Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th of March 2005 (Sun)   #1
stryder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Canon a95 macro setings

Hi!

I'm new to photography and i would like to know why when i'm in macro mode and i want to shot something from small distance, the object is not focused...there are some setings that i have to make to take in order to be really focused?...i'm confused
stryder is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 13th of March 2005 (Sun)   #2
Monarque1972
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Default Re: Canon a95 macro setings

Well even if the macro mode on the A95 works extremely well, don't forget that you must leave at least 5cm (if I remember correctly) between your camera and your subject. Also, if there's not anough light, you'll have to take the picture from a little farther away.

That being said, dont forget to :

1- make sure the little flower appears on your screen (which confirms that you're in macro mode).

2-Before taking the picture, half press the shutter button in order to let the camera focus on your subject. Without releasing it, when the subject is well focused, keep pushing down the button to take the picture.

Let us know how it went

regards!
Monarque1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of March 2005 (Sun)   #3
stryder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Canon a95 macro setings

thanks for the quick reply...i will post a photo soon
stryder is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of April 2005 (Wed)   #4
insubby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Canon a95 macro setings

i have the same problem... well it is not a problem. the fact is i'm looking to take "super" macro shots and not macro...
i live far from usa and supplies are VERY expensive!
insubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of April 2005 (Thu)   #5
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,790
Default Re: Canon a95 macro setings

Quote:
Originally Posted by insubby
i have the same problem... well it is not a problem. the fact is i'm looking to take "super" macro shots and not macro...
i live far from usa and supplies are VERY expensive!
Take a look at the Canon A70 Super Macro sticky. Your A95 is close enough in design to the A70 that applying that will be pretty straightforward.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of April 2005 (Thu)   #6
scrumpy
Goldmember
 
scrumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
Posts: 3,664
Default Re: Canon a95 macro setings

It depends how close you wish to get. The closer you are the less light you have to play with. I use the macro setting a lot on my A80. It's great, but it depends on what you are after. Have a look at some of mine - not sure how you get the link to work? Good Luck.
http://www.dorsetscountryside.co.uk/63640.html
scrumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of April 2005 (Fri)   #7
Bodryn
Member
 
Bodryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota, Manitoba
Posts: 446
Default Re: Canon a95 macro setings

Very nice pictures, Scrumpy! Makes me want to try some more closeups on my A70.
__________________
Bodryn ========
Canon A540; A720 IS; S5 IS; SX20 IS; Pentax *istDS + lots of lenses; Jasc PSP v.9;

"Where are we going? And why are we in this handbasket?
Bodryn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A95 will do macro plus with a little help PsychProf Small Compact Digitals by Canon 3 1st of January 2006 (Sun) 07:29
Help: A95 Macro Set up! Chiaroscurist Macro 1 21st of November 2005 (Mon) 04:06
First Macro A95... bamas10 Critique Corner 6 29th of May 2005 (Sun) 10:05
Macro disaster with a95 insubby Small Compact Digitals by Canon 3 5th of April 2005 (Tue) 19:51
A macro pic from my A95 Monarque1972 Small Compact Digitals by Canon 6 2nd of March 2005 (Wed) 09:10


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.