compare Jasc paint shop pro vs Adobe Elements 3

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 21 Mar 2005 (Monday) 07:58   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

jackie1
Hatchling
Joined Mar 2005
1 post
georgia
[MORE/SHARE]

What photo editing softwear is recccommended? I am a novice ..1st digitial camera. I am considering Jasc paint shop pro 8 or 9 vs Adobe elements 3.thanks

Post #1, Mar 21, 2005 07:58:04

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Belmondo
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jul 2003
42,727 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

It's going to be hard to find someone able to give a feature-by-feature comparison of these two programs because most people only use one or the other.

Photoshop Elements would be my choice for no other reason than the full version of Photoshop is the almost universally accepted standard for image editing software, and there is a whole industry built around selling books, add-ons, and plugins to enhance the program.

Even in this forum, the vast majority of discussions regarding post-processing revolve around Photoshop. Elements is basically the same as PSCS, with some of the functionality removed. On the other hand, there are more automated features in Elements than in the full version.

It's not unreasonable to say that if you stay involved in digital photography long enough, you'll eventually want to own one version of Photoshop or another. Very likely, you'll end up with the full version (CS), but Elements is a logical step in that progression.

And, it's a heck of a bargain when compared to the cost of the full version, especially considering how much of the useful functionality is offered at roughly 1/6 the price.

Post #2, Mar 21, 2005 08:11:21

I'm not short. I'm concentrated awesome!

rfreschner
ishka bibble
Joined Jan 2005
2,576 posts
Andover, CT...................... Go Red Sox!
[MORE/SHARE]