Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 05 Dec 2008 (Friday) 14:52
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

 
flute4peace
Member
248 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Dec 05, 2008 14:52 |  #1

I used these flashes with no trouble on the XTi and 40D, but they are having a terrible time communicating with my 50D. They won't recognize the focal length (just go back and forth), and my recycle time has gone from a couple seconds to at least 15-20 seconds (I've tried multiple batteries in both camera and flashes). Has anyone else noticed this? Canon wouldn't help since it's not their flash, and I haven't had any luck reaching Sigma yet. I really don't want to give up on these flashes since they slave, but they're not usable like this.:(

Thanks.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Curtis ­ N
Master Flasher
Curtis N's Avatar
19,129 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Northern Illinois, US
Dec 05, 2008 19:01 |  #2

If the recycle time is long, it's not the camera's fault. It's a battery issue.


"If you're not having fun, your pictures will reflect that." - Joe McNally
Chicago area POTN eventsexternal link
Flash Photography 101 | The EOS Flash Bible external link| Techniques for Better On-Camera Flashexternal link | How to Use Flash Outdoors| Excel-based DOF Calculatorexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
flute4peace
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
248 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Dec 05, 2008 19:07 |  #3

Curtis N wrote in post #6821544external link
If the recycle time is long, it's not the camera's fault. It's a battery issue.

I tried three different sets of batteries, none made a difference, and both flashes had the problem on the 50 but not on the XTi. I finally got through to Sigma, and they did say this was a known issue. I can take the flash off the 50, put it on the XTi and it'll fire off quick like it always has, but put it right back on the 50 and it's horribly slow. Sigma said to send them in for an update, so we'll see what happens. Apparently I'm not the only one to have called them with this issue. Thanks for the response, tho, I appreciate it.




LOG IN TO REPLY
aymanmb
Senior Member
aymanmb's Avatar
296 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Dec 19, 2008 17:51 as a reply to flute4peace's post |  #4

I believe I have read somewhere that there is a firmware upgrade to make it working with the 50D.

Check Sigma site


Canon 50D | EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS | EF-S 55-250 IS | EF 50mm 1.8 | BG-E2N Battery Grip | 580EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
flute4peace
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
248 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Dec 19, 2008 21:52 |  #5

aymanmb wrote in post #6911197external link
I believe I have read somewhere that there is a firmware upgrade to make it working with the 50D.

Check Sigma site

Yes, I sent them in to Sigma and had them back within a week. They are working properly now.:D




LOG IN TO REPLY
40Dude6aedyk
Goldmember
1,064 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Dec 19, 2008 21:54 |  #6

If you put your Sigma on your 50D, does the "wireless" menu under "Flash control" become active?


Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs

LOG IN TO REPLY
flute4peace
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
248 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Dec 19, 2008 22:01 |  #7

40Dude6aedyk wrote in post #6912486external link
If you put your Sigma on your 50D, does the "wireless" menu under "Flash control" become active?

No. It still says "flash not compatible or turned off" in the external flash menu (it does give me the option to change compensation and average/evaluative ETTL), but it does communicate and slave (to a light source). I don't remember if it was the same way with the 40D or not - I can check over the holidays when I'll be visiting a 40 again.




LOG IN TO REPLY
40Dude6aedyk
Goldmember
1,064 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Dec 19, 2008 22:17 |  #8

Thanks. My sigma on my 40D does not activate the "wireless" menu options, but my 580exII on the 40D does. The sigma does act as a master, but you have use the buttons on the flash to control all the settings (for the master and the slaves). With the 580exII, you can use the buttons on the flash or the menus on the camera.


Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs

LOG IN TO REPLY
flute4peace
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
248 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Dec 19, 2008 22:22 |  #9

40Dude6aedyk wrote in post #6912592external link
Thanks. My sigma on my 40D does not activate the "wireless" menu options, but my 580exII on the 40D does. The sigma does act as a master, but you have use the buttons on the flash to control all the settings (for the master and the slaves). With the 580exII, you can use the buttons on the flash or the menus on the camera.

I thought Canon flashes didn't slave wirelessly at all without a trigger? (but then I don't know much about Canon flashes, obviously, since I've only got the Sigmas).

The Sigmas will slave to another light source, so I've used one on-camera and one off-camera, or I've also used them as slaves to studio lights (like for a background/hair light). It's pretty slick and for the price you can't beat it.

I've not ever looked into triggering them wirelessly. Intrigued....




LOG IN TO REPLY
40Dude6aedyk
Goldmember
1,064 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Dec 19, 2008 23:00 |  #10

From reading this forum, it does seem to me that many Sigma owners do not use the full features of their flashes. As an example, I can set the power (1/1, 1/2, ..., 1/128 ) of my remote slave Sigma flash from my 40D camera body or from my 580EXII. I don't have to mess with any of the buttons on the Sigma, just put it in eTTL, C1 SL mode with slave ID 2 and I am good to go. That mode will cover all the manual and eTTL stuff that one would need to ever do.


Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs

LOG IN TO REPLY
AirbusA380
Member
AirbusA380's Avatar
138 posts
Joined Mar 2006
The wrong side of the pond -- Rainy Holland.
Mar 22, 2009 02:08 |  #11

Thanks all. Can't seem to find information on the website, though, 40Dude6aedyk.

When I set my flash to high speed sync, HS doesn't appear in the viewfinder.. Guess I need to return it.


-Dan
Canon 300D | Canon 400D | Canon 50D
Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS | 70-200mm F4L | 50/1.8 | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
exposurecontrol
Member
146 posts
Joined May 2008
Ashland, MO
Mar 22, 2009 15:30 |  #12

The Sigma 530DG Super is not compatible with the 50D. I bought one and had similar problems. I was directed to the Sigma website and it indicated the same. You have to send it in for an upgrade for it to work with the 50D. I sent it back and bought a 430EX II instead. No regrets.


Camera: Canon 50D
Glass: Canon EF 24-105 f/4
L IS ; Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 APO DG HSM;
Speedlight: Canon 430 EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
BOUNCINGNRG
Goldmember
BOUNCINGNRG's Avatar
1,794 posts
Joined Aug 2007
a way around the world
Jul 08, 2009 12:54 |  #13

Yep, real probs on mine, the zoom head just continually hunts when you half bepress the shutter button and will never fire and when firing the flash at 90 its only ttl and doesn't always fire. Have jst email Sigma, hopefully will have a responce soon.


London Wedding Photographerexternal link ¦ Wedding Photographerexternal link ¦Gear List ¦Photobucket external link¦corporate event photographyexternal link 'I reject your reality and substitute my own'



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,064 views & 0 likes for this thread
Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00199 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is junkyardninja
875 guests, 611 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016