LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


EOS Utility in Windows 7 Won't Recognize 5D Mark II

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 21 May 2009 (Thursday) 07:39   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
gooble
Goldmember
gooble's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
3,149 posts
Mesa,AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

I'm having a problem getting the EOS Utility to recognize the 5D Mark II plugged in the computer.

I'm running Windows 7 RC1 build 7100. I installed pretty old versions of DPP and the EOS Utility that I got with my Rebel XT years ago. I copied them from the CD and I use them as my first install and then install whichever is the latest update file which right now is 361 and 261 for DPP and EOS Utility respectively.

I plugged the camera into the computer via USB then turned the camera on. Windows recognizes the camera and even shows it in explorer but the 'camera settings/remote shooting' icon in the EOS Utility is not active.

I tried closing and reopening the software and turning the camera on and off in various combinations and nothing works. I rebooted also which didn't help.

With my previous cameras I sometimes had to install the WIA drivers myself, but these don't seem to be around anymore as I suppose the OS just does all that for us.

For what it's worth the 40D is recognized by Windows also but not the EOS Utility.

Anyone with Windows 7 able to get this to work? Is it a Win 7 problem or a Canon software problem?

Post #1, May 21, 2009 07:39:37




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
05Xrunner
Goldmember, Flipflopper.
05Xrunner's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
4,546 posts
Pittsburgh PA
[MORE/SHARE]

hmmm..When i get home I will try it and see if it sees my 1DIII
i am running RC1 as well

Post #2, May 21, 2009 07:46:27


My gear
Canon 50D: Sigma 17-70 OS C:Canon 70-200f4L

LOG IN TO REPLY
fashioneyes
Senior Member
fashioneyes's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
562 posts
Surrey, United Kingdom
[MORE/SHARE]

Why not try it with the DPP and EOS version that came with the camera rather than the older one ?

Post #3, May 21, 2009 08:13:24


1D4, 7D, 5D2 + L lenses
Links: Jepson Photographyexternal link / Model Portfolioexternal link
A-Plant BSB Teamexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
gooble
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
gooble's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
3,149 posts
Mesa,AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

fashioneyes wrote in post #7962436external link
Why not try it with the DPP and EOS version that came with the camera rather than the older one ?

Well, 'cause I woulda had to get it outa the box... :oops:

That's part of it but it's mainly because I didn't think I needed to and I generally leave all manuals and discs untouched with a new camera so when I sell it they're all there and in good shape. Discs I've gotten with previous cameras were sealed and I didn't want to unseal the 5D II's discs, but I managed to pull them out and they are not sealed, they're just in a slip case, so if I don't solve this some other way I may use them.

Post #4, May 21, 2009 08:24:19




LOG IN TO REPLY
nadtz
Goldmember
nadtz's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
1,483 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Well you don't need to use the 5dII discs, get the update from canons website instead. But you likely will need to update the software.

Post #5, May 21, 2009 11:48:05




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
anthony11
Goldmember
anthony11's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
2,148 posts
Seattle
[MORE/SHARE]

So you expected old software to see into the future and predict the 5DmkII? Why the fear of opening the CD package? Afraid that the EULA will result in your kidneys being removed?

Post #6, May 21, 2009 12:27:05


5D2, 24-105L, 85mm f/1.8, MP960, HG21, crumbling G6+R72, Brownian toddler

LOG IN TO REPLY
basroil
Cream of the Crop
basroil's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
8,015 posts
STL/Clayton, MO| NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

anthony11 wrote in post #7963785external link
So you expected old software to see into the future and predict the 5DmkII? Why the fear of opening the CD package? Afraid that the EULA will result in your kidneys being removed?

Lol.. but true. You've been watching too much charlie though.

gooble wrote in post #7962319external link
I'm having a problem getting the EOS Utility to recognize the 5D Mark II plugged in the computer.

I'm running Windows 7 RC1 build 7100. I installed pretty old versions of DPP and the EOS Utility that I got with my Rebel XT years ago. I copied them from the CD and I use them as my first install and then install whichever is the latest update file which right now is 361 and 261 for DPP and EOS Utility respectively.

