Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25th of May 2009 (Mon)   #1
snappa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 1,757
Default Extremely stupid question

I currently use Photoshop Elements 3. However I have a problem at the moment in that I cannot access the Adobe bit. Which in turn means I cannot access any of the pics I have downloaded recently.
If anybody knows how I can get back to the Adobe bit then I would be truly grateful. I even went to the extent of scrapping the program and re-loading it but it came back exactly as it was.
Thank you.
snappa is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 25th of May 2009 (Mon)   #2
breathless
Member
 
breathless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 388
Default Re: Extremely stupid question

What is Adobe bit?
__________________
Chris
Photographer, lover.
website | facebook
breathless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of May 2009 (Tue)   #3
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
Posts: 10,063
Default Re: Extremely stupid question

Extremely stupid(er) question - "What is Adobe bit?"


(bumping it up so you'll see it and help us help you!)
egordon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 26th of May 2009 (Tue)   #4
breathless
Member
 
breathless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 388
Default Re: Extremely stupid question

Quote:
Originally Posted by egordon99 View Post
Extremely stupid(er) question - "What is Adobe bit?" (bumping it up so you'll see it and help us help you!)
Man, I am starting to feel stupid. The OP briefly described it, but I still don't know what it is, and have never heard of it.
__________________
Chris
Photographer, lover.
website | facebook
breathless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of May 2009 (Tue)   #5
Christopher Steven b
Goldmember
 
Christopher Steven b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 3,025
Default Re: Extremely stupid question

Probably Adobe Camera Raw.
When you try to open a RAW file doesn't ACR start up automatically?
__________________

christopher steven b. - Ottawa Wedding Photographer

Ottawa Wedding Photography Site | Ottawa Wedding Photographer Blog

Christopher Steven b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of May 2009 (Tue)   #6
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
Posts: 10,063
Default Re: Extremely stupid question

Did PSE3 even have ACR? I used PSE5 very briefly before switching over to CS3, and that version had ACR (4.x), but PSE3 is older so....(goes to check out Google)
egordon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of May 2009 (Tue)   #7
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
Posts: 10,063
Default Re: Extremely stupid question

OK, it does appear that PSE3 did support ACR, but only 3.x, so any newer Canon bodies that require 4.x would not work...

Regardless, I doubt "Adobe bit" = ACR, but I could be wrong
egordon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of May 2009 (Tue)   #8
JWright
Planes, trains and ham radio...
 
JWright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,151
Default Re: Extremely stupid question

Quote:
Originally Posted by egordon99 View Post
OK, it does appear that PSE3 did support ACR, but only 3.x, so any newer Canon bodies that require 4.x would not work...

Regardless, I doubt "Adobe bit" = ACR, but I could be wrong
True. Adobe does not support ACR in previous versions of Photoshop once a new version has been released. For example, I use CS2 and I cannot open my 40D RAW files in it.
__________________
John
JWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EXTREMELY QUICK QUESTION!!!!!! BermyFunk General Photography Talk 6 3rd of July 2008 (Thu) 10:45
stupid question of a stupid guy(me)("Stupid Wide" angle zoom) mantra Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 22 18th of November 2007 (Sun) 15:13
Extremely stupid question Eoghan RAW, Post Processing and Printing 13 15th of November 2006 (Wed) 12:58
Stupid question, but not so stupid. (300D vs. 20D) trevor51590 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 33 1st of September 2006 (Fri) 21:36
Extremely sorry - Typical question. saulrose Small Compact Digitals by Canon 5 27th of August 2006 (Sun) 12:50


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.