FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing
Thread started 04 Dec 2008 (Thursday) 20:00   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

watchtherocks
Joined Mar 2008
579 posts
Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

I am a surf photographer, but would LOVE to become a videographer.
The thing is, I know next to nothing about the technical and equipment side of digital video. Ive been reading up a whole lot, so know about interlaced and progressive video, 24 vs 30 fps, etc, and I also know that good digital videocameras are expensive:D

The 5D MkII would probably be the best option for me, considering it would also boost the quality of my band photography enormously, but the price tag is way out of my shelf-stacking league. Ive got a 500mm f/4.5 I would like to be able to stick onto the camera, but since most (all affordable??) cameras have large crop factors it would almost become useless.

What I'm looking for is a nice summary page, kinda like the EOS flash bible if possible. Don't know if something like that exists, but any help in any direction would be much appreciated.

Post #1, Dec 04, 2008 20:00:13

Anyone know anything anywhere anymore?

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
watchtherocks
THREAD ­ STARTER
Joined Mar 2008
579 posts
Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

Woah you can hear crickets chirping around here.
From what I can work out, this is the order of things:

GL-1 - $1k ish
XL-1s - $1.5 ish
GL-2 - $2.5k ish
XL-2 - $3k ish
XH-A1 - $4k ish
XL-H1 - way-too-much ish

Right? But I suppose if I'm getting a camera with a non-interchangeable lens, then there's no point limiting myself to Canon, which makes this a whole heap more complicated.

Post #2, Dec 05, 2008 06:04:03

Matthew ­ Craggs
Joined Nov 2008
81 posts
Welland, Ontario
[MORE/SHARE]