Senior Portrait Contract

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography
Thread started 01 Mar 2009 (Sunday) 09:54   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

lburnell
Joined Jun 2005
59 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have been doing high school seniors for a few years now and have all ways required 50% of the cost when I do the shoot and the remaining 50% when I give the client the proofs ( around 1 to 2 weeks). This has worked fine until this year, 95% of my clients this year have taken over a month to pick up there proofs and some as long as 3 months.

I am thinking of changing my contract to require 50% at the time of booking and the balance at the time of the shoot.

Can others tell me how they do it and what problems if any I may have with this change.

Thank You
Lance

Post #1, Mar 01, 2009 09:54:01

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
lburnell
THREAD ­ STARTER
Joined Jun 2005
59 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Wow no one has any input or opinion on this subject?

Post #2, Mar 01, 2009 19:51:16

Big ­ O
Joined Mar 2007
228 posts
The Great State of Wyoming
[MORE/SHARE]

Why wouldn't they pick up the proofs in a timely fashion?

Post #3, Mar 01, 2009 19:57:18

don't act like you're not impressed ...

My arsenal: XT (canon gripped) | 70-210 canon | 18-55 canon| Protected by Pelican

lburnell
THREAD ­ STARTER
Joined Jun 2005
59 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Big O, because they do not have the money to pay the balance due. I understand times are tough but most of them do not even return phone calls.

Post #4, Mar 01, 2009 23:23:13 as a reply to Big O's post 3 hours earlier.

Jimconnerphoto
Goldmember
Joined Feb 2008
2,159 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

I am sure you are right, it is probably due to the economy.
I assume these are non-contract?
Changing your payment terms will not, in the long run, change the amount of money your clients have. Being accommodating and allowing time for proof viewing may just save the sale initially.