Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 05 Jan 2009 (Monday) 03:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

digital photo professional error. Help?!

 
iddycourt
Senior Member
Avatar
283 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Aussie Living in UK
     
Jan 05, 2009 03:38 |  #1

I have digital photoprofessional, and like everyone, i use it to convert all my raw files to jpeg.
but lately, its coming up with an error on some folders "Insufficient memory. Cannot open file"
the first time this happened, i closed the program, and reopened it and it worked fine.
now that doesnt seem to work.
today it was working fine, i had editted alot of my raw files, and when i went to save the files, it came up with the error again.
Is there a minimum requirement for memory for the program?

I also have photoshop cs2, but dont know if i can convert raw files on this. Havent used the program before


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,640 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 520
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jan 05, 2009 04:17 |  #2

Hmmm...

When you do the conversions with DPP, are other programs running at the same time? If you are trying to process a lot of files in DPP, then that will take up a lot of memory.

You can't use CS2 to process RAW files from your 450D, but you can take the output of DPP (jpegs or tiffs) and process them in CS2. If you're trying to run CS2 and DPP at the same time, you may have memory problems if you are using an older computer. Older, of course, being two or more years older:)!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
Avatar
34,039 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2005
     
Jan 05, 2009 04:18 |  #3

First things first:

How much RAM do you have installed on your computer?


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it here (external link). Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
283 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Aussie Living in UK
     
Jan 05, 2009 04:45 |  #4

1 gig ram..
running vista.
i used to have xp, and i sent it in for repairs specifically asking them NOT to put vista on, but what did they do? put it on


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
283 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Aussie Living in UK
     
Jan 05, 2009 04:47 |  #5

tonylong, if i had alot of raw files to process, would you reccomend breaking them up into smaller folders, and seeing if that works?


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,640 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 520
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jan 05, 2009 04:51 |  #6

iddycourt wrote in post #7007166 (external link)
tonylong, if i had alot of raw files to process, would you reccomend breaking them up into smaller folders, and seeing if that works?

With 1 Gig of Ram, you definitely want to break your tasks up into smaller sizes. Software has to work together with hardware. Put the cameras of today together with the software required, and you have to factor in hardware. What worked three years ago won't do so well today, sorry:)!

Your system should be able to take 2 Gigs of RAM without any problem, and RAM is pretty cheap these days. I'd upgrade to that ASAP and see if it won't help.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
Avatar
34,039 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2005
     
Jan 05, 2009 05:02 |  #7

1GB is barely enough to run Vista itself, let alone do anything. I just bought 4GB for my laptop from Newegg and it only cost me $45. There's no reason not to max out your system these days.


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it here (external link). Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
283 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Aussie Living in UK
     
Jan 05, 2009 05:04 |  #8

how easy is it to upgrade ram on a laptop?
ive never upgraded my ram, so wouldnt know the first thing about doing so


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
Avatar
34,039 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2005
     
Jan 05, 2009 05:05 |  #9

Depends what kind of laptop you have. On most Dells (like my Latitude D820), you pull off the keyboard for the main RAM and a cover on the bottom for the 2nd RAM. Either way it's just a couple screws.

For those who do own a Dell:

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=HvCEmKvqxfQ (external link)


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it here (external link). Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
283 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Aussie Living in UK
     
Jan 05, 2009 05:08 |  #10

i have an acer aspire 3050.


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
Avatar
34,039 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2005
     
Jan 05, 2009 05:09 |  #11

Google for memory upgrades on your particular model.


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it here (external link). Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 84
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Jan 05, 2009 06:32 |  #12

How much free space do you have on your hard drive? When your PC starts running out of real memory to use (which it will do fairly quickly with 1GB on a Vista machine) it tries to use hard drive space as virtual memory. If there's not a lot of free space then that can cause problems.

Also, Vista has lots of bells and whistles that eat up memory. Make sure you turn off all the flash gadgetry.


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
283 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Aussie Living in UK
     
Jan 05, 2009 10:11 |  #13

hey everyone
thanks for the advice, we ran out to PC world, and purchased 2 gig extra ram for my computer. I now have 2.5gig ram to run my laptop, with the option if i ever want to upgrade to a 4 gig i can. they offered to instal the ram for 14 pounds which was kind, but we decided it cant be that hard, and did it ourselves!
so far, everything is running smoothly, so much faster 2!
thanks for the help, now i can edit photos quicker, which means i can actually post some photos soon


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
Avatar
34,039 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2005
     
Jan 05, 2009 10:12 |  #14

There you go. :) I'm still impatiently waiting for delivery of my 4GB.


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it here (external link). Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,640 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 520
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jan 05, 2009 10:14 |  #15

Very cool! Even with laptops it's not hard to upgrade RAM and hard drives.

We can look back whistfully at a time when photography wasn't married to computer technology, but, ya know, progress marches on:)!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,616 views & 0 likes for this thread
digital photo professional error. Help?!
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is mirjino3
979 guests, 434 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.