Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #1
flute4peace
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 243
Default Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

I used these flashes with no trouble on the XTi and 40D, but they are having a terrible time communicating with my 50D. They won't recognize the focal length (just go back and forth), and my recycle time has gone from a couple seconds to at least 15-20 seconds (I've tried multiple batteries in both camera and flashes). Has anyone else noticed this? Canon wouldn't help since it's not their flash, and I haven't had any luck reaching Sigma yet. I really don't want to give up on these flashes since they slave, but they're not usable like this.

Thanks.
flute4peace is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #2
Curtis N
Master Flasher
 
Curtis N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northern Illinois, US
Posts: 19,130
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

If the recycle time is long, it's not the camera's fault. It's a battery issue.
__________________
"If you're not having fun, your pictures will reflect that." - Joe McNally
Chicago area POTN events
Flash Photography 101 | The EOS Flash Bible | Techniques for Better On-Camera Flash | How to Use Flash Outdoors | Excel-based DOF Calculator
Curtis N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2008 (Fri)   #3
flute4peace
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 243
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis N View Post
If the recycle time is long, it's not the camera's fault. It's a battery issue.
I tried three different sets of batteries, none made a difference, and both flashes had the problem on the 50 but not on the XTi. I finally got through to Sigma, and they did say this was a known issue. I can take the flash off the 50, put it on the XTi and it'll fire off quick like it always has, but put it right back on the 50 and it's horribly slow. Sigma said to send them in for an update, so we'll see what happens. Apparently I'm not the only one to have called them with this issue. Thanks for the response, tho, I appreciate it.
flute4peace is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #4
aymanmb
Member
 
aymanmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 294
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

I believe I have read somewhere that there is a firmware upgrade to make it working with the 50D.

Check Sigma site
__________________
Canon 50D | EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS | EF-S 55-250 IS | EF 50mm 1.8 | BG-E2N Battery Grip | 580EX II
aymanmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #5
flute4peace
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 243
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aymanmb View Post
I believe I have read somewhere that there is a firmware upgrade to make it working with the 50D.

Check Sigma site
Yes, I sent them in to Sigma and had them back within a week. They are working properly now.
flute4peace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #6
40Dude6aedyk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

If you put your Sigma on your 50D, does the "wireless" menu under "Flash control" become active?
__________________
Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs
40Dude6aedyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #7
flute4peace
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 243
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40Dude6aedyk View Post
If you put your Sigma on your 50D, does the "wireless" menu under "Flash control" become active?
No. It still says "flash not compatible or turned off" in the external flash menu (it does give me the option to change compensation and average/evaluative ETTL), but it does communicate and slave (to a light source). I don't remember if it was the same way with the 40D or not - I can check over the holidays when I'll be visiting a 40 again.
flute4peace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #8
40Dude6aedyk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

Thanks. My sigma on my 40D does not activate the "wireless" menu options, but my 580exII on the 40D does. The sigma does act as a master, but you have use the buttons on the flash to control all the settings (for the master and the slaves). With the 580exII, you can use the buttons on the flash or the menus on the camera.
__________________
Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs
40Dude6aedyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #9
flute4peace
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 243
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40Dude6aedyk View Post
Thanks. My sigma on my 40D does not activate the "wireless" menu options, but my 580exII on the 40D does. The sigma does act as a master, but you have use the buttons on the flash to control all the settings (for the master and the slaves). With the 580exII, you can use the buttons on the flash or the menus on the camera.
I thought Canon flashes didn't slave wirelessly at all without a trigger? (but then I don't know much about Canon flashes, obviously, since I've only got the Sigmas).

The Sigmas will slave to another light source, so I've used one on-camera and one off-camera, or I've also used them as slaves to studio lights (like for a background/hair light). It's pretty slick and for the price you can't beat it.

I've not ever looked into triggering them wirelessly. Intrigued....
flute4peace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #10
40Dude6aedyk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

From reading this forum, it does seem to me that many Sigma owners do not use the full features of their flashes. As an example, I can set the power (1/1, 1/2, ..., 1/128 ) of my remote slave Sigma flash from my 40D camera body or from my 580EXII. I don't have to mess with any of the buttons on the Sigma, just put it in eTTL, C1 SL mode with slave ID 2 and I am good to go. That mode will cover all the manual and eTTL stuff that one would need to ever do.
__________________
Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs
40Dude6aedyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of March 2009 (Sun)   #11
AirbusA380
Member
 
AirbusA380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The wrong side of the pond -- Rainy Holland.
Posts: 138
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

Thanks all. Can't seem to find information on the website, though, 40Dude6aedyk.

When I set my flash to high speed sync, HS doesn't appear in the viewfinder.. Guess I need to return it.
__________________
-Dan
Canon 300D | Canon 400D | Canon 50D
Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS | 70-200mm F4L | 50/1.8 | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8
AirbusA380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of March 2009 (Sun)   #12
exposurecontrol
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ashland, MO
Posts: 146
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

The Sigma 530DG Super is not compatible with the 50D. I bought one and had similar problems. I was directed to the Sigma website and it indicated the same. You have to send it in for an upgrade for it to work with the 50D. I sent it back and bought a 430EX II instead. No regrets.
__________________
Camera: Canon 50D
Glass: Canon EF 24-105 f/4
L IS ; Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 APO DG HSM;
Speedlight: Canon 430 EX II
exposurecontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of July 2009 (Wed)   #13
BOUNCINGNRG
Senior Member
 
BOUNCINGNRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: a way around the world
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

Yep, real probs on mine, the zoom head just continually hunts when you half bepress the shutter button and will never fire and when firing the flash at 90 its only ttl and doesn't always fire. Have jst email Sigma, hopefully will have a responce soon.
__________________
London Wedding Photographer Wedding Photographer Gear List Photobucket corporate event photography 'I reject your reality and substitute my own'




BOUNCINGNRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sigma EF-530 DG ST or 530 Super... soulja221 Small Flash and Studio Lighting 6 28th of June 2010 (Mon) 13:11
Sigma EF-530 DG SUPER rklepper Small Flash and Studio Lighting 51 12th of January 2009 (Mon) 19:42
sigma 530 DG Super? thelightofsound Small Flash and Studio Lighting 2 11th of July 2008 (Fri) 13:17
Newb Question: 430EX vs Sigma 500 Super or Sigma 530 Super Wader55901 Small Flash and Studio Lighting 3 16th of November 2007 (Fri) 07:04
Sigma 530 Super BOUNCINGNRG Small Flash and Studio Lighting 4 29th of August 2007 (Wed) 13:11


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.