Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 22nd of November 2008 (Sat)   #1
charltonm

Default tamron 18-270 vc or sigma 18-200 os

Firstly, being a newbie I'd like to say hi to everyone on here and hopefully you can all help me one day share some amazing photo's on here like i've been looking at recently !!!

Right i've only been into photography for about 6months but i've got the bug, i'm looking to get a new lense for cristmas and was looking at either the tamron 18-270vc or sigma 18-200 os. I've read endless reviews about both but still unsure what to go with whats your views/advice. I'm using a 400D and like shooting all types of photography !!

What do you all think of these lenses, or would you suggest something totally different ?

many thanks

charlton
charltonm is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 22nd of November 2008 (Sat)   #2
gabebalazs
Cream of the Crop

Default Re: tamron 18-270 vc or sigma 18-200 os

I just got my Tamron yesterday and already discovered a problem. The VC throws the focus off. I hope I just received a bad copy, but if not, this is a serious design flaw. Otherwise the VC is great, slightly better than the IS on my 55-250 Canon, but if it screws up the focus, it's unusable. Lens is reasonably sharp, no problem there.

look at my pics in this thread:

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=603181
gabebalazs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of November 2008 (Sat)   #3
katodog
Goldmember