Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 07 Jun 2009 (Sunday) 15:40
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

lens won't autofocus

 
photobaby
Member
47 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Jun 07, 2009 15:40 |  #1

My XS is about 2 months old and all of a sudden the autofocus on my 18-55mm lens won't work. The red light blinks when the shutter button is pressed halfway, but it won't take a picture. It will take a picture on MF. I tried my new 50-250 lens and it will take a picture using AF. So does this mean there is a problem specifically with the 18-55 lens, or could it be a problem with the camera? I tried doing a search for ideas and it was suggested to recharge the battery even if it looks like it's charged. So I'm doing that now. Any other ideas?




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
canonloader's Avatar
52,875 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Behind A Camera
Jun 07, 2009 17:33 |  #2

Well, the obvious is, is the switch on the lens in AF or MF? Is the camera in One Shot or AI Servo?


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuffexternal link
Gear List, My You Tubeexternal link
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

LOG IN TO REPLY
photobaby
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
47 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Jun 07, 2009 18:45 as a reply to canonloader's post |  #3

The lens was on AF. It will work on MF but not on AF. The camera is set to One Shot.




LOG IN TO REPLY
photobaby
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
47 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Jun 07, 2009 18:55 |  #4

Charging the battery didn't help, and I can't get it to focus at all. The red light doesn't blink and the shutter button won't go further down than halfway. It must be a problem with the lens, which is strange because one minute it was working fine, and the next it didn't. I didn't drop it or anything.

So my next question is do I call B&H tomorrow since that is where I bought it? It would still be under warranty. Or should I call Canon?




LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Cream of the Crop
RDKirk's Avatar
11,894 posts
Joined May 2004
USA
Jun 07, 2009 20:14 |  #5

photobaby wrote in post #8067440external link
So my next question is do I call B&H tomorrow since that is where I bought it? It would still be under warranty. Or should I call Canon?

After two months, there's no point calling B&H. Call Canon.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Westx
Member
129 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Jun 07, 2009 20:29 as a reply to RDKirk's post |  #6

Look at the contacts on the back of the lens and make sure they are OK. May even clean them off good. If that doesn't work do as Mr Kirk said and call Canon.




LOG IN TO REPLY
photobaby
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
47 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Jun 08, 2009 00:11 |  #7

Thanks, I did clean the contacts and it didn't help either.




LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,562 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Utah, USA
Jun 08, 2009 00:16 |  #8

Time to call Canon.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickrexternal link
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

LOG IN TO REPLY
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
canonloader's Avatar
52,875 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Behind A Camera
Jun 08, 2009 03:53 |  #9

The red light doesn't blink and the shutter button won't go further down than halfway.

That sounds like a button problem to me.


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuffexternal link
Gear List, My You Tubeexternal link
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

LOG IN TO REPLY
photobaby
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
47 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Jun 08, 2009 19:50 |  #10

I called Canon and they had me try a couple of things that didn't work. He told me to go ahead and send it in since it is under warranty. After I hung up the phone I started thinking about the MF. The camera would take a pic in MF but it wasn't in focus. I haven't used MF yet, so I tried to turn the focus ring on the lens and after a tiny bit of resistance, it turned. And now the AF works! I think it must have gotten stuck somehow. Do you think this is a problem with the lens, or just something that happens sometime? I don't want to send it in and be without it if I don't have to. We have a vacation coming up soon and I'm really looking forward to using my camera. Since it's just 2 months old I'm leaning towards not sending it in unless it happens again, I still have plenty of time under warranty in case in happens again. Any advice?




LOG IN TO REPLY
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
canonloader's Avatar
52,875 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Behind A Camera
Jun 08, 2009 20:02 |  #11

Do not mess with it further. Don't use it or turn it. What probably happened is, you got some sand in the part that turns. I did that once, and it ruined the lens when I forced it to turn. It's under warranty. Bite the bullet and send it in and make sure you add a complete written explanation as to what you just found and put it in the box where they will find it.


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuffexternal link
Gear List, My You Tubeexternal link
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

LOG IN TO REPLY
photobaby
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
47 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Jun 08, 2009 20:23 |  #12

So even though it is working now you think I should send it in? Won't they just think I'm crazy since it's working?




LOG IN TO REPLY
S.Horton
I'm having size issues, does this get worse with age?
S.Horton's Avatar
17,979 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Royersford, PA
Jun 08, 2009 20:36 |  #13

No, they won't.

Tell them 'focus ring stiff, AF fails at times'

They'll take it apart and, if nothing is really wrong, they'll still clean it and calibrate it.

Of course, you could do nothing and be fine, too, but whatever caused that problem probably didn't go away because you turned the focus ring.


Sam - TF Says Ishmael
http://midnightblue.sm​ugmug.comexternal link 
Want your title changed?Dream On!external link

:cool:

LOG IN TO REPLY
photobaby
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
47 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Jun 08, 2009 21:36 |  #14

Ok, thanks that makes sense.




LOG IN TO REPLY
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
canonloader's Avatar
52,875 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Behind A Camera
Jun 09, 2009 07:16 |  #15

Sorry, site was down for me. No, I would not use it any more. Your supposed to write out what the problem was, so the guys in the shop know what to look for. If you describe what happened, they will take it apart and fix it. I think using it further will just make it worse, and harder to fix in the end.


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuffexternal link
Gear List, My You Tubeexternal link
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

19,841 views & 0 likes for this thread
lens won't autofocus
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00147 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is A.Gaines
765 guests, 618 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016