Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 04 Apr 2005 (Monday) 22:45
PREV/NEXT

Hot pixels? Please help me diagnose a problem with my Rebel XT

 
nater
Member
nater's Avatar
201 posts

Joined Mar 2005

Chicagoland
MORE INFO

Hello everybody. I've been playing around with my new Rebel XT from Dell, and I decided to try testing for hot/dead pixels. I took 1- and 30-second exposures with the lens cap on, and found one dead pixel (white) and one or a couple hot pixels (blue). Then I took some pics of my white walls, and found much more interesting results. In the resized example pic below, you can identify 40+ dark spots.

Are these hot/dead pixels? If so, why did only a couple show up in the lens-capped pictures?

I know what the problem is not. It is not my lens (problem happens with both of my lenses), or my walls (identical pattern of spots appears when photographing various white walls and ceiling).

Does anyone have thoughts? It seems like a significant problem to me, so I'm planning to call Dell tomorrow and ask for a replacement. Is there something I'm missing? Thanks for any help...

- Nate

(edit: the quality of my uploaded pic is quite diminished, but you can still see the strange dark spots I'm referring to)

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

Apr 04, 2005 22:45

Canon 70D || Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 || Canon 17-55 f/2.8 IS || Canon 24-105 f/4L || Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS || Sigma 30 f/1.4 || Canon 50 f/1.4 || Canon 85 f/1.8 || Canon 60 f/2.8 Macro || Rokinon 8 f/3.5 fisheye
Feisol CT-3401N Tripod || Kirk BH-3 Ballhead
Buy & Sell Feedback: POTN || FredMirandaexternal link || ebayexternal link ~~~ Pro tip: Separate focus from shutterexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Dante ­ King
"Cream of Corn" BurgerMeister
Dante King's Avatar
9,134 posts

Joined Jan 2005

San Anselmo, California
MORE INFO

looks like a dirty sensor. If so its easily fixed by blowing (rocket blower or the like) or a cleaning outlined in many threads on this forum.

Apr 04, 2005 22:49

Dante
I am not an Lcoholic. Lcoholics go to meetings!
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
ssim
POTN Landscape & Cityscape Photographer 2005
ssim's Avatar
10,884 posts

Joined Apr 2003

southern Alberta, Canada
MORE INFO

You've got yourself a case of dust bunnies. As Dante says, try the blower first and then you might have to clean your sensor. It is fairly straight forward and easy to do.

Apr 04, 2005 23:02

My life is like one big RAW file....way too much post processing needed.
Sheldon Simpson | My Galleryexternal link | My Gear updated: 20JUL12

LOG IN TO REPLY
nater
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
nater's Avatar
201 posts

Joined Mar 2005

Chicagoland
MORE INFO

Thanks for the advice. I have a dinky little brush blower, and I had tried blowing on the sensor (after removing the brush) to no avail. I just tried it again, more vigorously, and maybe 1/3 of the spots are gone. I guess I'll need to invest in an industrial-strength blower... :)

Apr 04, 2005 23:10

Canon 70D || Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 || Canon 17-55 f/2.8 IS || Canon 24-105 f/4L || Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS || Sigma 30 f/1.4 || Canon 50 f/1.4 || Canon 85 f/1.8 || Canon 60 f/2.8 Macro || Rokinon 8 f/3.5 fisheye
Feisol CT-3401N Tripod || Kirk BH-3 Ballhead
Buy & Sell Feedback: POTN || FredMirandaexternal link || ebayexternal link ~~~ Pro tip: Separate focus from shutterexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
eosster
Senior Member
473 posts
Joined Nov 2004
MORE INFO

Looks like a just a dust to me, time for a good clean up and good luck, you'll need it.

Apr 04, 2005 23:29

Canon EOS 60D | EF 50mm f/1.4 USM | Canon 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
hedphonz
Member
86 posts
Joined Feb 2005
MORE INFO

i would think that there is also another problem that your camera is too small. jk. i would agree with everyone else that you have a case of the dust bunnies.

Apr 04, 2005 23:41



LOG IN TO REPLY
robertwgross
Cream of the Crop
robertwgross's Avatar
9,462 posts

Joined Nov 2002

California
MORE INFO

That's sensor snot.

---Bob Gross---

Apr 04, 2005 23:48 as a reply to hedphonz's post 7 minutes earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
tim's Avatar
49,548 posts

Joined Nov 2004

Wellington, New Zealand
MORE INFO

You can purchase a kit to clean your sensor hereexternal link. Many people have done it, and very few people have any problems. I do it myself, it took some practice to do it well, but it was easy. DO the practice swipe suggested, or a couple, to get the technique correct before trying on your camera.

If you're not confident, Canon I think clean sensors for free within their warranty period, and some stores may clean it quicker or while you wait even.

If the camera is brand new and you've not used it anywhere dusty, it's not unreasonable to return it and ask for a clean one, but you're not guaranteed to get one any better than your current one.

Apr 04, 2005 23:49

NZIPP Qualified Professional wedding photographer.
Wellington Wedding Photographerexternal link ~ Camera and Lens Reviewsexternal link ~ Photographers Tech Supportexternal link
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

LOG IN TO REPLY
nater
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
nater's Avatar
201 posts

Joined Mar 2005

Chicagoland
MORE INFO

WarrenO wrote:
blowing with your mouth is a very bad idea... all you need is spit on it and you have a much bigger mess.. get the right tools and you won't have issues. Did you just get this? (dirt) If so why is it so dirty? About the dead pixel...hmmm never even thought of that myself... I will check for that...

