Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > The Business of Photography
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 1st of March 2009 (Sun)   #1
lburnell

Default Senior Portrait Contract

I have been doing high school seniors for a few years now and have all ways required 50% of the cost when I do the shoot and the remaining 50% when I give the client the proofs ( around 1 to 2 weeks). This has worked fine until this year, 95% of my clients this year have taken over a month to pick up there proofs and some as long as 3 months.

I am thinking of changing my contract to require 50% at the time of booking and the balance at the time of the shoot.

Can others tell me how they do it and what problems if any I may have with this change.

Thank You
Lance

Last edited by lburnell : 1st of March 2009 (Sun) at 10:59.
lburnell is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of March 2009 (Sun)   #2
lburnell

Default Re: Senior Portrait Contract

Wow no one has any input or opinion on this subject?
Old 1st of March 2009 (Sun)   #3
Big O

Why wouldn't they pick up the proofs in a timely fashion?

My arsenal: XT (canon gripped) | 70-210 canon | 18-55 canon| Protected by Pelican
Big O is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of March 2009 (Sun)   #4
lburnell

Big O, because they do not have the money to pay the balance due. I understand times are tough but most of them do not even return phone calls.
Old 1st of March 2009 (Sun)   #5
Jimconnerphoto
Goldmember

I am sure you are right, it is probably due to the economy.
I assume these are non-contract?
Changing your payment terms will not, in the long run, change the amount of money your clients have. Being accommodating and allowing time for proof viewing may just save the sale initially.