Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Astronomy & Celestial Talk
Thread started 04 Feb 2009 (Wednesday) 06:50
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Post Processing blues!!! Ready to call 911

 
bradn801
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
23 posts
Joined Dec 2008
MORE INFO

I guess I am either an idiot or I dont have this tool but how did you select the area around the nebula? I cant weem to find any tools that let you pick an area on the picture? Thanks for the posts by the way Mr. Bailey I apprecaite it more than you know.

Brad

Feb 06, 2009 10:11 as a reply to post 7265733



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
chris.bailey
Goldmember
2,061 posts
Joined Jul 2003

Norwich, Norfolk, UK
MORE INFO

Its not selective, it acts on the whole picture. There is a box marked R/T that gives you a real time preview of what you have done, is that what you mean? You can also zoom in to the histogram in PixInsight. Note that it is quite an extreme Stretch/Mid Tones Transfer as most of the data is in a very narrow portion of the available brightness values.

~chris~

Feb 06, 2009 10:28



LOG IN TO REPLY
bradn801
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
23 posts
Joined Dec 2008
MORE INFO

Yeah I knew about the R/T It just looks like that you were able to select an area that you wanted to edit in your first picture with the histogram. That bubble looking outline in the preview. None of the black outside of it seems to be affected. Everytime I amke a change the whole picture is altered. I noticed when you zoom in with the histogram I assume its in the right corner where teh 1:1 button is..it doesnt let you make changes at the zoomed in level. I dunno ......this is either too sensitve for me or I am a complete moron. I wouldnt think PP would be this difficult to even get a moderate improvement.

Brad

Feb 06, 2009 10:51 as a reply to chris.bailey's post 22 minutes earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
chris.bailey
Goldmember
2,061 posts
Joined Jul 2003

Norwich, Norfolk, UK
MORE INFO

Brad, the bubble is just the fact that the realtime preview is bubble like is due to the fact that it is a low res representation (we are talking a lot of data in one of these images, 60gb Fits files in my case) made worse still by jpg artefacts for posting here. The changes made do effect the whole image. I may well have a darker background than you due to use of a light pollution filter or less light pollution. Just means you wont be able to stretch quite as far. The background should NOT be black. This whole area of Orion is filled with faint nebulosity so even at a very dark site, the background will not be black, probably a faint red but dark grey is good.

You can zoom in (yes the 1:1) and make changes, it is very senstive at 1:1. Remember the LH slider affects the black point, dont move it further than the bottom of the steep part of the histogram. Then move the mid tone carat to the left to somewhere just inside the right hand side of the histogram.

Feb 06, 2009 11:34



LOG IN TO REPLY
bradn801
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
23 posts
Joined Dec 2008
MORE INFO

Well I am getting closer! I have spent more time on this than I did on my resume. Right direction???? Any guidance?

Thanks Chris

Brad

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.
Feb 06, 2009 18:52 as a reply to chris.bailey's post 7 hours earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
chris.bailey
Goldmember
2,061 posts
Joined Jul 2003

Norwich, Norfolk, UK
MORE INFO

Hoorah. Black point looks a little clipped...aim for a dark grey background not black or have you done it to hide general noise in the background. How many subs in that and what length? Did you take some darks?

Feb 07, 2009 02:32



LOG IN TO REPLY
chris.bailey
Goldmember
2,061 posts
Joined Jul 2003

Norwich, Norfolk, UK
MORE INFO

Also try running DSS again with the Per Channel Background Calibration option checked.

Feb 07, 2009 04:15



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,052 views & 0 likes for this thread
Post Processing blues!!! Ready to call 911
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Astronomy & Celestial Talk

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00166 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is joje
601 guests, 544 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015