Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 05 Nov 2008 (Wednesday) 10:02
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Why use 16GB CF cards??????

 
AlanU
Cream of the Crop
Joined Feb 2008
Vancouver, BC
Nov 05, 2008 10:02 |  #1

Just a curiousity question: why do people use 16GB cards? Is it due to the large RAW files?

I have 2 ultraII 4gb and 1 4gb sandisk ducati edition. My take is if one craps out or "corrupt data" I only loose a max of 4gb. I have a piece of mind spreading the love amongst several cards rather than having all in 1 basket.

After aprox 15,000 pics 1 of my sandisk ultraII's gave me a corrupt data message and lost all photos. I was told simply to reformat. I never formated because I used the continuous numbering system to keep a tally on my actuations.

Do others format on a regular basis?? If you have a "corrupt data" message do you toss the CF card in the garbage due to potential loss again???

Any input would be nice to hear.

thanks!


5Dmkiv |5Dmkiii | 80D | 24LmkII | 35mm f/2 IS | 85 mkII L | 100L | EF-S 10-22 | 16-35L mkII | 24-70 f/2.8L mkii| 70-200 f/2.8 ISL mkII| 600EX-RT x2 | 580 EX II x2 | Einstein's
Fuji X-T2 w/battery booster | 16mm f/1.4 | 56 f/1.2 | 10-24 f/4.0 | 55-200 | EF-X500

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
elbirth
Goldmember
elbirth's Avatar
1,885 posts
Joined Jul 2003
North Carolina
Nov 05, 2008 10:09 |  #2

The main reason would be due to shooting RAW with higher-MP cameras. When you're shooting at 10, 15, even 21MP, they tend to add up pretty quickly. And if you're doing a lot of shooting of anything remotely action-based, you don't want to have to keep swapping cards and missing action.

I agree that it's risky to shoot all on one card, which is why I was hoping the 5D Mark II would introduce 2 card slots into a non-1D body, but that didn't happen. I like that with those, you can shoot to a CF and SD card simultaneously, so you can have 2 copies if you want. Then if one card craps out, hopefully the other didn't. With all electronic cameras and memory cards, we're always at their mercy and have to hope/pray that they don't die on us before we get the shots taken and downloaded to our computers. It's just a matter of it you're spreading that hope out more over more cards or not


5D Mark II, Leica M8
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM
POTN Strap, Domke J3 bag

flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
cdifoto's Avatar
34,039 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Nov 05, 2008 10:10 |  #3

Some photographers feel the chance of bending a pin or losing a card is greater than a card becoming corrupt.


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it hereexternal link. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
stathunter
Cream of the Crop
stathunter's Avatar
5,606 posts
Joined Aug 2006
California & Michigan
Nov 05, 2008 10:13 |  #4

I have been using 16gb cards for the past several months--- no problems up until recently when my Aperture will not seem to download them when I have over 500 or so images. For the past month I have had to take the card and copy it to external hard drive then import into Aperture.
I am always cautious that I do not put too many images on the card--- just makes it nice to not have to swap out cards too often---but it is a scary thing to think about loosing that many images.
I format every time I put the card in the camera. I am thinking that even though I format I still have garbage in the card--- does anyone know how to "really" clean out the card?


Scott
"Do or do not, there is no try"

LOG IN TO REPLY
ef2
Goldmember
ef2's Avatar
1,135 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Pittsburgh
Nov 05, 2008 10:19 |  #5

AlanU wrote in post #6628161external link
Do others format on a regular basis?? If you have a "corrupt data" message do you toss the CF card in the garbage due to potential loss again???

Any input would be nice to hear.

thanks!

I had a bad A-Data card that kept getting corrupted. I could recover all the files off from it though with Sandisk's Rescue software. I finally through it out after ripping it apart.


5D Mk III
Canon 580EX
Canon 16-35mm f/2.8L | 24mm f/3.5L | 50mm f/1.4 | 100mm f/2.0 | 100mm f/2.8 Macro | 135mm f/2.8 SF | 70-200mm [COLOR=black]f/2.8L IS | 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO
Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
cdifoto's Avatar
34,039 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Nov 05, 2008 10:20 |  #6

stathunter wrote in post #6628228external link
does anyone know how to "really" clean out the card?

Write zeros to it with a program like RescuePRO. Takes forever though so you don't want to do it often.


