Thread started 08 Dec 2008 (Monday) 21:34   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

GreenEyedLady
Joined Sep 2008
132 posts
Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

Hey people.
I am a newbie. I see a lot of pictures taken where the background of maybe the inside of the home is very dark so the person stands out.
I remember a photographer doing this in a shot with all of us in our own home.

IMAGE: http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3018/3094677672_b13ac9a03a.jpg?v=0

IMAGE: http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3116/3094677644_ed09f6fd08.jpg?v=0

I have lightroom. Is this something you do when you shoot or in lightroom?

Thanks
GEL

Post #1, Dec 08, 2008 21:34:34

Shoot with a Canon Xsi Rebel 450D with a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5 . I have a 430EX flash. I am using a Mac for all of my editing. I am a newbie looking to understand it all. Help me by letting me know how to correct my photos. I need all the help I can get!

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
DanteCaspian
Goldmember
Joined Sep 2006
1,103 posts
Ottawa, ON Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

What editing software do you have?

Post #2, Dec 08, 2008 21:41:23

GreenEyedLady
THREAD ­ STARTER
Joined Sep 2008
132 posts
Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

I have Lightroom and CS2.

Post #3, Dec 08, 2008 21:43:05

Shoot with a Canon Xsi Rebel 450D with a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5 . I have a 430EX flash. I am using a Mac for all of my editing. I am a newbie looking to understand it all. Help me by letting me know how to correct my photos. I need all the help I can get!

DanteCaspian
Goldmember
Joined Sep 2006
1,103 posts
Ottawa, ON Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

You can control the desired effect with lighting, background and proper exposure. You may also do so in Photoshop & there are a number of ways to do this.
Here are simple examples, http://www.sitepoint.c​om ...ing-techniques-photoshop/external link
Obviously, ignore the shadow additions in the tutorials.