Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12th of November 2008 (Wed)   #1
TwinMommy402

Default Speedlight/flash question

Hi,
I am as amateur as they come, so hope this isn't too silly to ask?

After 3 years of having my Rebel XT, I am trying to venture off Auto and shoot on Manual. I am just learning and no so little.

When do you use your flash or speedlight?

Do you ever not use them, if so when?

Thanks for all your input!

Jenn
TwinMommy402 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of November 2008 (Wed)   #2
Skid

Default Re: Speedlight/flash question

I've had my 400D (XTi) for a little over a year, and I've always loved natural light (prefer the look) - so I've always shot without a flash. I've just recently bought one, and am having some fun with it (for example, you can change the light it fires by adding gels in front of the flash head - and change background colours of walls, etc). Indoors, I find it difficult to shoot, unless near a window (with a flash) - so now I'm bouncing the flash off the celing, and am getting much nicer exposed photos.

A great place to read up about it is http://photonotes.org/articles/eos-flash

I started there - almost through it all, and then onto the strobist blog - http://strobist.blogspot.com/

I've also asked a million questions here
Old 12th of November 2008 (Wed)   #3
TwinMommy402

Thank you.
I find some times when I shoot without a flash on manual, my pics are kind of blurry. Probably cause I have no clue which settings to use yet.

I have so much to learn!
Anyone live in NYC and wanna teach me?
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of November 2008 (Wed)   #4
jcolman
Goldmember

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinMommy402 View Post
Thank you.