LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


P Mode ?

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 05 Feb 2009 (Thursday) 11:35   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
mrgooch
Goldmember
mrgooch's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
2,630 posts
Toms River NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?

Post #1, Feb 05, 2009 11:35:23



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
TheHoff's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,804 posts
Vancouver, BC
[MORE/SHARE]

It stands for Professional mode. Your photos will have more pop and ugly subjects will look more attractive.

(ok really it is for Program -- camera chooses all settings)

Post #2, Feb 05, 2009 11:39:18


••Vancouver Wedding Photographer external link••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image lossexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jacuff
Goldmember
jacuff's Avatar
Joined Apr 2008
2,581 posts
Knoxville, TN
[MORE/SHARE]

Actually... it stands for Paydirt! You put your camera into P mode and all of a sudden people want to start paying you to take their picture or pay you for the pictures you took.

No really, It stands for program. It's a full auto mode where you have some control (Exposure Compensation, ISO, Metering Mode, etc).

Post #3, Feb 05, 2009 11:42:22


Gear, Feedback (eBayexternal link), Webexternal link, Blogexternal link, FBexternal link, Twitterexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
tvphotog
Cream of the Crop
tvphotog's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
5,785 posts
New York City
[MORE/SHARE]

TheHoff wrote in post #7260354external link
It stands for Professional mode. Your photos will have more pop and ugly subjects will look more attractive.

LOL:)

mrgooch wrote in post #7260320external link
I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?

Not laughing at you, just the comment. P mode is handy to get programmed exposure time and aperture settings quickly. Once you get good at it, try A mode to set fstop and depth of field and play with the shutter speeds and ISO settings.

Post #4, Feb 05, 2009 11:43:25


Jay
Ireland in Word and Imageexternal link Jay Ben Imagesexternal link5D III | 5D II | 7D | Powershot S100 | 24-105L | 100-400L | 16-35 f/2.8 IIL | 24 T/S f /3.5L II | 17 T/S f/4L | 50mm f/1.2L | 35mm f/1.4L | 580 EX II | 600 EX-RT | Feisol 3441T/Markins Q3T lever QR | Gitzo 3542L Markins Qi20 BV-22 screw clamp | Gitzo 5561T RRS MH-02 head

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sean
Goldmember
Sean's Avatar
Joined Apr 2008
1,714 posts
Ottawa, Ontario
[MORE/SHARE]

mrgooch wrote in post #7260320external link
I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?

It picks the aperture and shutter speed to get a "perfectly" exposed picture. It's like the Green Box, but less restrictive. It's ok in a pinch.

Post #5, Feb 05, 2009 11:47:54


Canon 50D - 17-55mm F2.8 IS - 300mm F4L IS - 70-200mm F4L IS - 50mm F1.8 - 580EX II & 430EX - Full Gear Listing
Flickrexternal link - C&C Always welcome.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
John_B
Cream of the Crop
John_B's Avatar
Joined Sep 2006
6,753 posts
Hawaii
[MORE/SHARE]

mrgooch,
I thought it stands for Pathetic <-- kidding of course :lol:
It sets the aperture and the shutter speed for you, but humans are smarter (so far) over camera computers so it might not be the best setting ;)

Post #6, Feb 05, 2009 11:48:40


60D, 40D, Lenses and Accessories & DMC-ZS40 <-- click to seeexternal link
JohnBdigital.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mrgooch
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
mrgooch's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
2,630 posts
Toms River NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

Does't the M [manual mode] do the same?

Post #7, Feb 05, 2009 11:51:13 as a reply to John_B's post 2 minutes earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
Michael_Lambert
-ColdMember-
Michael_Lambert's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
2,426 posts
Bradford, Ontario, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

M - Makes you set everything does not give you advice.

P - Gives the suggestions just like Auto but lets you override the suggestions..

Post #8, Feb 05, 2009 11:53:31


My Canon Gear
Michael Lambert Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
Joined Sep 2005
8,816 posts
CT
[MORE/SHARE]

mrgooch wrote in post #7260446external link
Does't the M [manual mode] do the same?

No, in Manual mode, the user sets everything--aperture, shutter speed, etc.

Post #9, Feb 05, 2009 11:53:31


connecticut wedding photographerexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
John_B
Cream of the Crop
John_B's Avatar
Joined Sep 2006
6,753 posts
Hawaii
[MORE/SHARE]

mrgooch,
No, M is manual where you have to set the shutter speed and the aperture, the camera doesn't.

Post #10, Feb 05, 2009 11:53:42


60D, 40D, Lenses and Accessories & DMC-ZS40 <-- click to seeexternal link
JohnBdigital.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mrgooch
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
mrgooch's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
2,630 posts
Toms River NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

I've got it now.Thanks.

Post #11, Feb 05, 2009 11:54:55 as a reply to John_B's post 1 minute earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
syntrix
Goldmember
syntrix's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
2,031 posts
Little Rock, AR
[MORE/SHARE]

I only use it when I'm making Pasta.

Post #12, Feb 05, 2009 12:20:02 as a reply to mrgooch's post 25 minutes earlier.


moew!!!!!

LOG IN TO REPLY
tempest68
Senior Member
tempest68's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
955 posts
Manchester, PA
[MORE/SHARE]

The other difference between Full Auto and Program mode is that Full-Auto will pop up the flash for you if it thinks that is needed. Program mode does not.

Post #13, Feb 05, 2009 12:30:21


Jim
Canon: 5D II, EOS 3, 24-70mm L f2.8, 40mm f2.8 STM, 85mm f1.8 USM, 430 EX II. Leica: M8. Voigtlander: 28mm F2.8 SL II, Nokton 40mm f1.4.
Nikon: SB-25. Yongnuo: YN565EX, YN-622C transceiver (x2)

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberPet
Hiding Under a Rock
CyberPet's Avatar
Joined May 2005
4,052 posts
Piteå, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

P-mode can sometimes work better if you work with fill light with the flash... but just sometimes.

Like someone said, it's almost like the green box, but it allows you to change the ISO, change the Aperture and Shutter speed on the go (but it'll change back to it's own settings again - except the ISO), plus it lets you control if you want the flash or not. The green box does all the thinking for you.

Post #14, Feb 05, 2009 12:45:58


/Petra Hall
Click here to view my geeky gear list
I shoot as much as possible in available light... sometimes, my flash is available – Joe Buissink

LOG IN TO REPLY
rowdyred94
Goldmember
rowdyred94's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
1,926 posts
St. Cloud, MN, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

I've found no use for it, either. Why not use Av (or Tv, in the case of sports, etc.)? At least you're taking control of depth of field (or motion blur).

Post #15, Feb 05, 2009 14:27:55


-Clint
..:: Canon EOS 30D :: Canon 18-135 IS & 50 f/1.4 & 70-200 f/4L :: SPEEDLITE 580EX & 430EX :: Kenko tubes :: PowerShot G3 ::..

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
31,355 views & 0 likes for this thread
P Mode ?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00083 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
819 guests, 598 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is N4Ld3

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.