LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


PocketWizard Plus II and my question

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 27 Dec 2008 (Saturday) 06:14   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
tunin
Goldmember
tunin's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,187 posts
New York, NY - Medjugorje, BiH
[MORE/SHARE]

Hello everyone, first of all I wanna wish you all a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS and a happy and prosperous New Year with good health.

I wanna be able to do what is shown on the sketch - I have the EOS and the two 580ex units... what is the other stuff that I need that can ache ave this for me?

IMAGE: http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n179/tuninus/sk.jpg

Thank you.

Post #1, Dec 27, 2008 06:14:11


I am not young enough to know everything. O.W.
www.medjugorje.netexternal link
*** Amateur tools ***

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
jeromego
Goldmember
jeromego's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
3,899 posts
Florida
[MORE/SHARE]

tunin wrote in post #6951495external link
Hello everyone, first of all I wanna wish you all a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS and a happy and prosperous New Year with good health.

I wanna be able to do what is shown on the sketch - I have the EOS and the two 580ex units... what is the other stuff that I need that can ache ave this for me?

QUOTED IMAGE

Thank you.

or you can get another PW for the 3rd flash.

Post #2, Dec 27, 2008 08:09:33


Jerome
Gear List
Canon CPS Member
www.lightsandimages.co​mexternal link
facebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
AB8ND
Senior Member
AB8ND's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
737 posts
Grand Rapids, MI
[MORE/SHARE]

If you are indoors or outdoors with no very much ambient light, the cheapist way would be to use an optical slave on the 2d 580EX II. Then again you could use a Nikon SB800 which has a great built in optical slave. I don't think you can cable to 2 580EX II's together. You could also use an ST-E2 on camera. Then as was mentioned before a 3d PW is your best bet, although expensive.

jack

Post #3, Dec 27, 2008 09:18:37




LOG IN TO REPLY
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
DDCSD's Avatar
Joined Jun 2007
13,313 posts
South Dakota
[MORE/SHARE]

There should be no problem daisy chaining the two 580EXII's together, unless there is something about them I do not know about.

Here is what you'd need. The length of the cords depends on what you need personally.

Slpitter
http://flashzebra.com/​monominiphone/0075.sht​mlexternal link

18in sync cord
http://flashzebra.com/​wizardcables/screwlock​.shtmlexternal link

16ft sync cord
http://flashzebra.com ...k_pc_fivemeter/0035​.shtmlexternal link

Post #4, Dec 27, 2008 09:33:40


Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund
http://photography-on-the.net ...php?p=9903477#post9​903477
POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds


Full Gear List & Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
tunin
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
tunin's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,187 posts
New York, NY - Medjugorje, BiH
[MORE/SHARE]

Thank you lads, I guess the best way is to get tree PWs... :-( pricey. I was thinking I could conect the two 58oex-es using cable.

Post #5, Dec 27, 2008 09:37:33


I am not young enough to know everything. O.W.
www.medjugorje.netexternal link
*** Amateur tools ***

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tunin
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
tunin's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,187 posts
New York, NY - Medjugorje, BiH
[MORE/SHARE]

Interesting, thank you.

DDCSD wrote in post #6952046external link
There should be no problem daisy chaining the two 580EXII's together, unless there is something about them I do not know about.

Here is what you'd need. The length of the cords depends on what you need personally.

Slpitter
http://flashzebra.com/​monominiphone/0075.sht​mlexternal link

18in sync cord
http://flashzebra.com/​wizardcables/screwlock​.shtmlexternal link

16ft sync cord
http://flashzebra.com ...k_pc_fivemeter/0035​.shtmlexternal link

Post #6, Dec 27, 2008 09:40:05


I am not young enough to know everything. O.W.
www.medjugorje.netexternal link
*** Amateur tools ***

LOG IN TO REPLY
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
DDCSD's Avatar
Joined Jun 2007
13,313 posts
South Dakota
[MORE/SHARE]

tunin wrote in post #6952071external link
Interesting, thank you.

I do that all the time with my flashes. Like I said, unless there is something about the 580EXII that I do not know about, that should work fine.