I plugged the camera into the computer via USB then turned the camera on. Windows recognizes the camera and even shows it in explorer but the 'camera settings/remote shooting' icon in the EOS Utility is not active.

I tried closing and reopening the software and turning the camera on and off in various combinations and nothing works. I rebooted also which didn't help.

With my previous cameras I sometimes had to install the WIA drivers myself, but these don't seem to be around anymore as I suppose the OS just does all that for us.

For what it's worth the 40D is recognized by Windows also but not the EOS Utility.

Anyone with Windows 7 able to get this to work? Is it a Win 7 problem or a Canon software problem?

It's a neither problem, it's all your fault;) No, really, there's a reason the manual tells you to update the software to the one included in the disk that came with the camera. Go to the canon website and DL a new one, if you have enough internet connectivity to complain here you have enough to go to usa.canon.com :rolleyes:. And WIA has been dead for a long time, support was supposed to have stopped in Vista (but didn't due to legacy issues) and WIA drivers are generally not distributed. You can DL the proper drivers at the canon site along with all the other programs you should have gotten already.

Post #7, May 21, 2009 12:39:27


I don't hate macs or OSX, I hate people and statements that portray them as better than anything else. Macs are A solution, not THE solution. Get a good desktop i7 with Windows 7 and come tell me that sucks for photo or video editing.
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
gooble
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
gooble's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
3,149 posts
Mesa,AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

anthony11 wrote in post #7963785external link
So you expected old software to see into the future and predict the 5DmkII? Why the fear of opening the CD package? Afraid that the EULA will result in your kidneys being removed?

nadtz wrote in post #7963543external link
Well you don't need to use the 5dII discs, get the update from canons website instead. But you likely will need to update the software.

basroil wrote in post #7963878external link
Lol.. but true. You've been watching too much charlie though.

It's a neither problem, it's all your fault;) No, really, there's a reason the manual tells you to update the software to the one included in the disk that came with the camera. Go to the canon website and DL a new one, if you have enough internet connectivity to complain here you have enough to go to usa.canon.com :rolleyes:. And WIA has been dead for a long time, support was supposed to have stopped in Vista (but didn't due to legacy issues) and WIA drivers are generally not distributed. You can DL the proper drivers at the canon site along with all the other programs you should have gotten already.

I said this in my first post: "I'm running Windows 7 RC1 build 7100. I installed pretty old versions of DPP and the EOS Utility that I got with my Rebel XT years ago. I copied them from the CD and I use them as my first install and then install whichever is the latest update file which right now is 361 and 261 for DPP and EOS Utility respectively."

I'm running the latest update for the EOS Utility, newer in fact than the one on the disc with the camera.

Post #8, May 21, 2009 15:36:01




LOG IN TO REPLY
basroil
Cream of the Crop
basroil's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
8,015 posts
STL/Clayton, MO| NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

gooble wrote in post #7964904external link
I said this in my first post: "I'm running Windows 7 RC1 build 7100. I installed pretty old versions of DPP and the EOS Utility that I got with my Rebel XT years ago. I copied them from the CD and I use them as my first install and then install whichever is the latest update file which right now is 361 and 261 for DPP and EOS Utility respectively."

I'm running the latest update for the EOS Utility, newer in fact than the one on the disc with the camera.

Yes, and that was the problem. You need to uninstall entirely then reinstall, since the XT was the last camera to ship out WITHOUT the true eos utility. If you completely reinstall it should work just fine.

Post #9, May 21, 2009 15:57:50


I don't hate macs or OSX, I hate people and statements that portray them as better than anything else. Macs are A solution, not THE solution. Get a good desktop i7 with Windows 7 and come tell me that sucks for photo or video editing.
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
gooble
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
gooble's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
3,149 posts
Mesa,AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

basroil wrote in post #7965007external link
Yes, and that was the problem. You need to uninstall entirely then reinstall, since the XT was the last camera to ship out WITHOUT the true eos utility. If you completely reinstall it should work just fine.