Thanks...

Warren

I didn't use my mouth. I used a cheapo blower that came in a camera cleaning kit, minus the brush.

And the camera is brand new -- I haven't even taken this one outside yet. I have no idea how it could be so terribly dirty.

Apr 05, 2005 05:32 as a reply to post 481820

Canon 70D || Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 || Canon 17-55 f/2.8 IS || Canon 24-105 f/4L || Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS || Sigma 30 f/1.4 || Canon 50 f/1.4 || Canon 85 f/1.8 || Canon 60 f/2.8 Macro || Rokinon 8 f/3.5 fisheye
Feisol CT-3401N Tripod || Kirk BH-3 Ballhead
Buy & Sell Feedback: POTN || FredMirandaexternal link || ebayexternal link ~~~ Pro tip: Separate focus from shutterexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Toogy
"I like pictures of myself!"
Toogy's Avatar
6,245 posts

Joined Nov 2003

Ontario, Canada
MORE INFO

I'm curious as to what your aperture was when you took that shot?

Apr 05, 2005 06:08

Toogood Studiosexternal link
Good Light and Shoot to the Right....

LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,752 posts

Joined Nov 2002
MORE INFO

Simplest cleaning method.... Giottos Rocket Blowerexternal link.
Those dinky little blowers just are not big enough.
As far as the hot pixel test goes, if you only have one at long exposures, that is a very good result :)

Apr 05, 2005 06:17

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=680947

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
nitsch
Goldmember
2,393 posts
Joined Feb 2005
MORE INFO

I had this exact same problem when I got my 300D. The first ones sensor was filthy but otherwise the camera appeared to be brand new. I think some of them must just pick up more sensor crud than others during assembly. The marks were clearly visible from about f11 upwards so I returned it to the shop and asked for it to be swapped for another new one (although the sales assistant originally suggested they send it to be cleaned at my expense LOL! I don't think so!). The next one was a lot better but still not perfect when examined at about f32 however seeing as I'm never going to use this aperture in real life I decided not to let it bother me too much.

I have yet to clean the sensor but when the time comes I'm not too worried about doing it. I guess I have just accepted now that cleaning my sensor will have to become a routine maintenance task with a DSLR. It's just a bit of a shock to discover this issue when you move from film or point and shoot.

Apr 05, 2005 08:09



LOG IN TO REPLY
nater
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
nater's Avatar
201 posts

Joined Mar 2005

Chicagoland
MORE INFO

Toogy wrote:
I'm curious as to what your aperture was when you took that shot?

I had set the camera to Tv. I just checked the pic, and it says the aperture was set to f/36. I'll do some tests at lunchtime to see how much shows up at wider apertures.

BTW - Based on the excessive dirt, and the hot/dead pixels, Dell has already agreed to ship me a replacement. And they didn't give me any hassle about it.

Apr 05, 2005 09:09 as a reply to Toogy's post 3 hours earlier.

Canon 70D || Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 || Canon 17-55 f/2.8 IS || Canon 24-105 f/4L || Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS || Sigma 30 f/1.4 || Canon 50 f/1.4 || Canon 85 f/1.8 || Canon 60 f/2.8 Macro || Rokinon 8 f/3.5 fisheye
Feisol CT-3401N Tripod || Kirk BH-3 Ballhead
Buy & Sell Feedback: POTN || FredMirandaexternal link || ebayexternal link ~~~ Pro tip: Separate focus from shutterexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,752 posts

Joined Nov 2002
MORE INFO

Nater, odds are the next one you get will be just as bad or worse!
For an F36 picture, that is actually a fairly clean sensor. And having one hot pixel at more than 1 second is also very, very good.
You could go nitsch's route and demand return after return after return, but I think you would have to go thru the entire canon stock before you got a new DSLR with a completely dust free sensor, and without any hot pixels. In fact, I've read MANY stories of people exchanging their DSLR's because of 1 or two hot pixels at long exposures. Usually after going thru 3 or more cameras, they want the first one back because it had fewer hot pixels than the rest.
I don't think there is a single DSLR out there that won't show atleast 1 hot pixel on a 1+ second exposure.
And there definately isn't a single DSLR out there that doesn't have some dust on the sensor. And if there was, it would only take a few days of use before it did.

Apr 05, 2005 11:50

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=680947

LOG IN TO REPLY
Toogy
"I like pictures of myself!"
Toogy's Avatar
6,245 posts

Joined Nov 2003

Ontario, Canada
MORE INFO

I would bet that IF I took a picture of a wall at F36 I would have just as much dust if not more. But will I ever take a picture of a wall at F36?
I guess what I am saying is that if you start to notice it in 'normal' photographs, that is when you really have a problem.

PS, stop taking pics of your lens cap!!! ;)

Apr 05, 2005 12:20

Toogood Studiosexternal link
Good Light and Shoot to the Right....

LOG IN TO REPLY

1,634 views & 0 likes for this thread
Hot pixels? Please help me diagnose a problem with my Rebel XT
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00304 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is bpmcshake
929 guests, 827 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014