Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th of June 2009 (Thu)   #1
RaymondXTi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 963
Default Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Is it safe to use a Vivitar 285hv on the hotshoe of a Rebel XTi?

I just picked one up, and I ordered the Cactus V4 triggers, but it takes like 15 days to ship here so I was wondering if I could shoot with the 285hv on camera for a while to play around.

I tried searching and searching, I'm not a noob to the search button, haha, and I can't find any defininitive answers. I won't put it on my camera unless I get a for-sure answer. Don't want to fry anything.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: For people searching, I used it on the hotshoe today and it works fine! Nothing fried, lol.
__________________
Raymond Neice
--Gear List
----Flickr
------Blogspot
--Flickriver

Last edited by RaymondXTi : 19th of June 2009 (Fri) at 12:57.
RaymondXTi is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of June 2009 (Thu)   #2
RaymondXTi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 963
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Hmm, might have answered the question myself. I like the "similar threads" feature on the bottom... heh

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlashZebra View Post
The XTi will tolerate up to 250 Volts on the sync circuit.



The older version of the 285HV has a sync Voltage of about 12 Volts.



The newest version of the 285HV has a sync Voltage of about 4 Volts.



The older 285 (no HV designation) can have a sync Voltage from 6 to 500 Volts.



So, if you have a XTi and a 285HV you are fine.



Enjoy! Lon

Is this correct?
__________________
Raymond Neice
--Gear List
----Flickr
------Blogspot
--Flickriver
RaymondXTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of June 2009 (Thu)   #3
vadim_c
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 716
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Where did you 'picked it up' ?
If new from a store you should be safe. If used check or ask some one to check for you the voltage on the hotshoe or PC contacts. If it 5V version it is safe. If 250 you'd better refrain from mounting it on the camera directly.
vadim_c is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of June 2009 (Thu)   #4
MT Stringer
Goldmember
 
MT Stringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Channelview, Tx
Posts: 4,610
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Did y ou read through the EOS Flash thread posted by PacAce in the sticky section? There is a link in there to some research that was done on older flashes concerning trigger voltage. You might want to measure the voltage on the flash before you stick it on your camera. Better safe than sorry.

Mike
__________________
MaxPreps Profile

MT Stringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of June 2009 (Thu)   #5
NMGolfHacker
Member
 
NMGolfHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 327
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

As you found. The HV version is safe for use on the XTi. I have (2) 285HV's that I use on my XTi all the time.
__________________
Gripped Canon XTI - Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 Macro, EF-S 55-250IS, Nifty Fifty, Speedlight 420ex
NMGolfHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of June 2009 (Thu)   #6
RaymondXTi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 963
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

I bought it used, found it on Craigslist locally. It's definitley the 285hv, it might as well be brand new though, it looks like it's never been used. Is there any way to tell if it's the newer version or the older one? And does it even matter? 12 volts or 4 volts, either should be fine if the XTi can tolerate up to 250 volts, right?
__________________
Raymond Neice
--Gear List
----Flickr
------Blogspot
--Flickriver
RaymondXTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of June 2009 (Fri)   #7
NMGolfHacker
Member
 
NMGolfHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 327
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Ramond - you are correct.
__________________
Gripped Canon XTI - Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 Macro, EF-S 55-250IS, Nifty Fifty, Speedlight 420ex
NMGolfHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of June 2009 (Fri)   #8
Tigerkn
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 3,277
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Would it be fine for the 40D as well?
Tigerkn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of June 2009 (Fri)   #9
GenuineRolla
Senior Member
 
GenuineRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Putnam, CT
Posts: 1,346
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

It'll be fine for all Canon digital SLR's.
__________________
flickr | 40/60 Photo | Petey Photography| Canon 5D + 17-40mm f/4L + 50mm f/1.4 | 3x Alien Bee B800 | shuttrr.com - are you in?
GenuineRolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of June 2009 (Fri)   #10
georgebowman
Senior Member
 
georgebowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Verona, WI
Posts: 1,495
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Raymond, I have a 285HV and 283 as backups to my 580EXiis. I decided not to chance it and invested in a Wein Hotshoe Safe Sync. It works fine with my 285HV on my 50D and XTi, and it's a cheap investment.
georgebowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of June 2009 (Fri)   #11
RaymondXTi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 963
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Eh, I followed the information I found and threw it on the hotshoe today. It works perfectly fine. Took 20+ test shots and haven't heard any strange noises, seen any sparks, or had anything go up in flames. I think I'll be fine.

Thanks guys!
__________________
Raymond Neice
--Gear List
----Flickr
------Blogspot
--Flickriver
RaymondXTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of June 2009 (Fri)   #12
vadim_c
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 716
Default Re: Vivitar 285hv on XTi...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgebowman View Post
Raymond, I have a 285HV and 283 as backups to my 580EXiis. I decided not to chance it and invested in a Wein Hotshoe Safe Sync. It works fine with my 285HV on my 50D and XTi, and it's a cheap investment.
It is your own money but as for the advice I certainly would refrain from 'investing' into somehing that is absolutely redundant.
vadim_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One more time some questions about Vivitar 285HV and Rebel XTi jimbo39 Small Flash and Studio Lighting 0 24th of December 2008 (Wed) 12:53
Vivitar 285HV safe with XTi? bad karma Small Flash and Studio Lighting 2 28th of September 2008 (Sun) 19:57
Vivitar 285HV bcap Small Flash and Studio Lighting 10 15th of July 2007 (Sun) 17:15


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.