Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd of November 2008 (Mon)   #1
PBest78
Member
 
PBest78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 143
Default Powershot S10 CF Card

Hi guys

Does anyone know what the maximum size CF card is for a Powershot S10.

My father-in-law got given a second hand one and he thinks its wonderful but only has a 256mb card for it.

Was hoping to get him a 2 or 4 gb for xmas

Thanks

Peter
__________________
Peter Best
Flickr
My Gear
PBest78 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of November 2008 (Mon)   #2
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,626
Default Re: Powershot S10 CF Card

Almost certainly not a 4 GB card; I'd be dubious about it taking a 2 GB card unless that was formatted in FAT16 first. The S10's a 2 MP camera; JPEGs from it will be around 1.5 MB, so why not give him one or two 512 MB or 1 GB cards, which it should have no trouble with. Even his 256 MB card will typically handle over 150 shots at best quality and resolution, and there isn't a video mode that I can see.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2008 (Mon)   #3
PBest78
Member
 
PBest78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 143
Default Re: Powershot S10 CF Card

Thanks for the reply, I didnt really think it would take a 4Gb.

Will get a few 1Gb's for him
__________________
Peter Best
Flickr
My Gear
PBest78 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of November 2008 (Mon)   #4
PhotoFranz
Senior Member
 
PhotoFranz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,626
Default Re: Powershot S10 CF Card

I am not absolutly sure it is correct, but here is a memory website selling cards for the Powershot S10. They list max memory size as 4 gig.

http://www.memory-up.com/Memory/CanonPowerShot159.html
__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/photofranz/
Camera: Fujifilm HS 50 EXR 42X zoom, Sigma Electronic Flash EF 500 DG ST, Vegas Movie Studio 9.0, Noiseware Standard Edition, Photoshop Elements-11, Photomatix Essentials. I am here to learn from the experts.
PhotoFranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2008 (Mon)   #5
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,626
Default Re: Powershot S10 CF Card

The S10 was introduced in 1999; my EOS D60, introduced in 2002, only accepts FAT16 cards; if you wanted to use a card larger than 2 GB (the point at which format routines default to FAT32), you'd need to use the command line "FORMAT" command with appropriate switches to get it FAT16. Your cluster size would be about 64 KB between 2-8GB card sizes that way, and forgetting and reformatting in the camera would partition the card as a 2 GB max (based on others' experience with in-camera formatting and unsupported card sizes), which you'd have to jump through hoops to recover from. So generally, not a great idea.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of November 2008 (Tue)   #6
PBest78
Member
 
PBest78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 143
Default Re: Powershot S10 CF Card

Ye have decided to stick with 1Gb cards, they should be here tomorrow

Thanks again for all the help

Peter
__________________
Peter Best
Flickr
My Gear
PBest78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF card error amd powershot S10 Liam1234 Small Compact Digitals by Canon 9 7th of February 2009 (Sat) 11:45
Powershot S10 Fuse! Fusca Small Compact Digitals by Canon 5 28th of July 2003 (Mon) 08:23
Underwater with Powershot S10 henkbos General Photography Talk 1 29th of August 2002 (Thu) 19:35
Powershot S10 soshea Small Compact Digitals by Canon 0 26th of March 2002 (Tue) 20:53
Canon Powershot S10 soshea Small Compact Digitals by Canon 0 26th of March 2002 (Tue) 20:47


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.