LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Install Canon Digital Camera Solution Software without physical CD-ROM-drive

FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers
Thread started 23 May 2009 (Saturday) 04:44   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
Kakadu
Hatchling
Joined May 2009
2 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

This might be also an answer to that thread: http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=36399, but it has relevancy in itself.

I had the problem to install the Canon-Software on an ThinkPad X without built-in or external (USB/FireWire/PCMCIA) CD-ROM-drive. The solution is to make a disk-image with BlindWriteSuite and then mount it with the DAEMON-tools. This works - but be careful, not every CD-ROM-drive can read out the Disk - i.e. Sony CRX185 is not able to read out the CD, but LiteOn SHW-160P6S does!

BTW: this information IS NOT for making illegal copies of the CD-ROM - you are only allowed to do the described if you have the allowance to install the software anyway!

Post #1, May 23, 2009 04:44:51




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
cicopo
Goldmember
cicopo's Avatar
Joined Mar 2007
2,998 posts
Ottawa, Ont, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

I've been 100% successful just copying the CD to jump drives & then using it by opening up the files & selecting the installer file.

Post #2, May 23, 2009 08:22:30


A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought.
Cozumel travel & dive photos
www.picasaweb.google.c​om/CozumelTimeCapsulesexternal link
Radio Control Event albums www.picasaweb.google.c​om/tcprcphotosexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
nadtz
Goldmember
nadtz's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
1,483 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

If you are ok with modifying your registry you dont need the CD at all, get the installer from canons website and follow the instructions at http://www.adidap.com ...t-your-canon-software-cd/external link. Obviously if you have a brand spanking new camera the latest and greatest might not be on canons website, but its good to know if you ever need to install the software and you dont have the CD handy.

Post #3, May 23, 2009 13:22:08




LOG IN TO REPLY
Kakadu
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined May 2009
2 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Accessing the CD-ROM-drive as shared drive I had the problem that the installer-application did not even show the region/continent-setting-screen and just broke up with the error "Install.exe could not load master.ini". Just copying the contents onto a local folder seems to work - I did not do that before for not spoiling unnecessary hd-space.

Post #4, May 24, 2009 03:59:17 as a reply to nadtz's post 14 hours earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
16,939 views & 0 likes for this thread
Install Canon Digital Camera Solution Software without physical CD-ROM-drive
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.0007 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
876 guests, 805 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Lrf9201

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.