Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th of April 2009 (Fri)   #1
polobreaka
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 902
Default how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

i would like to know if it is possible to hook up my 30D with the provided RCA cord directly to my laptop to view pictures instantly right after i shoot them?

i have a "prom" themed event to shoot and ill be a static photographer like school dances. i want to know if it is possible to hook up directly to my laptop and to view the pics right after i shoot them to show to the people.


im not even sure if im making any sense.....
polobreaka is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #2
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
 
cdifoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,036
Default Re: how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

Live View? No.

Tethered? Yes.

Not the RCA cord. USB. Or WiFi if you can afford it.
__________________
Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it here. Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid!
cdifoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #3
brecklundin
Goldmember
 
brecklundin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,179
Default Re: how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

I am assuming the 30d will work the same way but I know with my 40D I can tether it via a USB cable and the Canon software. As I recall you can config the setup to save the shots locally as they are taken. If you setup a 2nd display attached to your laptop you could then put up the shot w/o a need for people to move around or, even more important, want to reach out and fiddle with your laptop. Anyway, you could then have something set to monitor that directory for new files and automagically open on the 2nd display by extending the desktop and moving the preview window to that display. Depends on how you prefer to make it work.

It is my experience from running demos for clients, there always seems to be one or more in the room that "knows what they are doing" and wants to press buttons to prove it. So, I started dragging around an external display, even before there were nice light and cheap LCD panel displays. Then I kept the laptop setup where they could not get their grubby mitts on it!
__________________
Real men shoot Pentax because we're born with our own Canon's!!
{Ok...ok, some of use just have a PnS but it it always makes me happy! }
Pentax K5, K20D, Three Amigos (Pentax FA 31/1.8 Limited Silver, Pentax FA 43/1.9 Limited Silver, Pentax FA 77/1.8 Limited Silver), Pentax DA 35mm F2.8 Macro Limited, Sigma 24-60/2.8
brecklundin is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #4
polobreaka
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 902
Default Re: how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

yea thats it. sorry i didnt know the correct term. i didnt know the usb cord could tether. i thought i had to use the rca cord.

anyways, can you guide me in how to setup tethering? or is there a guide online i can follow?

thanks!
polobreaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #5
Galaxy99
Senior Member
 
Galaxy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,142
Default Re: how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

I heard that Lightroom 2.0 has such function. Well, personally, I never tried before.
__________________
Gear List

Galaxy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #6
brecklundin
Goldmember
 
brecklundin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,179
Default Re: how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

Quote:
Originally Posted by polobreaka View Post
yea thats it. sorry i didnt know the correct term. i didnt know the usb cord could tether. i thought i had to use the rca cord.

anyways, can you guide me in how to setup tethering? or is there a guide online i can follow?

thanks!
Cool...

I don't have a link handy but if you download the latest software from the Canon site, you will also find a guide for the software that will get you started. After than there are a few threads around here that have all the info. I basically just hooked it up and launched the software and started playing. Then I went to the manuals and did my searches.

here is a link to the Canon site with files for the 30D. I don't remember exactly which files you want but it all centers around Canon's Digital Photo Professional (DPP) that came on the CD. I am pretty well done for the night or I would dig up the exact details for ya...but if you can't someone will certainly help out in short order.

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...&modelid=12929

Have FUN...

EDIT: Sorry i was not thinking, as usual, but you need the Canon EOS Utility installed (actually probably just install all of it, the EOS Utility, ZoomBrowser and DPP) and they call it "Remote Shooting". That should clear it up. here is a link to the manual for the EOS Utility:
http://gdlp01.c-wss.com/gds/0300001103/eu2.4b-w-en.pdf

BTW, there are apparently other programs that are designed to specifically manage the whole tethering thing and like Galaxy99 mention, I think I read that LR2.x supports some form of it but maybe I am mis-remembering.
__________________
Real men shoot Pentax because we're born with our own Canon's!!
{Ok...ok, some of use just have a PnS but it it always makes me happy! }
Pentax K5, K20D, Three Amigos (Pentax FA 31/1.8 Limited Silver, Pentax FA 43/1.9 Limited Silver, Pentax FA 77/1.8 Limited Silver), Pentax DA 35mm F2.8 Macro Limited, Sigma 24-60/2.8

Last edited by brecklundin : 25th of April 2009 (Sat) at 02:08.
brecklundin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #7
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,854
Default Re: how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

In LR2, you need to set up a "Watched folder". But you'll still need the Canon software.
Personally, I use Eos Utility & DPP.
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #8
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 5,545
Default Re: how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

In addition to what has already been suggested take a look at DSLR Remote Pro from Breeze Systems; it has tons of great features you wouldn't find in other software.
PixelMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of April 2009 (Sat)   #9
polobreaka
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 902
Default Re: how to hook up DSLR to laptop/computer for live view?

thanks guys! you guys are awesome! just what i was looking for.
polobreaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The 40D Live View Mystery -=READ THIS=- Before posting re Live view S2000 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 99 2nd of November 2011 (Wed) 19:01
Canon Rebel XSi taking pictures with a laptop with live view graydonblair Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 24th of February 2009 (Tue) 00:11
Laptop Live View tgr141291 Accessories & Storage 12 19th of August 2008 (Tue) 09:25
Camera view screen vs. Computer (Laptop) screen shermanthephotographer Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 4th of December 2007 (Tue) 15:27
Computer Program To View "LIVE" From Your Camera? Amnesia180 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 24 23rd of July 2006 (Sun) 22:23


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.