Post #7, Dec 27, 2008 09:49:16


Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund
http://photography-on-the.net ...php?p=9903477#post9​903477
POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds


Full Gear List & Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
tunin
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
tunin's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,187 posts
New York, NY - Medjugorje, BiH
[MORE/SHARE]

I will look in to this. I would think there would be a way to do this but I don't know and before I buy the two/tree PocketWizards I wanted to ask. I'll wait a few days to see if anyone tried this with the 580ex-es as the adapters and all the options PWs have confuses me.

DDCSD wrote in post #6952103external link
I do that all the time with my flashes. Like I said, unless there is something about the 580EXII that I do not know about, that should work fine.

Post #8, Dec 27, 2008 09:52:31


I am not young enough to know everything. O.W.
www.medjugorje.netexternal link
*** Amateur tools ***

LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Titus213's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
19,389 posts
Camas, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

tunin wrote in post #6952060external link
Thank you lads, I guess the best way is to get tree PWs... :-( pricey. I was thinking I could conect the two 58oex-es using cable.

Or you could buy 3 Cybersyncs and with the money left over get a 430EX flash...

Post #9, Dec 27, 2008 12:07:24


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
simply ­ amazing
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2006
325 posts
new jersey
[MORE/SHARE]

Titus213 wrote in post #6952662external link
Or you could buy 3 Cybersyncs and with the money left over get a 430EX flash...

i agree with this solution

Post #10, Dec 27, 2008 12:18:53


- Phil
Canon 30D

LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
PacAce's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
26,804 posts
ABE, PA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

DDCSD wrote in post #6952103external link
I do that all the time with my flashes. Like I said, unless there is something about the 580EXII that I do not know about, that should work fine.

tunin wrote in post #6952127external link
I will look in to this. I would think there would be a way to do this but I don't know and before I buy the two/tree PocketWizards I wanted to ask. I'll wait a few days to see if anyone tried this with the 580ex-es as the adapters and all the options PWs have confuses me.

Yes, Derek's solution of using a splitter should work fine and is the cheapest option for triggering two off-camera 580EX II flashes with two PW units (short of using the hybrid configuration, of course, which uses the ETTL wireless feature of the flashes and hence not require the splitter and the extra cable).

Post #11, Dec 27, 2008 12:29:39


...Leo

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Nick ­ Pro
Goldmember
Nick Pro's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
1,084 posts
South Jersey
[MORE/SHARE]

tunin wrote in post #6952060external link
Thank you lads, I guess the best way is to get tree PWs... :-( pricey. I was thinking I could conect the two 58oex-es using cable.


I connect my 580 and 550 all the time. I use a 16' Miniplug to PC cord, and than a hotshoe adapter for the 550. Just plug the 16' sync cord into the Camera/flash socket on the PW, and have the other 580 into the flash socket. It works perfectly for me....

Post #12, Dec 27, 2008 12:55:44



LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Titus213's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
19,389 posts
Camas, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

So you buy 2 Cybersyncs and go out to dinner and buy a 430EX.:lol:

Post #13, Dec 27, 2008 19:06:44


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
rdompor
Senior Member
rdompor's Avatar
Joined Nov 2008
671 posts
New Jersey
[MORE/SHARE]

OR you could just use the PW from the camera to trigger the other PW on the 580 which would be set to master and will fire the other 580 set to slave mode.

Post #14, Dec 27, 2008 22:49:52


Ramon
ULTRAMONTAGNEexternal link
Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick ­ Pro
Goldmember
Nick Pro's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
1,084 posts
South Jersey
[MORE/SHARE]

rdompor wrote in post #6955543external link
OR you could just use the PW from the camera to trigger the other PW on the 580 which would be set to master and will fire the other 580 set to slave mode.


No, when a PC cable is plugged into the PC port, the Master/slave Mode is disabled.

Post #15, Dec 28, 2008 09:27:08



LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
922 views & 0 likes for this thread
PocketWizard Plus II and my question
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00182 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
882 guests, 730 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Wiebe2014

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.