Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 8th of December 2008 (Mon)   #1
GreenEyedLady

Default How to black out the background

Hey people.
I am a newbie. I see a lot of pictures taken where the background of maybe the inside of the home is very dark so the person stands out.
I remember a photographer doing this in a shot with all of us in our own home.

I have lightroom. Is this something you do when you shoot or in lightroom?

Thanks
GEL
Shoot with a Canon Xsi Rebel 450D with a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5 . I have a 430EX flash. I am using a Mac for all of my editing. I am a newbie looking to understand it all. Help me by letting me know how to correct my photos. I need all the help I can get!
GreenEyedLady is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 8th of December 2008 (Mon)   #2
DanteCaspian

Default Re: How to black out the background

What editing software do you have?
DanteCaspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of December 2008 (Mon)   #3
GreenEyedLady

I have Lightroom and CS2.
Shoot with a Canon Xsi Rebel 450D with a Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5 . I have a 430EX flash. I am using a Mac for all of my editing. I am a newbie looking to understand it all. Help me by letting me know how to correct my photos. I need all the help I can get!
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 8th of December 2008 (Mon)   #4
DanteCaspian

You can control the desired effect with lighting, background and proper exposure. You may also do so in Photoshop & there are a number of ways to do this.
Here are simple examples, http://www.sitepoint.com/print/maski...ues-photoshop/
Obviously, ignore the shadow additions in the tutorials.