Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 05 Feb 2009 (Thursday) 11:35
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

P Mode ?

 
mrgooch
Goldmember
mrgooch's Avatar
2,718 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Toms River NJ
Feb 05, 2009 11:35 |  #1

I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
TheHoff's Avatar
8,804 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Vancouver, BC
Feb 05, 2009 11:39 |  #2

It stands for Professional mode. Your photos will have more pop and ugly subjects will look more attractive.

(ok really it is for Program -- camera chooses all settings)


••Vancouver Wedding Photographer external link••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image lossexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jacuff
Goldmember
jacuff's Avatar
2,581 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Knoxville, TN
Feb 05, 2009 11:42 |  #3

Actually... it stands for Paydirt! You put your camera into P mode and all of a sudden people want to start paying you to take their picture or pay you for the pictures you took.

No really, It stands for program. It's a full auto mode where you have some control (Exposure Compensation, ISO, Metering Mode, etc).


Gear, Feedback (eBayexternal link), Webexternal link, Blogexternal link, FBexternal link, Twitterexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
tvphotog
Cream of the Crop
tvphotog's Avatar
6,082 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2007
New York City
Feb 05, 2009 11:43 |  #4

TheHoff wrote in post #7260354external link
It stands for Professional mode. Your photos will have more pop and ugly subjects will look more attractive.

LOL:)

mrgooch wrote in post #7260320external link
I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?

Not laughing at you, just the comment. P mode is handy to get programmed exposure time and aperture settings quickly. Once you get good at it, try A mode to set fstop and depth of field and play with the shutter speeds and ISO settings.


Jay
Ireland in Word and Image (external link) Jay Ben Images (external link)5D III | 5DS/R | Powershot S100 | 24-105L | 100-400 IIL | 16-35 f/2.8 IIL | 24 T/S f /3.5L II | 17 T/S f/4L | 50mm f/1.2L | 35mm f/1.4L | 70-200 f/2.8L II | 580 EX II | 600 EX-RT | Feisol 3441T/Markins Q3T lever QR | Gitzo 3542L Markins Qi20 BV-22 | Gitzo 5561T RRS MH-02

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sean
Goldmember
Sean's Avatar
1,714 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Ottawa, Ontario
Feb 05, 2009 11:47 |  #5

mrgooch wrote in post #7260320external link
I am not sure of the use of the P mode on the dial. I know what the manual mode is but how does it differ?

It picks the aperture and shutter speed to get a "perfectly" exposed picture. It's like the Green Box, but less restrictive. It's ok in a pinch.


Canon 50D - 17-55mm F2.8 IS - 300mm F4L IS - 70-200mm F4L IS - 50mm F1.8 - 580EX II & 430EX - Full Gear Listing
Flickrexternal link - C&C Always welcome.

LOG IN TO REPLY
John_B
Cream of the Crop
John_B's Avatar
Joined Sep 2006
Hawaii
Feb 05, 2009 11:48 |  #6

mrgooch,
I thought it stands for Pathetic <-- kidding of course :lol:
It sets the aperture and the shutter speed for you, but humans are smarter (so far) over camera computers so it might not be the best setting ;)


A6000, 60D, 40D, Lenses and Accessories & DMC-ZS40 <-- click to seeexternal link
JohnBdigital.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mrgooch
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
mrgooch's Avatar
2,718 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Toms River NJ
Feb 05, 2009 11:51 as a reply to John_B's post |  #7

Does't the M [manual mode] do the same?



LOG IN TO REPLY
Michael_Lambert
-ColdMember-
Michael_Lambert's Avatar
2,426 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Bradford, Ontario, Canada
Feb 05, 2009 11:53 |  #8

M - Makes you set everything does not give you advice.

P - Gives the suggestions just like Auto but lets you override the suggestions..


My Canon Gear
Michael Lambert Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
8,816 posts
Joined Sep 2005
CT
Feb 05, 2009 11:53 |  #9

mrgooch wrote in post #7260446external link
Does't the M [manual mode] do the same?

No, in Manual mode, the user sets everything--aperture, shutter speed, etc.


connecticut wedding photographerexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
John_B
Cream of the Crop
John_B's Avatar
Joined Sep 2006
Hawaii
Feb 05, 2009 11:53 |  #10

mrgooch,
No, M is manual where you have to set the shutter speed and the aperture, the camera doesn't.


A6000, 60D, 40D, Lenses and Accessories & DMC-ZS40 <-- click to seeexternal link
JohnBdigital.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mrgooch
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
mrgooch's Avatar
2,718 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Toms River NJ
Feb 05, 2009 11:54 as a reply to John_B's post |  #11

I've got it now.Thanks.



LOG IN TO REPLY
syntrix
Goldmember
syntrix's Avatar
2,031 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Little Rock, AR
Feb 05, 2009 12:20 as a reply to mrgooch's post |  #12

I only use it when I'm making Pasta.


moew!!!!!

LOG IN TO REPLY
tempest68
Senior Member
tempest68's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
Manchester, PA
Feb 05, 2009 12:30 |  #13

The other difference between Full Auto and Program mode is that Full-Auto will pop up the flash for you if it thinks that is needed. Program mode does not.


Jim
Canon: 5D II, EOS 3, 40mm f2.8 STM, 85mm f1.8 USM, 430 EX II. Voigtlander: 28mm F2.8 SL II, Nokton 40mm f1.4.
Nikon: SB-25. Yongnuo: YN565EX, YN-622C transceiver (x2)
Sony: a6000, 20mm f2.8, 50mm f1.8, Nissin i40.

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberPet
Hiding Under a Rock
CyberPet's Avatar
4,052 posts
Joined May 2005
Piteå, Sweden
Feb 05, 2009 12:45 |  #14

P-mode can sometimes work better if you work with fill light with the flash... but just sometimes.

Like someone said, it's almost like the green box, but it allows you to change the ISO, change the Aperture and Shutter speed on the go (but it'll change back to it's own settings again - except the ISO), plus it lets you control if you want the flash or not. The green box does all the thinking for you.


/Petra Hall
Click here to view my geeky gear list
I shoot as much as possible in available light... sometimes, my flash is available – Joe Buissink

LOG IN TO REPLY
rowdyred94
Goldmember
rowdyred94's Avatar
1,938 posts
Joined Mar 2005
St. Cloud, MN, USA
Feb 05, 2009 14:27 |  #15

I've found no use for it, either. Why not use Av (or Tv, in the case of sports, etc.)? At least you're taking control of depth of field (or motion blur).


~ Clint :: Galleriesexternal link :: Marketplace Feedbackexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

34,924 views & 0 likes for this thread
P Mode ?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00081 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Faridkothhml
834 guests, 575 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015