Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > The Business of Photography
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th of April 2009 (Mon)   #1
ngrohosky
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: LONG BEACH, CA
Posts: 327
Arrow do i need a business license?

do you have one?

this summer, im beginning to shoot portraits for families, take high school senior photos, and hopefully break into the engagement/wedding scene. one of my friends keeps insisting that i need a business license.

do i?
do you have one?
(if so, what kind of work do you do that requires this?)
ngrohosky is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 20th of April 2009 (Mon)   #2
tracknut
Senior Member
 
tracknut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Folsom, California
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: do i need a business license?

If you need a business license, it's a local requirement. Contact your city hall in the town you live in, and ask them.

Yes I have one, but I'm up in Folsom CA, which could be completely different than your situation.

Dave
__________________
Performance/sport dog photographer
Facebook
"Always available to shoot your dog"
tracknut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of April 2009 (Mon)   #3
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
 
DDCSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 13,313
Default Re: do i need a business license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tracknut View Post
If you need a business license, it's a local requirement. Contact your city hall in the town you live in, and ask them.

Yes I have one, but I'm up in Folsom CA, which could be completely different than your situation.

Dave
To add, you will likely need a sales tax license in addition to or in place of a business license.

My town doesn't require a business license for photographers, but I am required to collect sales tax.

As Dave said, your city hall and/or county courthouse would be the place to find out what you need.
__________________
Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund

POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds
Full Gear List & Feedback
DDCSD is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 20th of April 2009 (Mon)   #4
Brideshooter
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central Missouri
Posts: 54
Default Re: do i need a business license?

Whether you are required to have one or not, play it safe and get one.
Brideshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of April 2009 (Mon)   #5
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
 
DDCSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 13,313
Default Re: do i need a business license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brideshooter View Post
Whether you are required to have one or not, play it safe and get one.
In many places there isn't a license to get. Business licenses are almost always trade specific. If you walk into City Hall and say "I want a business license", they'll find out what trade you are involved in and determine if you qualify for that license. If they don't require a license for that trade, they'll just tell you that one is not needed.

Some places have generic business licenses that they require anyone operating a business to have, but many only require licensing for trades in which specific municipal codes are required to be followed.

Again, a tax license is likely required and that is normally issued by the state.

But all we can do is guess what may be required and the local government offices need to be visited.
__________________
Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund

POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds
Full Gear List & Feedback
DDCSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of April 2009 (Tue)   #6
asysin2leads
I'm kissing arse
 
asysin2leads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lebanon, OH
Posts: 6,325
Default Re: do i need a business license?

I would start here.

California Sec of State - Business Portal

Then here:
Starting A Business

It will explain all you need to know about starting a business or getting a license. I know w/ Ohio's it also had the county forms I would need, as well. For instance, I do not have a brick and mortar studio, so the vendors license I'm required to get is different than if I did have a studio. It's little things like that the website above will help with.
__________________
Kevin

asysin2leads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #7
mobileman
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Posts: 118
Default Re: do i need a business license?

Many suppliers related to the photography industry, who sell matboards, framing supplies etc and also various print shops won't work with you unless you have a business license. This is for tax purposes primarily. It will save you money in the long run if you buy in volume during the year.
mobileman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #8
Gregory C
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: do i need a business license?

yeah, there will be that chance you photograph the local tax collector's daughter, & he will ask why you are not collecting or paying sales teaxes,,,
Gregory C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Business License ryleerider The Business of Photography 8 15th of April 2009 (Wed) 18:59
Part Time / Need business License? lesleysmeshly The Business of Photography 10 23rd of November 2008 (Sun) 20:12
Business License and being Inc. lbeck The Business of Photography 5 13th of July 2008 (Sun) 12:07
City business license Digivaler The Business of Photography 6 30th of September 2007 (Sun) 17:01
business license for photography? troutbowl General Photography Talk 1 5th of May 2006 (Fri) 14:45


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.