LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


digital photo professional error. Help?!

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk
Thread started 05 Jan 2009 (Monday) 03:38   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
iddycourt
Senior Member
iddycourt's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
283 posts
Aussie Living in UK
[MORE/SHARE]

I have digital photoprofessional, and like everyone, i use it to convert all my raw files to jpeg.
but lately, its coming up with an error on some folders "Insufficient memory. Cannot open file"
the first time this happened, i closed the program, and reopened it and it worked fine.
now that doesnt seem to work.
today it was working fine, i had editted alot of my raw files, and when i went to save the files, it came up with the error again.
Is there a minimum requirement for memory for the program?

I also have photoshop cs2, but dont know if i can convert raw files on this. Havent used the program before

Post #1, Jan 05, 2009 03:38:12


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Hmmm...

When you do the conversions with DPP, are other programs running at the same time? If you are trying to process a lot of files in DPP, then that will take up a lot of memory.

You can't use CS2 to process RAW files from your 450D, but you can take the output of DPP (jpegs or tiffs) and process them in CS2. If you're trying to run CS2 and DPP at the same time, you may have memory problems if you are using an older computer. Older, of course, being two or more years older:)!

Post #2, Jan 05, 2009 04:17:20


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
cdifoto's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
34,036 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

First things first:

How much RAM do you have installed on your computer?

Post #3, Jan 05, 2009 04:18:46


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it hereexternal link. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!

LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
iddycourt's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
283 posts
Aussie Living in UK
[MORE/SHARE]

1 gig ram..
running vista.
i used to have xp, and i sent it in for repairs specifically asking them NOT to put vista on, but what did they do? put it on

Post #4, Jan 05, 2009 04:45:59


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
iddycourt's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
283 posts
Aussie Living in UK
[MORE/SHARE]

tonylong, if i had alot of raw files to process, would you reccomend breaking them up into smaller folders, and seeing if that works?

Post #5, Jan 05, 2009 04:47:01


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

iddycourt wrote in post #7007166external link
tonylong, if i had alot of raw files to process, would you reccomend breaking them up into smaller folders, and seeing if that works?

With 1 Gig of Ram, you definitely want to break your tasks up into smaller sizes. Software has to work together with hardware. Put the cameras of today together with the software required, and you have to factor in hardware. What worked three years ago won't do so well today, sorry:)!

Your system should be able to take 2 Gigs of RAM without any problem, and RAM is pretty cheap these days. I'd upgrade to that ASAP and see if it won't help.

Post #6, Jan 05, 2009 04:51:03


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
cdifoto's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
34,036 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

1GB is barely enough to run Vista itself, let alone do anything. I just bought 4GB for my laptop from Newegg and it only cost me $45. There's no reason not to max out your system these days.

Post #7, Jan 05, 2009 05:02:01


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it hereexternal link. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!

LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
iddycourt's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
283 posts
Aussie Living in UK
[MORE/SHARE]

how easy is it to upgrade ram on a laptop?
ive never upgraded my ram, so wouldnt know the first thing about doing so

Post #8, Jan 05, 2009 05:04:13


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
cdifoto's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
34,036 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Depends what kind of laptop you have. On most Dells (like my Latitude D820), you pull off the keyboard for the main RAM and a cover on the bottom for the 2nd RAM. Either way it's just a couple screws.

For those who do own a Dell:

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=HvCEmKvqxfQexternal link

Post #9, Jan 05, 2009 05:05:17


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it hereexternal link. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!

LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
iddycourt's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
283 posts
Aussie Living in UK
[MORE/SHARE]

i have an acer aspire 3050.

Post #10, Jan 05, 2009 05:08:12


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
cdifoto's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
34,036 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Google for memory upgrades on your particular model.

Post #11, Jan 05, 2009 05:09:43


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it hereexternal link. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
hollis_f's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
10,422 posts
Sussex, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

How much free space do you have on your hard drive? When your PC starts running out of real memory to use (which it will do fairly quickly with 1GB on a Vista machine) it tries to use hard drive space as virtual memory. If there's not a lot of free space then that can cause problems.

Also, Vista has lots of bells and whistles that eat up memory. Make sure you turn off all the flash gadgetry.

Post #12, Jan 05, 2009 06:32:57


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
iddycourt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
iddycourt's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
283 posts
Aussie Living in UK
[MORE/SHARE]

hey everyone
thanks for the advice, we ran out to PC world, and purchased 2 gig extra ram for my computer. I now have 2.5gig ram to run my laptop, with the option if i ever want to upgrade to a 4 gig i can. they offered to instal the ram for 14 pounds which was kind, but we decided it cant be that hard, and did it ourselves!
so far, everything is running smoothly, so much faster 2!
thanks for the help, now i can edit photos quicker, which means i can actually post some photos soon

Post #13, Jan 05, 2009 10:11:01


Canon EOS 450d, 18-55mm IS, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
cdifoto's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
34,036 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

There you go. :) I'm still impatiently waiting for delivery of my 4GB.

Post #14, Jan 05, 2009 10:12:28


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it hereexternal link. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Very cool! Even with laptops it's not hard to upgrade RAM and hard drives.

We can look back whistfully at a time when photography wasn't married to computer technology, but, ya know, progress marches on:)!

Post #15, Jan 05, 2009 10:14:52


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
6,900 views & 0 likes for this thread
digital photo professional error. Help?!
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00086 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1036 guests, 877 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Chubbyluck

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.