Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 01 Jun 2009 (Monday) 06:30
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Windows 7 and RAW plus 64bit info

 
David ­ Ransley
Senior Member
Avatar
672 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Jun 01, 2009 06:30 |  #1

Hi, I downloaded Microsoft's Winodws 7 and installed the 64bit version. All the Canon utilities work fine, except for the RAW Codec - No 64bit support. It is possible to download a 64bit codec from a third party, but I noticed that some RAW files do have Thumbnails. Here is the scenario:

1. Codec 1.5 installed
2. Microsoft Pro Photo Tools installed http://www.microsoft.c​om/prophoto/default.as​px (external link)

It seems that if you browse the folder in Pro Photo 2, the thumbnails are generated. Once that is done, the folder view in Explorer always shows the Large thumbnails.

This should work for any x86 type app that opens the folder to see the content. It loads the Codec and generates the images. Only the 64bit Explorer will not trigger the Thumbnail generation.

It is a pity that Canon doesn't have a 64bit codec.


DRH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bobster
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,058 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 440
Joined May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
     
Jun 01, 2009 08:50 |  #2

nope, only the newer cameras are supported i believe.. i fired off an e-mail to them years ago when i was using XP64


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hood (external link) | Gear | Tweet (external link) | Google+ (external link) | FoCal 2 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Menelaus
Goldmember
Avatar
1,218 posts
Likes: 55
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Dallas
     
Jun 01, 2009 09:29 |  #3

I'm running Win 7 x64, and just installing the Canon RAW codec 1.5 fixed my thumbnail issue (in regular old Explorer.exe).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Ransley
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
672 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Jun 01, 2009 10:03 |  #4

JohnnyNapalm wrote in post #8027949 (external link)
I'm running Win 7 x64, and just installing the Canon RAW codec 1.5 fixed my thumbnail issue (in regular old Explorer.exe).

This is what I did as well, can always remove and install it again. The thumbnails do not show automatically.


DRH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,808 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
Jun 01, 2009 10:14 |  #5

JohnnyNapalm wrote in post #8027949 (external link)
I'm running Win 7 x64, and just installing the Canon RAW codec 1.5 fixed my thumbnail issue (in regular old Explorer.exe).

That is because you use a camera supported by the codec.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,808 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
Jun 01, 2009 10:15 |  #6

David Ransley wrote in post #8028111 (external link)
This is what I did as well, can always remove and install it again. The thumbnails do not show automatically.

The 40D is not supported by the codec.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Menelaus
Goldmember
Avatar
1,218 posts
Likes: 55
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Dallas
     
Jun 01, 2009 10:18 |  #7

Wow, that's kind of surprising...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,808 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
Jun 01, 2009 10:28 as a reply to  @ Menelaus's post |  #8

Hmmmm, maybe not. According to this the 40D is supported by Canon's RAW codec, but te support is only for x86, not x64.

http://www.microsoft.c​om …wnloads/codecs.​aspx#canon (external link)

So Johnny, how are you able to view RAW files on Win7 x64?


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,808 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
Jun 01, 2009 10:30 as a reply to  @ In2Photos's post |  #9

Here are some ideas on getting it to work with 64 bit.

Can be used with 64 bit Vista Date: February 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality

This can be used with 64 bit Vista by navigating to C:\Program Files (x86) and launching the 32 bit version of Photo Gallery which is included in Vista 64 bit operating system.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Menelaus
Goldmember
Avatar
1,218 posts
Likes: 55
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Dallas
     
Jun 01, 2009 10:44 |  #10

In2Photos wrote in post #8028219 (external link)
Hmmmm, maybe not. According to this the 40D is supported by Canon's RAW codec, but te support is only for x86, not x64.

http://www.microsoft.c​om …wnloads/codecs.​aspx#canon (external link)

So Johnny, how are you able to view RAW files on Win7 x64?

Not sure. I went to download the Codec off of the 5D page, and it warned me that it wasn't supported on x64 systems. That didn't seem to stop it from working, though.

I've had to get Windows Live Photo Viewer on my XP boxes for it to work.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
48,203 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 4347
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jun 01, 2009 11:22 |  #11

I don't think we have one yet, but I thought it was time for a Win7 Sticky thread,.

So I moved this to Computers and stuck it..
Any objection to us collecting more Win7 tips and info here> (like or Vista compatibility thread? )


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Ransley
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
672 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Jun 02, 2009 01:27 |  #12

I can do all I want with RAW files after installing DPP. The only thing not working so well is the ability to see the thumbnails in Explorer. After a lot of reading, the Canon RAW Codec is x86 and not x64.

I will add "Windows Live Photo Viewer" and see if it uses the Canon RAW Codec and builds the "Thumbnails".


DRH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Ransley
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
672 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Jun 02, 2009 02:54 |  #13

David Ransley wrote in post #8033330 (external link)
I can do all I want with RAW files after installing DPP. The only thing not working so well is the ability to see the thumbnails in Explorer. After a lot of reading, the Canon RAW Codec is x86 and not x64.

I will add "Windows Live Photo Viewer" and see if it uses the Canon RAW Codec and builds the "Thumbnails".

Just added "Windows Live Photo Galary" and now all the Explorer thumbnails are generated. Extra Large Icons, Large Icons and so on. The Galary it seems uses the Canon RAW Codec (v.1.5 installed)

Problem Solved :-)


DRH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
par7133
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Nov 2009
     
Nov 01, 2009 18:10 |  #14

FastPictureViewer RAW Codec Pack did the job for me www.fastpictureviewer.​com/codecs/ (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
beeng
Senior Member
Avatar
927 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Halifax, Canada
     
Nov 01, 2009 18:18 |  #15

par7133 wrote in post #8936705 (external link)
FastPictureViewer RAW Codec Pack did the job for me www.fastpictureviewer.​com/codecs/ (external link)

That worked for my on Win7 x64 :D
Thanks!

Welcome to POTN :)


A roll of film, a carboard box, and a bobbypin

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

76,249 views & 0 likes for this thread
Windows 7 and RAW plus 64bit info
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Nidge
654 guests, 416 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.