LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


C.FnIV: Shutter button/AF-ON button

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 17 May 2009 (Sunday) 22:44   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
Luvntravln
Senior Member
Joined Feb 2008
322 posts
All Over The World; Base = San Diego, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

Which option do you use and why? Are there circumstances/situatio​ns when you change this option to a different option?

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

Post #1, May 17, 2009 22:44:44


"Nature Interpreted" - Photography begins with your mind and eyes, and ends with an image representing your vision and your reality of the captured scene; photography exceeds the camera sensor's limitations. Capturing and Processing landscapes and seascapes allows me to express my vision and reality of Nature.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
KenjiS
Cream of the Crop
KenjiS's Avatar
Joined Oct 2008
20,002 posts
Buffalo, NY
[MORE/SHARE]

I think its C.Fn 4 -2 for me ...

That sounds like it, but on mine its the * button for AF and the shutter release just controls my shutter/meter/IS

I do it because i like having AF and shutter seperate

Post #2, May 17, 2009 22:54:07


Gear, New and Old! RAW Club Member
Wanted: 5D Mark III, Sigma 35mm f/1.4, Sigma 120-300 f/2.8 OS
Deviantartexternal link
Flickr (This is where my good stuff is!)external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Joshua14321
Senior Member
Joshua14321's Avatar
Joined Feb 2009
583 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

C.FnIV?

~Josh

Post #3, May 18, 2009 00:19:37




LOG IN TO REPLY
perfarny
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2005
380 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

custom function IV on the camera.

Post #4, May 18, 2009 00:26:27




LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
10,709 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

I use the default (0) setting for ordinary shooting with One Shot AF but change to separate focus (2) when using Servo AF for action shooting.
I usually also switch the AF-ON/* buttons, since there for some incredibly stupid reason is no AF-ON button on the BG-E2N grip.

Post #5, May 18, 2009 03:09:11 as a reply to perfarny's post 2 hours earlier.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Beanie's ­ Dad
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2008
581 posts
Irvine, Scotland
[MORE/SHARE]

#2 for me. I shoot action interspersed with static subjects and having the AF on the back button lets me keep my eye to the viewfinder instead of repeatedly flicking between one shot and AI Servo. For most cases the metering for #2 is what I want. If really need to lock the metering for a recompose I just switch to manual exposure.

Post #6, May 18, 2009 05:45:58 as a reply to apersson850's post 2 hours earlier.


5DIII, 5DII, EF24-105, EF 70-200 f4L IS, EF 85 1.8, "Sigmalux" 50 1.4, EF 35 f2, EF17-40 f4L

LOG IN TO REPLY
datadump
Goldmember
datadump's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
1,931 posts
Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

on my Mk3, #3 for me. i like the exposure lock because my * is reassinged in CFnI-14

Post #7, May 18, 2009 05:59:36


gearhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=898408

LOG IN TO REPLY
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
Joined Sep 2005
8,816 posts
CT
[MORE/SHARE]

0 for me

Post #8, May 18, 2009 06:01:41


connecticut wedding photographerexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
nik.hisham
Senior Member
nik.hisham's Avatar
Joined Oct 2008
745 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

2 - for when I'm panning or tracking action e.g. birds in flight
3 - for general purpose.

Post #9, May 18, 2009 06:08:47


5D Mark II | 50 F1.8 II | 35L | 17-40L | 38-76 "Macro" | 580EX II | 430EX
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Blue ­ Deuce
"I don't say anything witty"
Blue Deuce's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
3,742 posts
Cent. Fl.
[MORE/SHARE]

This horse has been beat to death here for almost 5 years. Opinions to this inquiry as well as a wealth of info are within the stickies.

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=46965

Post #10, May 18, 2009 06:11:51


Mike




LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Ransley
Senior Member
David Ransley's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
648 posts
Johannesburg, South Africa
[MORE/SHARE]

I used this URL a few times to study the options I need:

http://www.usa.canon.c​om ...ArticleAct&articleI​D=2286external link

Post #11, May 18, 2009 08:17:48


DRH

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)


LIST NEARBY THREADS
3,878 views & 0 likes for this thread
C.FnIV: Shutter button/AF-ON button
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00082 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
820 guests, 508 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is johntorcasio

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.