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it hereexternal link. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
dr_morbius
Member
dr_morbius's Avatar
81 posts
Joined Jan 2008
The Forbidden Planet...
Nov 05, 2008 10:26 as a reply to cdifoto's post |  #7

I like doing a complete job without changing memory cards. With 16GB CF and 16GB SD in my main camera and 16GB CF in the backup I'm good to go. Still I carry three more 16GB cards just in case...


1D X | 1Ds MkIII | 1D MkIII | 16-35/2.8L II | 24-70/2.8L | 70-200/2.8L IS | 50/1.2L | 85/1.2L II | 300/2.8L | 500/4L

LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
cdifoto's Avatar
34,039 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Nov 05, 2008 10:27 |  #8

I do 8 and 8. Holds about 750 shots, so I usually only have to change out during the tail end of the day. I keep a smaller card in my 2nd camera since it barely gets used.


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it hereexternal link. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
61ache
Senior Member
61ache's Avatar
330 posts
Joined Feb 2008
St. Paul MN
Nov 05, 2008 10:55 as a reply to cdifoto's post |  #9

Mostly useless information with no value: a 16GB drive should fail at a lower rate then a 4GB drive. Flash only writes '0's and skips '1'. When you format all '0's are erased and put into a '1' state. However, Flash can only write a specific number of times before failure. Most electronics that use static non-volatile memory (doesn't erase when power is turned off) randomly write different memory locations so one sector is not written over and over again. Using larger flash should lower your chances of a stuck bit and corrupt data while increasing the life of the memory.


/Canon 50D/EF 50mm f1.4 USM/EF-S 10-22 f3.5-4.5/EF 85mm f1.8/

LOG IN TO REPLY
static808
Member
249 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Nov 05, 2008 11:07 |  #10

AlanU wrote in post #6628161external link
After aprox 15,000 pics 1 of my sandisk ultraII's gave me a corrupt data message and lost all photos. I was told simply to reformat. I never formated because I used the continuous numbering system to keep a tally on my actuations.

this is weird, since with my 20D, if i format the CF card using the camera itself, the file numbering remains intact. the folders all disappear, but the numbering continues from where i left off. if i simply erase all images, all of the folders remain, but theyre empty. is this normal behavior?? or do newer cameras completely reset the file numbering when the CF is formatted. thanks!


Rob

LOG IN TO REPLY
ef2
Goldmember
ef2's Avatar
1,135 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Pittsburgh
Nov 05, 2008 11:12 |  #11

The camera should know where it left off at.
Formatting deletes everything on the card.
Erasing images just erases images.


5D Mk III
Canon 580EX
Canon 16-35mm f/2.8L | 24mm f/3.5L | 50mm f/1.4 | 100mm f/2.0 | 100mm f/2.8 Macro | 135mm f/2.8 SF | 70-200mm [COLOR=black]f/2.8L IS | 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO
Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Nov 05, 2008 11:13 |  #12

Nope. None of Canon's cameras that I know of will reset the file numbering unless either you have set "Auto reset" or you do a manual reset of the file numbering. You can reformat in or out of the camera with impunity.

And it doesn't surprise me that erasing the files leaves the directories behind. It all depends on how you're erasing them.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
GerBee
Goldmember
1,026 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Ireland
Nov 05, 2008 11:17 |  #13

916 RAW shots from a 5D less from the new version. :)

AlanU wrote in post #6628161external link
Just a curiousity question: why do people use 16GB cards? Is it due to the large RAW files? thanks!




LOG IN TO REPLY
GerBee
Goldmember
1,026 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Ireland
Nov 05, 2008 11:23 |  #14

I'm not a believer in formatting the card after each use. I do format routinely every so often.

I'd personally not use a card I had errors with as my main card.

AlanU wrote in post #6628161external link
Do others format on a regular basis?? If you have a "corrupt data" message do you toss the CF card in the garbage due to potential loss again??? Any input would be nice to hear. thanks!




LOG IN TO REPLY
Sean
Goldmember
Sean's Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Ottawa, Ontario
Nov 05, 2008 11:38 |  #15

Format every time I download images off it and verify they are saved.


Canon 50D - 17-55mm F2.8 IS - 300mm F4L IS - 70-200mm F4L IS - 50mm F1.8 - 580EX II & 430EX - Full Gear Listing
Flickrexternal link - C&C Always welcome.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

3,524 views & 0 likes for this thread
Why use 16GB CF cards??????
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00273 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is Bassman1
853 guests, 455 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016