Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Digital Video
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 15th of January 2009 (Thu)   #1
Cameraman1957

Default Wedding Video Questions

I need some opinions of event videograpers. I have been doing wedding videos for close to 20 years. My son is going to get married in Alabama, this summer. I live in Ohio. As the father of the groom, I obviously don't want to be shooting the video, and I'm not sure I even want to take any of my camera operators or equipment down to shoot the wedding. What I would like to do is hire a wedding videographer that is local in Alabama, to shoot the wedding and give me the tapes. I could then do all the edit and production work. Does anyone see a problem with this? Am I going to have problems finding someone willing to do this? Just curious what you all think of my idea.

Also one videographer who my son has found, that they like, shoots at 24p. All of my cameras shoot at 30 fps, so I have never worked with 24 fps. What am I up against? Can I capture this video using either my Sony VX2100 or Canon GL2? Is the edit process the same? I am using Vegas 5 to edit. Can someone please give me some direction?

Thanks for your time.
Cameraman1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of January 2009 (Thu)   #2
PipesInTune

Default Re: Wedding Video Questions

I think if you were as honest as you are in this post, someone would be willing to do it for you. It would be less work for them. If I were on the other end, I'd be willing to do it for another legitimate photographer as a courtesy. I don't think I'd do it for an amateur who just wanted to save a few bucks and edit it themselves, however. It could open up a can 'o worms.
PipesInTune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of January 2009 (Thu)   #3
osv