Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 22 Feb 2009 (Sunday) 13:37
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Cyber Sync with 430EX and 580EX?

CanonLaw
633 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Tacoma
Feb 22, 2009 13:37 |  #1

I have two flashes, a 580EX and 430EX. I would like to start using them both off camera with some Cyber Syncs, but they have different power outputs. If I do this, should I just set the 580 down a stop or two to bring it to the level of the 430? My main goal is to light group shots using the two flashes off camera.

I am pretty new to this, so I was just wondering about how to effectively use the two lights I already have.

I have watched the Strobist DVD, but he never addressed using two light of different power together like this.

sponsored links
40Dude6aedyk
Goldmember
1,064 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Feb 22, 2009 14:22 |  #2

When using radio-triggers like CSs your speedlites will be set to manual flash output. I suggest you experiment to see what manual flash output you like. I cannot imagine how a "rule of thumb" would work as a rule of thumb. Different situations will call for different settings.

Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs

tim
Light Bringer
50,867 posts
Joined Nov 2004
Wellington, New Zealand
Feb 22, 2009 19:46 |  #3