LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Photographing a protrait with a computer monitor in the background

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk
Thread started 11 Mar 2009 (Wednesday) 15:21   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
tmoore99
Member
tmoore99's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
76 posts
Huntsville/Madison, AL
[MORE/SHARE]

I've got to shoot a businessman at his desk with his monitor in the background. I assume he'll have his company website on screen, or maybe he just wants to look like he's working hard on a spreadsheet. Regardless, "with a computer screen in the background" is one of the requirements on the assignment form.

Can I get a good shot using...
a) shutter speed matching refresh rate
b) slow shutter in the 1/4 - 1/2 second range
c) it's more complicated than that

Your experience would be appreciated.
Thanks!

Post #1, Mar 11, 2009 15:21:43


Tom
5D, Rok85mm f/1.4, 135L, 24-70 f/2.8L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, G15

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
gjl711's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
48,201 posts
Deep in the heart of Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

What kind of monitor? The old tube ones if shot slower than refresh you'll get a good pic. The LCD ones are a bit more forgiving as latency is much longer. Experiment a little and see what works.

Post #2, Mar 11, 2009 15:25:27


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::external link
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
tmoore99
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
tmoore99's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
76 posts
Huntsville/Madison, AL
[MORE/SHARE]

gjl711 wrote in post #7503721external link
What kind of monitor?

I won't know till I get there, but the event is celebrating a new office opening and there's an emphasis on being tech savvy, so I'm betting on a flat panel LCD.

Post #3, Mar 11, 2009 15:29:20


Tom
5D, Rok85mm f/1.4, 135L, 24-70 f/2.8L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, G15

LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
gjl711's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
48,201 posts
Deep in the heart of Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

I'm guessing that if you shoot at 1/60 you'll be safe.

Post #4, Mar 11, 2009 15:30:11


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::external link
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
Hermes
Goldmember
Joined Mar 2006
2,375 posts
London, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

If you need to, set up the shot on a tripod to keep the framing consistent - that way you can take separate exposures to get the screen just right and comp it into the final portrait.

Post #5, Mar 11, 2009 15:33:32




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Cromfel
Member
Joined Feb 2009
46 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Shut down the monitor and photoshop screencapture of the desired content into it. If you want reflections of surrounding just use layer of the original screen with like 10% opacity and none will see the difference, and it will give natural feeling for the photoshopped content on the display.

Post #6, Mar 11, 2009 15:42:01 as a reply to Hermes's post 8 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
gjl711's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
48,201 posts
Deep in the heart of Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

I really don't think you have to get so complicated as to photoshop in a screen. Flat screens photograph very nicely as is unless they have a a glossy surface or if they are turned at quite an angle the the plane of the sensor. Shoot 1/60 and make sure that the monitor is relatively pointed at the camera and things should be fine.

Post #7, Mar 11, 2009 19:44:04


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::external link
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
PhotosGuy's Avatar
Joined Feb 2004
69,108 posts
S. E. Michigan
[MORE/SHARE]

Shoot 1/60 and make sure that the monitor is relatively pointed at the camera and things should be fine.

Won't that only get one field of scan lines? Try 1/30 too, & see what you get. Film is cheap.

Post #8, Mar 11, 2009 19:56:50


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tomi ­ Hawk
Goldmember
Tomi Hawk's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
1,515 posts
Sin City, Vegas
[MORE/SHARE]

gjl711 wrote in post #7503770external link
I'm guessing that if you shoot at 1/60 you'll be safe.

Yep .. I'd even go to 1/30th on a tri-pod ..

If you can bounce your lights and match any ambient light there might be ..
that would look cool too .. ;)

Post #9, Mar 11, 2009 19:59:23


LOG IN TO REPLY
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
mattograph's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
7,691 posts
Louisville, KY
[MORE/SHARE]

Piece of cake!

http://strobist.blogsp​ot.com ...dealing-with-tvs-and.htmlexternal link

Post #10, Mar 11, 2009 19:59:42


This space for rent.

LOG IN TO REPLY
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
TheHoff's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,804 posts
Vancouver, BC
[MORE/SHARE]

Cromfel wrote in post #7503866external link
Shut down the monitor and photoshop screencapture of the desired content into it. If you want reflections of surrounding just use layer of the original screen with like 10% opacity and none will see the difference, and it will give natural feeling for the photoshopped content on the display.

bingo.

Post #11, Mar 11, 2009 20:04:54


••Vancouver Wedding Photographer external link••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image lossexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
gjl711's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
48,201 posts
Deep in the heart of Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

PhotosGuy wrote in post #7505539external link
Won't that only get one field of scan lines? Try 1/30 too, & see what you get. Film is cheap.

Computer monitors do not interlace, and plat screens have very high latency, even the fancy new ones.

Post #12, Mar 11, 2009 20:27:07


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::external link
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
rdenney
Rick "who is not suited for any one title" Denney
Joined Jun 2003
2,399 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Standard television refreshes alternating lines on the screen 30 times a second. You need a shutter speed at least as slow at 1/15 not to show scan artifacts. Computer monitors usually refresh the entire screen 60-72 times a second. 1/30 should be fine there. LCD's are not a problem at any useful shutter speed, by my experience, because they stay lit between refreshes pretty well. I had my 10D here at the office, and enough battery for one shot and a quick chimp. 1/125 of my laptop screen showed no issue at all.

Rick "and you can meter the screen normally" Denney

Post #13, Mar 11, 2009 20:28:46


The List

LOG IN TO REPLY
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
mattograph's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
7,691 posts
Louisville, KY
[MORE/SHARE]

This strobist post is titled "dealing with tvs and crts."

ON TOPIC?

Yes, I am repeating myself.

http://strobist.blogsp​ot.com ...dealing-with-tvs-and.htmlexternal link

Post #14, Mar 11, 2009 20:32:52


This space for rent.

LOG IN TO REPLY
tmoore99
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
tmoore99's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
76 posts
Huntsville/Madison, AL
[MORE/SHARE]

mattograph wrote in post #7505736external link
This strobist post is titled "dealing with tvs and crts."

ON TOPIC?

Yes, I am repeating myself.

http://strobist.blogsp​ot.com ...dealing-with-tvs-and.htmlexternal link

Excellent. Thanks Matt. Although I'll likely be seeing a flat panel LCD, the tips there were dead on for exposure consideration. Low ambient light proved to be very important.
I just did some test shots with my home LCD monitor. At SS 1/125 and slower the screen didn't show any indication of flicker. However, I had to get much slower for it to be sufficiently bright; essentially exposing for the monitor alone as a self illuminating subject (which doesn't benefit from flash) and letting the bounce flash compensate nicely for everything else.
Spinning the wheels of exposure, my test led me to 1/15 (as slow as I want to get with a human subject that needs to be sharp), f5.6 (biggest I can get and still have some DOF), and ISO 200 to fine tune the monitor exposure. How does that sound?

Post #15, Mar 11, 2009 22:42:15


Tom
5D, Rok85mm f/1.4, 135L, 24-70 f/2.8L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, G15

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,221 views & 0 likes for this thread
Photographing a protrait with a computer monitor in the background
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00089 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
837 guests, 536 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is g1en

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.