Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 21st of March 2005 (Mon)   #1
jackie1

Default compare Jasc paint shop pro vs Adobe Elements 3

What photo editing softwear is recccommended? I am a novice ..1st digitial camera. I am considering Jasc paint shop pro 8 or 9 vs Adobe elements 3.thanks
jackie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 21st of March 2005 (Mon)   #2
Belmondo
Cream of the Crop

Default Re: compare Jasc paint shop pro vs Adobe Elements 3

It's going to be hard to find someone able to give a feature-by-feature comparison of these two programs because most people only use one or the other.

Photoshop Elements would be my choice for no other reason than the full version of Photoshop is the almost universally accepted standard for image editing software, and there is a whole industry built around selling books, add-ons, and plugins to enhance the program.

Even in this forum, the vast majority of discussions regarding post-processing revolve around Photoshop. Elements is basically the same as PSCS, with some of the functionality removed. On the other hand, there are more automated features in Elements than in the full version.

It's not unreasonable to say that if you stay involved in digital photography long enough, you'll eventually want to own one version of Photoshop or another. Very likely, you'll end up with the full version (CS), but Elements is a logical step in that progression.

And, it's a heck of a bargain when compared to the cost of the full version, especially considering how much of the useful functionality is offered at roughly 1/6 the price.
Old 21st of March 2005 (Mon)   #3
rfreschner
ishka bibble