Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > Nature & Landscapes Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 9th of May 2009 (Sat)   #1
OneVisionTwoEyes

Default Can i get some help!

So im still very new to shooting.
And see all your guy's great photos.

I would love some links to some excersises to get some exp and more knowledge under my belt.

I have an XTi (Newb Camera) But its a start.

I have a 50mm and a kit lens

I would love to experiance different settings=different pictures kinda thing.

I know how to change f stops and shutter and all that but when i come up to somthing cool to shoot my first reaction is to get the light meter at 0 lol i know embarrising but thats also why im here asking for a little help.

So any one know some cool DOF, Shutter, Exposure Excersises let me know!
OneVisionTwoEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 9th of May 2009 (Sat)   #2
OneVisionTwoEyes

Default Re: Can i get some help!

PS sorry if this is in the wrong spot... i couldnt find a proper section?
OneVisionTwoEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of May 2009 (Mon)   #3
tonydee
Goldmember

I normally haunt other forums on POTN, so won't be one of the guy's posting great photos you're addressing, but a few things that I hope might be suitable off the top of my head. Ignore anything you think's silly . Cheers, Tony

for DOF:
- put three or four things in a line, and try to get all of each one in turn sharply in focus while the others are OOF... distances between them, sizes depend on your focal length - not sure which kit lens you've got... will be easier zoomed in as far as you can... see online depth-of-field calculator at http://dofmaster.com/dofjs.html