Thread started 18 Jan 2009 (Sunday) 13:33   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

alvezz
Joined Jan 2009
105 posts
Essex, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

hi,

i am really new to photography and literally have had my 40d (first DSLR) for a few days after a few months looking for an SLR to start me off in the right direction. i have a course in photography booked in april but cant wait until then to start learning. i have really been inspired by some of the photos posted and has given me some good ideas, but really wanted to have a go at bodyscape as it appears to require the least amount of equipment and i have no accessories as i blew my entire budget on the Camera.

Please could anyone help me in how to set up lighting to shoot bodyscape?

i have Canon 40d, 18-55mm kit lens, tripod and a model..........just need a basic set up to start me off so i can trial an error with the shots from there.

any help would be gratfully appreciated !

Alvezz

Post #1, Jan 18, 2009 13:33:06

---------------
Shoot first, ask questions later!
myFlickrexternal link

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Dudley ­ Watson
Hatchling
Joined Jan 2005
6 posts
SW Oregon (Roseburg)
[MORE/SHARE]

Alvezz, you answered you own question. "Trial an error" is one way to learn. If you've never worked with the model before, I suggest a few clothed shots first to get to know each other. PM me at dbphoto@computerconnec​t.net if you have more questions.

Post #2, Feb 01, 2009 19:42:37

Canon Digital Rebel (yup, the origional digital Rebel!)

inthedeck
Cream of the Crop
Joined Sep 2006
11,108 posts
St. Augustine, FL by way of NY.
[MORE/SHARE]

Use window light, since you have nothing but the onboard flash. If she's not around during a day where you are, use a teddy bear by the window, just to check what works best, in terms of exposure, shutter speed, etc. Then, you can use white foamboard to fill in shadows, by reflecting the light from the window, as well.

Enjoy.

Post #3, Feb 02, 2009 13:38:54