Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th of December 2008 (Wed)   #1
virus
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Default Shutter button getting soft..?

I have a 40D, and of late i notice when i press the shutter button it doesnt always fire. Even when the lens is set to manual it wont always fire immediately.

Imagine being at a wedding or something and u totally missed the action?!?

Long story short the button isnt as sensitive as it used to be.. can i do anything to it? or should it be sent back to the factory? is it normal?
virus is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of December 2008 (Thu)   #2
James Salenger
Senior Member
 
James Salenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,649
Default Re: Shutter button getting soft..?

Very strange problem, I will try to answer. The shutter actuation is a combination
of mechanical and electronic function. I would send it back as more than likely your
problem is a faulty shutter release button. I doubt you have worn out the shutter and
are having some sort of glitch, (manufacturing) problem. sorry, $750+ US, just doesn't
buy what is used to.
James Salenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of December 2008 (Thu)   #3
Ad B
Junior Member
 
Ad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 18
Default Re: Shutter button getting soft..?

Hi Virus,
I (and others) have that problem to.
Read this tread:
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...11#post6901111
Try the solution I've posted there or let the shutterbutton unit be replaced.

By the way, when you have a remote control or a battery grip on the camera,
these shutterbuttons will work perfectly.

Regards
Ad B
__________________
Captain Chaos loves his 40 d with a few quite (light)sensitive lenses + one L walk-around (24-105), Canon 580 external flash and other stuff...
Ad B is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of December 2008 (Thu)   #4
MadisonPhotography
Member
 
MadisonPhotography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 355
Default Re: Shutter button getting soft..?

I had same problem with my 40D after about 40,000 exposures. Sometimes the button worked, sometimes not.

Was just out of warranty and Canon wanted basically the cost of a new 40D body. Luckily, and for some reason not clear to me yet....I have never done it before or since, I bought the full coverage extended warranty from Circuit City....yeah I know, Circuit CIty.

I sent the camera in and about 3 weeks later I had a Circuit CIty gift card for the full amount...only drawback was that I had to spend it at Circuit City so I bought something else there and bought a new 40D body at Costco for around $800...

So yes, the condition does exist...
MadisonPhotography is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #5
virus
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Shutter button getting soft..?

I tried the twisting and turning thing, and it sorta worked..
i need to conduct some more test tho, but thanks for the help
virus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #6
bauerman
discount on value meals
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Idaho!
Posts: 3,419
Default Re: Shutter button getting soft..?

I picked up some electrical contact cleaner at Radio Shack - held the camera upside down and worked a small amount of it in and around my 20D shutter button and it works as good as new. The contacts can just get dirty.

The contact cleaner dries quickly and cleanly and does not leave any residue on the camera or the outside of the shutter button.
bauerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #7
DC Fan
Cream of the Crop
 
DC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,333
Default Re: Shutter button getting soft..?

Shutter buttons wear out or shift with use. Had the same problem, sent the camera to Canon, they fixed it under warranty. Took about a week.
DC Fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2008 (Fri)   #8
beepclick
Senior Member
 
beepclick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Shutter button getting soft..?

I think you need to send your shutter finger in for servicing. Obviously, it has lost power...lol
__________________
Gear





beepclick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2008 (Sun)   #9
DrMitch
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 280
Default Re: Shutter button getting soft..?

Arrrrghh - not ONE day after reading this thread - my trusty 300D Dig Rebel shutter button starts to go!!! The twisty thing works fro one or two shots then - NADA - and here I was gonna sell it last week cause i saw a great deal on a 50D!!!! I'm quite sure the replacement cost is MUCH more than this body is worth unfortunately - oh well, will have to take a lot of protrait shots (which I do anyway) until I can afford a new body - now I may have to wait on getting the 70-200L - no point having a lens with no body!!!
__________________
I have a photographic memory, just wish I'd remember to take the lens cap off more often!
40D - Sigma 10-20 - Tamron 17-50/2.8 - Canon 50/1.8 - Canon 100/2.8Macro - Canon 70-200 F4L - Canon 420EX - Crumpler 7MDH and a few Lowepro bags
Flickr Collection
DrMitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5D shutter button not working (shutter ok) jmtron Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 8th of December 2008 (Mon) 19:50
Focus with * button or shutter release button? Keydogg General Photography Talk 20 30th of July 2007 (Mon) 00:11
shutter button MKII Canon EOS Digital Cameras 10 26th of April 2007 (Thu) 07:05
Shutter button doesnt fire shutter anymore. awad Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 1st of April 2007 (Sun) 14:50
Custom Function 4, "Shutter Button, AE Lock Button MadMesh Canon EOS Digital Cameras 21 12th of August 2005 (Fri) 14:10


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.