Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd of May 2005 (Mon)   #1
Kelv2888
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brooklyn.NY, USA
Posts: 157
Unhappy Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

I have a Canon 20d which I bought 1 month ago.
I have a 17-40f4L, and a 70-200 f4L.
Since I began switching lenses after my purchase of the 70-200,I began noticing dust and blotches on my screen.
I then bought the sensor swabs and eclipse solution and cleaned my sensor. It went pretty well and then there was this spot that didnt want to come off even after 8 swabs.
Fortunately, I took a pic off a gray card at f22 and realized the spot wasnt there,therefore saving me 7 swabs ,worth 1.3 million dollars.

This is what I realized. When I magnify the pic in camera ,the spot moves with the picture as if its stuck on the LCD glass, Whereever I magnify and scroll up or down ,it follows the picture. Do I have a dead pixel? I only noticed this after the cleaning.Could it be a speck of dirt in the focusing screen? Please help! Thank you

Last edited by Kelv2888 : 2nd of May 2005 (Mon) at 21:07.
Kelv2888 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 2nd of May 2005 (Mon)   #2
robertwgross
Cream of the Crop
 
robertwgross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 9,462
Default Re: Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelv2888
I have a Canon 20d which I bought 1 month ago.
I have a 17-40f4L, and a 70-200 f4L.
Since I began switching lenses after my purchase of the 70-200,I began noticing dust and blotches on my screen.
I then bought the sensor swabs and eclipse solution and cleaned my sensor. It went pretty well and then there was this spot that didnt want to come off even after 8 swabs.
Fortunately, I took a pic off a gray card at f22 and realized the spot wasnt there,therefore saving me 7 swabs ,worth 1.3 million dollars.

This is what I realized. When I magnify the pic in camera ,the spot moves with the picture as if its stuck on the LCD glass, Whereever I magnify and scroll up or down ,it follows the picture. Do I have a dead pixel? I only noticed this after the cleaning.Could it be a speck of dirt in the focusing screen? Please help! Thank you
Let's try to analyze this. It is possible to have some dust or defect on the sensor, on the rear display, or viewable in the viewfinder. Which is it?

If it is viewable in the viewfinder, then it more or less has to be either on the focus screen or else on the eyeball side of the viewfinder. In either case, this will never show up in the image. It is a frustration when viewing, and that is all.

If you have dust on the sensor, then it will show up on the images, especially if shot at f/22 toward a white wall, blue sky, or similar plain field. Normally, those are easily cleanable.

If you have a defect in the sensor, then that may show up on the images as well. It might show as a hard black pixel, a hard white pixel, or an off-color pixel at long exposures. To me, this is more of a problem.

If you have a defect on the rear display, then this is also a frustration, but at least it does not affect the image quality. That will show in a single place on the display no matter what image you scroll through. This is a little more cosmetic than having it show up on the stored image.

Now, which does yours seem like?

---Bob Gross---
robertwgross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of May 2005 (Mon)   #3
Kelv2888
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brooklyn.NY, USA
Posts: 157
Default Re: Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

I dont see it in the viewfinder,in the images once on the computer.Only in the lcd screen. And when I magnify and scroll in camera, the dark spot moves with "me" or along with the picture being magnified, meaning I cant scroll away from it.
Thanks in advance.
Kelv2888 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 2nd of May 2005 (Mon)   #4
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,323
Default Re: Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelv2888
I dont see it in the viewfinder,in the images once on the computer.Only in the lcd screen. And when I magnify and scroll in camera, the dark spot moves with "me" or along with the picture being magnified, meaning I cant scroll away from it.
Thanks in advance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertwgross
If you have a defect on the rear display, then this is also a frustration, but at least it does not affect the image quality. That will show in a single place on the display no matter what image you scroll through. This is a little more cosmetic than having it show up on the stored image.
Here's your answer.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2005 (Tue)   #5
Kelv2888
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brooklyn.NY, USA
Posts: 157
Default Re: Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

Do i need to send it to canon or can I clean or clear this myself? This only arose after I cleaned the sensor...
Kelv2888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2005 (Tue)   #6
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,323
Default Re: Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

If it's a dead pixel it'll have to be replaced by Canon. If it's dirt on the inside of the LCD you can probably clean it yourself.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of September 2006 (Tue)   #7
charlywalker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

Hi tim.
I have the problem of having dirt inside the LCD screen on my A510 PowerShot. Is there any thread or tutorial that explains how to get rid of it?
Thanks a lot
charlywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of September 2006 (Tue)   #8
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,323
Default Re: Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

I was talking about EOS digital cameras like the 10D/20D, so I can't help you sorry Charly.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of August 2009 (Tue)   #9
GrizzlyMan
Member
 
GrizzlyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 374
Default Re: Spot in lcd screen! Dust or in focusing screen?

I have dust behind my lcd preview screen on my 1dmkII.. I'd love to clean it out myself any ideas or just send it in to get a good cleaning?
__________________
www.ThruKurtsLens.com & Flickr & 500px

Canon 1dmkIV, 5DmkII ~ 17-40 4.0 L, 70-200 2.8 IS L, 24-70 2.8 L, 500 L 4.0, 1.4x extender, 2x extender, 580 speedlight, Think Tank Backpacks & Bags.......
GrizzlyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about dust on the focusing screen and mirror. Bootlegger0173 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 14 19th of June 2007 (Tue) 18:35
Sensor and focusing screen dust. Is it the same throughout all Canon DSLR's? TMR Design Canon EOS Digital Cameras 12 10th of June 2007 (Sun) 12:56
Focusing screen = viewfinder? (Dust problem) sniglum Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 13th of February 2007 (Tue) 20:05
300d dust behind focusing screen in the view finder Ogrt48 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 28th of June 2005 (Tue) 06:29
dust on focusing screen montreal Canon EOS Digital Cameras 7 23rd of April 2005 (Sat) 12:12


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.