Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing > Computers
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #1
azpix
Goldmember
 
azpix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,309
Default adding memory to a pc

my pc currently has 2gb of memory and i have a free slot open. If i add a 1gb memory card, will i notice an improvement in when running photoshop and lightroom?
__________________
Gear- 7d, 24-70L, sigma 70-200, Sigma 120-400, canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.0,sigma 10-20, Sigma 24mm 1.8 and a canon G11.
azpix is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #2
Deckham
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 814
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

What operating system and graphics card are you running?

Actually - what are your pc specs?
__________________

Deckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #3
azpix
Goldmember
 
azpix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,309
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

Operating System System Model
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600) Dell Inc. Dell DXP051

Enclosure Type: Tower
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
2.80 gigahertz Intel Pentium D
16 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Dell Inc. 0FJ030

Bus Clock: 800 megahertz
BIOS: Dell Inc. A03 01/03/2006
Drives Memory Modules c,d
1155.92 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
604.02 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

_NEC DVD+-RW ND-3530A [CD-ROM drive]
SONY CD-RW CRX217E [CD-ROM drive]

ARRAY [Hard drive] (159.99 GB) -- drive 0
SMSC 223 U HS-CF USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 2
SMSC 223 U HS-MS USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 3
SMSC 223 U HS-SD/MMC USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 5
SMSC 223 U HS-SM USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 4
WD 5000AAJB Externa USB Device [Hard drive] (500.11 GB) -- drive 1
WD My Book USB Device [Hard drive] (500.11 GB) -- drive 6 2048 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot 'DIMM_1' has 512 MB
Slot 'DIMM_3' has 1024 MB (serial number 0D01F027)
Slot 'DIMM_2' has 512 MB (serial number 69BE0F54)
Slot 'DIMM_4' is Empty
Local Drive Volumes


c: (NTFS on drive 0) 116.59 GB 1.92 GB free
d: (NTFS on drive 0) 39.36 GB 13.74 GB free
g: (FAT32 on drive 6) 499.98 GB 399.30 GB free
m: (FAT32 on drive 1) 499.98 GB 189.06 GB free
Network Drives
None detected
__________________
Gear- 7d, 24-70L, sigma 70-200, Sigma 120-400, canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.0,sigma 10-20, Sigma 24mm 1.8 and a canon G11.
azpix is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #4
Deckham
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 814
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

Graphics card?
__________________

Deckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #5
azpix
Goldmember
 
azpix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,309
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckham View Post
Graphics card?
NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX [Display adapter]
__________________
Gear- 7d, 24-70L, sigma 70-200, Sigma 120-400, canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.0,sigma 10-20, Sigma 24mm 1.8 and a canon G11.
azpix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #6
Deckham
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 814
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

OK, thanks for that info.

Your operating system, being a 32bit Windows version, cannot take advantage of 4gb of ram. The PCIe bus utilizes some of it for the graphics card. Still I would use two 2gb ram modules, or 4 1gb modules. This would give you approx. 3.1 gb. I suggest using similar modules, because - well, they just work slightly better, let's leave it at that.

That said - with another 1gb worth of ram, your LR will be minimally faster, as will PS. Depending on what else you are running. More memory will help multi-tasking - so using them both together will benefit from more ram.

Something you could do to make a notable difference with PS processing - check your scratch disk in PS, and assign work space to your fastest drive/array. Also include at least one other drive - preferably, not your system drive, nor any drive that is almost at capacity.

Hope that helps some.
__________________

Deckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #7
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,064
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

Yep get another 2GB stick, it'll help a little. It's a pretty old CPU, but to get anything newer you'll need motherboard CPU RAM and maybe video card. You might just leave it as is, and save the money for an i7 upgrade in 6-12 months, that will probably be about ten times faster than your current PC.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #8
Deckham
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 814
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim View Post
Yep get another 2GB stick, it'll help a little. It's a pretty old CPU, but to get anything newer you'll need motherboard CPU RAM and maybe video card. You might just leave it as is, and save the money for an i7 upgrade in 6-12 months, that will probably be about ten times faster than your current PC.

This is true.
An alternative - get a nice Q6600 system happening. Can be done for not too much. You can use your GFX Card, need new processor and ram (DDR2), and MB. That would set you back around $500 (4gb ram)
__________________

Deckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #9
BottomBracket
Cream of the Crop
 
BottomBracket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,398
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

+1, good advice all around. Q6600 systems give you great bang for the buck at present.
__________________
Pio
Veni, Vidi, Canoni - I Came, I Saw, I Took A Picture With My Canon
Fotopio.com - Gallery of the Meandering Eye
I am a leaf on the wind. Watch how I soar.
BottomBracket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #10
azpix
Goldmember
 
azpix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,309
Default Re: adding memory to a pc

Thanks all for the input.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckham View Post

Something you could do to make a notable difference with PS processing - check your scratch disk in PS, and assign work space to your fastest drive/array. Also include at least one other drive - preferably, not your system drive, nor any drive that is almost at capacity.

Hope that helps some.
it does.so my d drive which internal i'm guessing would be my fastest non system drive im guessing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim View Post
Yep get another 2GB stick, it'll help a little. It's a pretty old CPU, but to get anything newer you'll need motherboard CPU RAM and maybe video card. You might just leave it as is, and save the money for an i7 upgrade in 6-12 months, that will probably be about ten times faster than your current PC.
DOh, hate to hear its old, but in know I'm pushing up on 3 years.

Thanks again all.
__________________
Gear- 7d, 24-70L, sigma 70-200, Sigma 120-400, canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.0,sigma 10-20, Sigma 24mm 1.8 and a canon G11.
azpix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding your name... Southswede Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 5th of February 2009 (Thu) 20:17
Adding 1.4x and 2x on 300 f2.8? bsmith6280 Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 6 28th of July 2006 (Fri) 17:54
Adding photos to db the old way? kalleb Version 1.0-1.5 discussion 1 27th of June 2004 (Sun) 11:54


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.