I'm not saying you're wrong but the EOS Utility I have after running the latest 261 update is the new one with the much better looking interface, not the old clunky looking one. It's been my assumption, and maybe I'm wrong, that when you run the latest update file it supersedes the original install no matter how old it was and that it brings it completely up to date.

If I uninstall the EOS Utility and run install the one that came with the 5D II, I'll have an older version than the one I'm having a problem with.

Post #10, May 21, 2009 17:01:29




LOG IN TO REPLY
basroil
Cream of the Crop
basroil's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
8,015 posts
STL/Clayton, MO| NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

gooble wrote in post #7965292external link
I'm not saying you're wrong but the EOS Utility I have after running the latest 261 update is the new one with the much better looking interface, not the old clunky looking one. It's been my assumption, and maybe I'm wrong, that when you run the latest update file it supersedes the original install no matter how old it was and that it brings it completely up to date.

If I uninstall the EOS Utility and run install the one that came with the 5D II, I'll have an older version than the one I'm having a problem with.

Those two were completely different programs actually, so one of the problems was that it did cause problems if you installed on top. That's why they suggest you remove the programs first on the canon site (or they used to, it's old enough now that nobody needs to update it anymore, so maybe it was removed from the instructions.

And the problem with running a slightly older program is? Generally they don't add anything or fix problems in EOS utility (except for vista 64 support a year or so ago), just add more cameras. The newest one includes T1i, which you didn't say you have, so why bother? The one that came with the 5dmkii is meant to work with it, so it'll probably be more stable than a newer one with your conditions.

Post #11, May 21, 2009 17:27:21


I don't hate macs or OSX, I hate people and statements that portray them as better than anything else. Macs are A solution, not THE solution. Get a good desktop i7 with Windows 7 and come tell me that sucks for photo or video editing.
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
gooble
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
gooble's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
3,149 posts
Mesa,AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

I uninstalled the EOS Utility I had then installed the one that came with the 5D II and it worked first time. Then I closed it and now when I open it it won't work anymore.

Post #12, May 22, 2009 01:10:39




LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark-Of-Cain
Member
Mark-Of-Cain's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
70 posts
NSW, Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

I too am having the same problems with getting a 5D MKII to recognise on Windows 7... have tried all the aforementioned uninstalling, reinstalling, upgrading, etc. Doesn't open EOS utility with my 40D either, just comes up device driver software fail:(

Anyone have a solution? (other than going back to XP which works perfectly!)

EDIT: Fixed it! Was my firewall. Pulled ethernet cable, turned off everything(windows firewall, outpost firewall and kaspersky anti-virus), connected camera via USB and it worked, yay! Turned everything back on and made an exception for EOS utility and launcher, all is sweet:)

Post #13, Sep 02, 2009 20:33:33 as a reply to gooble's post 3 months earlier.


Canon 40D
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lukich
Senior Member
Lukich's Avatar
Joined Sep 2010
667 posts
Oregon-California
[MORE/SHARE]

Here's how to fix it-advice from flickrexternal link
R N N says:

The same thing happened to me. My solution was to uninstall and then reinstall the Utility software. Nothing was disabled in the camera's firmware. Another problem might be that your PC's USB plugs don't recognise the devices pluged in. This is due to static electricity and heppenes in some cases. If so, power off the PC and then disconect it from the electrical net for a couple of minutes or just turn the power switch on the power supply unit in off position. Now it should be fine! Hope this helps!
Originally posted 3 months ago. ( permalink )
R N N edited this topic 3 months ago.

Post #14, Dec 23, 2010 17:27:39


-Anatoliy-
Gearexternal link
Galleriesexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Fliger747
Senior Member
Joined Dec 2009
120 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

The only reason I could see for not opening and using the software is to try to sell the camera as NIB and unused.... Nice Camera, hang on to it... Or just buy a Nikon and not have the problem (no software included).

T

Post #15, Dec 25, 2010 18:43:39 as a reply to Lukich's post 2 days earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
16,919 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS Utility in Windows 7 Won't Recognize 5D Mark II
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00174 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
962 guests, 754 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Wiebe2014

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.