LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 05 Dec 2008 (Friday) 14:52   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
flute4peace
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2007
243 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I used these flashes with no trouble on the XTi and 40D, but they are having a terrible time communicating with my 50D. They won't recognize the focal length (just go back and forth), and my recycle time has gone from a couple seconds to at least 15-20 seconds (I've tried multiple batteries in both camera and flashes). Has anyone else noticed this? Canon wouldn't help since it's not their flash, and I haven't had any luck reaching Sigma yet. I really don't want to give up on these flashes since they slave, but they're not usable like this.:(

Thanks.

Post #1, Dec 05, 2008 14:52:55




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Curtis ­ N
Master Flasher
Curtis N's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
19,130 posts
Northern Illinois, US
[MORE/SHARE]

If the recycle time is long, it's not the camera's fault. It's a battery issue.

Post #2, Dec 05, 2008 19:01:47


"If you're not having fun, your pictures will reflect that." - Joe McNally
Chicago area POTN eventsexternal link
Flash Photography 101 | The EOS Flash Bible external link| Techniques for Better On-Camera Flashexternal link | How to Use Flash Outdoors| Excel-based DOF Calculatorexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
flute4peace
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2007
243 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Curtis N wrote in post #6821544external link
If the recycle time is long, it's not the camera's fault. It's a battery issue.

I tried three different sets of batteries, none made a difference, and both flashes had the problem on the 50 but not on the XTi. I finally got through to Sigma, and they did say this was a known issue. I can take the flash off the 50, put it on the XTi and it'll fire off quick like it always has, but put it right back on the 50 and it's horribly slow. Sigma said to send them in for an update, so we'll see what happens. Apparently I'm not the only one to have called them with this issue. Thanks for the response, tho, I appreciate it.

Post #3, Dec 05, 2008 19:07:29




LOG IN TO REPLY
aymanmb
Senior Member
aymanmb's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
294 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I believe I have read somewhere that there is a firmware upgrade to make it working with the 50D.

Check Sigma site

Post #4, Dec 19, 2008 17:51:09 as a reply to flute4peace's post 13 days earlier.


Canon 50D | EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS | EF-S 55-250 IS | EF 50mm 1.8 | BG-E2N Battery Grip | 580EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
flute4peace
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2007
243 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

aymanmb wrote in post #6911197external link
I believe I have read somewhere that there is a firmware upgrade to make it working with the 50D.

Check Sigma site

Yes, I sent them in to Sigma and had them back within a week. They are working properly now.:D

Post #5, Dec 19, 2008 21:52:44




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
40Dude6aedyk
Goldmember
Joined Jun 2008
1,064 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

If you put your Sigma on your 50D, does the "wireless" menu under "Flash control" become active?

Post #6, Dec 19, 2008 21:54:34


Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs

LOG IN TO REPLY
flute4peace
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2007
243 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

40Dude6aedyk wrote in post #6912486external link
If you put your Sigma on your 50D, does the "wireless" menu under "Flash control" become active?

No. It still says "flash not compatible or turned off" in the external flash menu (it does give me the option to change compensation and average/evaluative ETTL), but it does communicate and slave (to a light source). I don't remember if it was the same way with the 40D or not - I can check over the holidays when I'll be visiting a 40 again.

Post #7, Dec 19, 2008 22:01:31




LOG IN TO REPLY
40Dude6aedyk
Goldmember
Joined Jun 2008
1,064 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks. My sigma on my 40D does not activate the "wireless" menu options, but my 580exII on the 40D does. The sigma does act as a master, but you have use the buttons on the flash to control all the settings (for the master and the slaves). With the 580exII, you can use the buttons on the flash or the menus on the camera.

Post #8, Dec 19, 2008 22:17:32


Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs

LOG IN TO REPLY
flute4peace
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2007
243 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

40Dude6aedyk wrote in post #6912592external link
Thanks. My sigma on my 40D does not activate the "wireless" menu options, but my 580exII on the 40D does. The sigma does act as a master, but you have use the buttons on the flash to control all the settings (for the master and the slaves). With the 580exII, you can use the buttons on the flash or the menus on the camera.

I thought Canon flashes didn't slave wirelessly at all without a trigger? (but then I don't know much about Canon flashes, obviously, since I've only got the Sigmas).

The Sigmas will slave to another light source, so I've used one on-camera and one off-camera, or I've also used them as slaves to studio lights (like for a background/hair light). It's pretty slick and for the price you can't beat it.

I've not ever looked into triggering them wirelessly. Intrigued....

Post #9, Dec 19, 2008 22:22:47




LOG IN TO REPLY
40Dude6aedyk
Goldmember
Joined Jun 2008
1,064 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

From reading this forum, it does seem to me that many Sigma owners do not use the full features of their flashes. As an example, I can set the power (1/1, 1/2, ..., 1/128 ) of my remote slave Sigma flash from my 40D camera body or from my 580EXII. I don't have to mess with any of the buttons on the Sigma, just put it in eTTL, C1 SL mode with slave ID 2 and I am good to go. That mode will cover all the manual and eTTL stuff that one would need to ever do.

Post #10, Dec 19, 2008 23:00:42


Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs

LOG IN TO REPLY
AirbusA380
Senior Member
AirbusA380's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
138 posts
The wrong side of the pond -- Rainy Holland.
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks all. Can't seem to find information on the website, though, 40Dude6aedyk.

When I set my flash to high speed sync, HS doesn't appear in the viewfinder.. Guess I need to return it.

Post #11, Mar 22, 2009 02:08:03


-Dan
Canon 300D | Canon 400D | Canon 50D
Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS | 70-200mm F4L | 50/1.8 | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
exposurecontrol
Senior Member
Joined May 2008
146 posts
Ashland, MO
[MORE/SHARE]

The Sigma 530DG Super is not compatible with the 50D. I bought one and had similar problems. I was directed to the Sigma website and it indicated the same. You have to send it in for an upgrade for it to work with the 50D. I sent it back and bought a 430EX II instead. No regrets.

Post #12, Mar 22, 2009 15:30:16


Camera: Canon 50D
Glass: Canon EF 24-105 f/4
L IS ; Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 APO DG HSM;
Speedlight: Canon 430 EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
BOUNCINGNRG
Goldmember
BOUNCINGNRG's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
1,783 posts
a way around the world
[MORE/SHARE]

Yep, real probs on mine, the zoom head just continually hunts when you half bepress the shutter button and will never fire and when firing the flash at 90 its only ttl and doesn't always fire. Have jst email Sigma, hopefully will have a responce soon.

Post #13, Jul 08, 2009 12:54:04


London Wedding Photographerexternal link ¦ Wedding Photographerexternal link ¦Gear List ¦Photobucket external link¦corporate event photographyexternal link 'I reject your reality and substitute my own'



LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,587 views & 0 likes for this thread
Is the 50D not compatable with Sigma 530 DG Super?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00086 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
1083 guests, 796 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Billzo

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.