Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #1
mrgooch
Goldmember
 
mrgooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 2,599
Default P Mode ?

I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?
mrgooch is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #2
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
 
TheHoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 8,804
Default Re: P Mode ?

It stands for Professional mode. Your photos will have more pop and ugly subjects will look more attractive.






(ok really it is for Program -- camera chooses all settings)
__________________
••Vancouver Wedding Photographer ••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image loss
TheHoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #3
jacuff
Goldmember
 
jacuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,581
Default Re: P Mode ?

Actually... it stands for Paydirt! You put your camera into P mode and all of a sudden people want to start paying you to take their picture or pay you for the pictures you took.

No really, It stands for program. It's a full auto mode where you have some control (Exposure Compensation, ISO, Metering Mode, etc).
__________________
Gear, Feedback (eBay), Web, Blog, FB, Twitter
jacuff is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #4
tvphotog
Cream of the Crop
 
tvphotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 5,692
Default Re: P Mode ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHoff View Post
It stands for Professional mode. Your photos will have more pop and ugly subjects will look more attractive.
LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgooch View Post
I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?
Not laughing at you, just the comment. P mode is handy to get programmed exposure time and aperture settings quickly. Once you get good at it, try A mode to set fstop and depth of field and play with the shutter speeds and ISO settings.
__________________
Jay
"Ireland in Word and Image" Jay Ben Images 5D III | 5D II | 7D | Powershot S100 | 24-105L | 100-400L | 16-35 f/2.8L II | 24 T/S f /3.5L II | 17 T/S f/4L | 50mm f/1.2L| 35mm f/1.4L | 580 EX II | 600 EX-RT | Feisol 3441T/Markins lever QR | Gitzo 3542L | Gitzo 5561T

Last edited by tvphotog : 5th of February 2009 (Thu) at 12:01.
tvphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #5
Sean
Senior Member
 
Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: P Mode ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgooch View Post
I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?
It picks the aperture and shutter speed to get a "perfectly" exposed picture. It's like the Green Box, but less restrictive. It's ok in a pinch.
__________________
Canon 50D - 17-55mm F2.8 IS - 300mm F4L IS - 70-200mm F4L IS - 50mm F1.8 - 580EX II & 430EX - Full Gear Listing
Flickr - C&C Always welcome.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #6
John_B
Cream of the Crop
 
John_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 6,741
Default Re: P Mode ?

mrgooch,
I thought it stands for Pathetic <-- kidding of course
It sets the aperture and the shutter speed for you, but humans are smarter (so far) over camera computers so it might not be the best setting
John_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #7
mrgooch
Goldmember
 
mrgooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 2,599
Default Re: P Mode ?

Does't the M [manual mode ] do the same?
mrgooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #8
Michael_Lambert
-ColdMember-
 
Michael_Lambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bradford, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,426
Default Re: P Mode ?

M - Makes you set everything does not give you advice.

P - Gives the suggestions just like Auto but lets you override the suggestions..
Michael_Lambert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #9
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 8,815
Default Re: P Mode ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgooch View Post
Does't the M [manual mode ] do the same?
No, in Manual mode, the user sets everything--aperture, shutter speed, etc.
timnosenzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #10
John_B
Cream of the Crop
 
John_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 6,741
Default Re: P Mode ?

mrgooch,
No, M is manual where you have to set the shutter speed and the aperture, the camera doesn't.
John_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #11
mrgooch
Goldmember
 
mrgooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 2,599
Default Re: P Mode ?

I've got it now.Thanks.
mrgooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #12
syntrix
Goldmember
 
syntrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 2,031
Thumbs up Re: P Mode ?

I only use it when I'm making Pasta.
__________________
moew!!!!!
syntrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #13
tempest68
Member
 
tempest68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester, PA
Posts: 955
Default Re: P Mode ?

The other difference between Full Auto and Program mode is that Full-Auto will pop up the flash for you if it thinks that is needed. Program mode does not.
__________________
Jim

Canon: 5D II, EOS 3, 24-70mm L f2.8, 40mm f2.8 STM, 85mm f1.8 USM, 430 EX II. Leica: M8. Voigtlander: 28mm F2.8 SL II, Nokton 40mm f1.4.
Nikon: SB-25. Yongnuo: YN565EX, YN-622C transceiver (x2)
tempest68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #14
CyberPet
Hiding Under a Rock
 
CyberPet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piteå, Sweden
Posts: 4,052
Default Re: P Mode ?

P-mode can sometimes work better if you work with fill light with the flash... but just sometimes.

Like someone said, it's almost like the green box, but it allows you to change the ISO, change the Aperture and Shutter speed on the go (but it'll change back to it's own settings again - except the ISO), plus it lets you control if you want the flash or not. The green box does all the thinking for you.
__________________
/Petra Hall
Click here to view my geeky gear list
I shoot as much as possible in available light... sometimes, my flash is available – Joe Buissink
CyberPet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of February 2009 (Thu)   #15
rowdyred94
Senior Member
 
rowdyred94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Cloud, MN, USA
Posts: 1,926
Default Re: P Mode ?

I've found no use for it, either. Why not use Av (or Tv, in the case of sports, etc.)? At least you're taking control of depth of field (or motion blur).
__________________
-Clint

..:: Canon EOS 30D :: Canon 18-135 IS & 50 f/1.4 & 70-200 f/4L :: SPEEDLITE 580EX & 430EX :: Kenko tubes :: PowerShot G3 ::..
rowdyred94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AF Servo in Av mode (RAW) vs pre-programmed sports mode on 450D nik.hisham Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 10th of December 2008 (Wed) 22:01
Question about exposure when shooting sports in Manual mode (vs. Av mode) HarrisonClicks Sports Talk 11 24th of September 2008 (Wed) 20:56
30D Focus mode & Metering mode advice... theboyk Canon EOS Digital Cameras 5 27th of March 2008 (Thu) 10:28
How Do I turn the flash off (Canon 20d) in AUTO mode? P mode?M mode? taoscowgirls Canon EOS Digital Cameras 6 5th of May 2006 (Fri) 07:08
Does camera in Tv mode and flash in manual mode make sense? dphoto Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 28th of September 2004 (Tue) 18:18


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.