Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 11 Mar 2009 (Wednesday) 15:21
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Photographing a protrait with a computer monitor in the background

 
tmoore99
Member
Avatar
79 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Huntsville/Madison, AL
     
Mar 11, 2009 15:21 |  #1

I've got to shoot a businessman at his desk with his monitor in the background. I assume he'll have his company website on screen, or maybe he just wants to look like he's working hard on a spreadsheet. Regardless, "with a computer screen in the background" is one of the requirements on the assignment form.

Can I get a good shot using...
a) shutter speed matching refresh rate
b) slow shutter in the 1/4 - 1/2 second range
c) it's more complicated than that

Your experience would be appreciated.
Thanks!


Tom
(a bunch of gear that's better than me)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gjl711
They have pills for that now you know.
Avatar
53,891 posts
Likes: 1495
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Mar 11, 2009 15:25 |  #2

What kind of monitor? The old tube ones if shot slower than refresh you'll get a good pic. The LCD ones are a bit more forgiving as latency is much longer. Experiment a little and see what works.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tmoore99
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
79 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Huntsville/Madison, AL
     
Mar 11, 2009 15:29 |  #3

gjl711 wrote in post #7503721 (external link)
What kind of monitor?

I won't know till I get there, but the event is celebrating a new office opening and there's an emphasis on being tech savvy, so I'm betting on a flat panel LCD.


Tom
(a bunch of gear that's better than me)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
They have pills for that now you know.
Avatar
53,891 posts
Likes: 1495
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Mar 11, 2009 15:30 |  #4

I'm guessing that if you shoot at 1/60 you'll be safe.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hermes
Goldmember
2,375 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: London, UK
     
Mar 11, 2009 15:33 |  #5

If you need to, set up the shot on a tripod to keep the framing consistent - that way you can take separate exposures to get the screen just right and comp it into the final portrait.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Cromfel
Member
46 posts
Joined Feb 2009
     
Mar 11, 2009 15:42 as a reply to  @ Hermes's post |  #6

Shut down the monitor and photoshop screencapture of the desired content into it. If you want reflections of surrounding just use layer of the original screen with like 10% opacity and none will see the difference, and it will give natural feeling for the photoshopped content on the display.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
They have pills for that now you know.
Avatar
53,891 posts
Likes: 1495
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Mar 11, 2009 19:44 |  #7

I really don't think you have to get so complicated as to photoshop in a screen. Flat screens photograph very nicely as is unless they have a a glossy surface or if they are turned at quite an angle the the plane of the sensor. Shoot 1/60 and make sure that the monitor is relatively pointed at the camera and things should be fine.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,185 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2038
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Mar 11, 2009 19:56 |  #8

Shoot 1/60 and make sure that the monitor is relatively pointed at the camera and things should be fine.

Won't that only get one field of scan lines? Try 1/30 too, & see what you get. Film is cheap.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tomi ­ Hawk
Goldmember
Avatar
1,675 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 205
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Sin City, Vegas
     
Mar 11, 2009 19:59 |  #9

gjl711 wrote in post #7503770 (external link)
I'm guessing that if you shoot at 1/60 you'll be safe.

Yep .. I'd even go to 1/30th on a tri-pod ..

If you can bounce your lights and match any ambient light there might be ..
that would look cool too .. ;)


  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
Avatar
7,693 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
     
Mar 11, 2009 19:59 |  #10

Piece of cake!

http://strobist.blogsp​ot.com …dealing-with-tvs-and.html (external link)


This space for rent.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
Avatar
8,804 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Mar 11, 2009 20:04 |  #11

Cromfel wrote in post #7503866 (external link)
Shut down the monitor and photoshop screencapture of the desired content into it. If you want reflections of surrounding just use layer of the original screen with like 10% opacity and none will see the difference, and it will give natural feeling for the photoshopped content on the display.

bingo.


••Vancouver Wedding Photographer  (external link)••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image loss (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
They have pills for that now you know.
Avatar
53,891 posts
Likes: 1495
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Mar 11, 2009 20:27 |  #12

PhotosGuy wrote in post #7505539 (external link)
Won't that only get one field of scan lines? Try 1/30 too, & see what you get. Film is cheap.

Computer monitors do not interlace, and plat screens have very high latency, even the fancy new ones.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rdenney
Rick "who is not suited for any one title" Denney
2,399 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2003
     
Mar 11, 2009 20:28 |  #13

Standard television refreshes alternating lines on the screen 30 times a second. You need a shutter speed at least as slow at 1/15 not to show scan artifacts. Computer monitors usually refresh the entire screen 60-72 times a second. 1/30 should be fine there. LCD's are not a problem at any useful shutter speed, by my experience, because they stay lit between refreshes pretty well. I had my 10D here at the office, and enough battery for one shot and a quick chimp. 1/125 of my laptop screen showed no issue at all.

Rick "and you can meter the screen normally" Denney


The List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
Avatar
7,693 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
     
Mar 11, 2009 20:32 |  #14

This strobist post is titled "dealing with tvs and crts."

ON TOPIC?

Yes, I am repeating myself.

http://strobist.blogsp​ot.com …dealing-with-tvs-and.html (external link)


This space for rent.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tmoore99
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
79 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Huntsville/Madison, AL
     
Mar 11, 2009 22:42 |  #15

mattograph wrote in post #7505736 (external link)
This strobist post is titled "dealing with tvs and crts."

ON TOPIC?

Yes, I am repeating myself.

http://strobist.blogsp​ot.com …dealing-with-tvs-and.html (external link)

Excellent. Thanks Matt. Although I'll likely be seeing a flat panel LCD, the tips there were dead on for exposure consideration. Low ambient light proved to be very important.
I just did some test shots with my home LCD monitor. At SS 1/125 and slower the screen didn't show any indication of flicker. However, I had to get much slower for it to be sufficiently bright; essentially exposing for the monitor alone as a self illuminating subject (which doesn't benefit from flash) and letting the bounce flash compensate nicely for everything else.
Spinning the wheels of exposure, my test led me to 1/15 (as slow as I want to get with a human subject that needs to be sharp), f5.6 (biggest I can get and still have some DOF), and ISO 200 to fine tune the monitor exposure. How does that sound?


Tom
(a bunch of gear that's better than me)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,318 views & 0 likes for this thread
Photographing a protrait with a computer monitor in the background
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is mason.snipes
612 guests, 398 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.