Canon EOS 7D | Canon EF-S 10-22mm | Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Canon 24-105mm f/4L IS
Canon PowerShot S95
MY PBASE GALLERYexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
gooble
Goldmember
gooble's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
3,149 posts
Mesa,AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

In jpeg or raw?

Post #4, Oct 23, 2008 23:02:40




LOG IN TO REPLY
gooble
Goldmember
gooble's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
3,149 posts
Mesa,AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

Tsmith wrote in post #6550902external link
@ which speeds too. I've seen images posted that didn't show banding.

Didn't they say Hi1 and Hi2? That's 6400 and 12800 I believe.

Post #5, Oct 23, 2008 23:03:32




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
StephenJames
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
StephenJames's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
85 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

yes both 6400 and 12800... Both RAW and JPEG... I'll post some examples when I get home

Post #6, Oct 23, 2008 23:03:36


Canon EOS 5D Mark III | Canon EOS 7D | Canon EOS 70D
70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM II | 50mm 1.4 | 16-35mm f/ 2.8 L | 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tsmith
Formerly known as Bluedog_XT
Tsmith's Avatar
Joined Jul 2005
10,420 posts
South_the 601
[MORE/SHARE]

How 'bout at 1600 and 3200?

Post #7, Oct 23, 2008 23:07:18



Canon EOS 7D | Canon EF-S 10-22mm | Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Canon 24-105mm f/4L IS
Canon PowerShot S95
MY PBASE GALLERYexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
StephenJames
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
StephenJames's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
85 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

and to boot, I can see the horizontal lines right on the LCD screen of the camera, so I don't think it has anything to do with post processing in ACR as I've seen posted somewhere else on these forums... its simply awful.

Post #8, Oct 23, 2008 23:10:21


Canon EOS 5D Mark III | Canon EOS 7D | Canon EOS 70D
70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM II | 50mm 1.4 | 16-35mm f/ 2.8 L | 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY
StephenJames
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
StephenJames's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
85 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

1600 is great... 3200 is not so bad... but anything higher shows banding in the shadow areas... i have firmware 1.02 by the way.

Post #9, Oct 23, 2008 23:11:15


Canon EOS 5D Mark III | Canon EOS 7D | Canon EOS 70D
70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM II | 50mm 1.4 | 16-35mm f/ 2.8 L | 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bonjour43ma
Senior Member
Bonjour43ma's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
192 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

it's just the typical Canon high-ISO banding that I've observed in my 20D and 30D... anything above ISO 1600 you'll see those lines. So looks like Canon STILL hasn't fixed that yet...

ah well.

Does your 5D do that? Just curious.

Post #10, Oct 24, 2008 00:14:39


Ron from Vancouver, Canada
---------------
I have a camera and some lenses and I take pictures with them.

LOG IN TO REPLY
nick400d
Senior Member
nick400d's Avatar
Joined May 2007
152 posts
Croydon, Sydney, Aus FPS: 6.5
[MORE/SHARE]

I remember reading somewhere on here that auto lighting optimizer being turned on when your using high ISO can cause alot of banding.

Post #11, Oct 24, 2008 02:43:01 as a reply to Bonjour43ma's post 2 hours earlier.


Canon 7D - Tokina 10-17mm Fisheye - SIGMA 24-70 2.8 ex - Canon 70-200mm F/4L - 50mm f1.8 - 430ex flash - 2 Vivitar 285hv's
Nicholas Bucher - 17y/o - Sydney, Australia

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Sfordphoto
Goldmember
Joined Feb 2008
2,564 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Bonjour43ma wrote in post #6551175external link
it's just the typical Canon high-ISO banding that I've observed in my 20D and 30D... anything above ISO 1600 you'll see those lines. So looks like Canon STILL hasn't fixed that yet...

ah well.

Does your 5D do that? Just curious.

did you leave the 40d out on purpose?

Post #12, Oct 24, 2008 02:47:40


Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
bsmotril
Goldmember
bsmotril's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
2,348 posts
Austin TX
[MORE/SHARE]

I noticed with my 50D that the banding is much worse when in the same room using those new compact flourescent light bulbs. I suspect the higher gain amps in the camera are somewhat sensitive to emitted RF energy. I've not tried any high ISO yet out in the country away from interference to confirm this theory. But, the fact that it varies depending on what room I'm shooting inside my house makes me think there is some validity to this. No, I don't have samples, deleted them all after playing around. However, the in camera JPEGs come out pretty good even at high ISO.

Post #13, Oct 24, 2008 10:07:40


Gear List
Galleries: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/smopho/external link --- http://billsmotrilla.z​enfolio.com/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
igcollection
Senior Member
igcollection's Avatar
Joined Feb 2007
204 posts
houston
[MORE/SHARE]

I've noticed weird colors when shooting under fluorescent lights. Try shooting at 60 shutter speed.

Post #14, Oct 24, 2008 10:40:46




LOG IN TO REPLY
StephenJames
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
StephenJames's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
85 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Here are two images... the first is the a reduced image of the 15mp file.. showing the banding.. Iso 12,800 shutter 1/160th and f/7.1

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
MIME changed to 'text/html' | Content warning: script


and a 100% crop

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
MIME changed to 'text/html' | Content warning: script


I've also just noticed all these little white specs in the 100% crop... that concerns me a bit.. its like they are missing bits of the photo... pure white... not too happy about this...

Post #15, Oct 24, 2008 11:47:08


Canon EOS 5D Mark III | Canon EOS 7D | Canon EOS 70D
70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM II | 50mm 1.4 | 16-35mm f/ 2.8 L | 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
6,404 views & 0 likes for this thread
High ISO and Banding on 50D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.0012 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
774 guests, 594 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is N4Ld3

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.