Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 12 Aug 2009 (Wednesday) 07:22
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

50d Card will not format.

 
jonathan41
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 07:22 |  #1

Hi guys, a newbie here. I have just got a 50D today and have tried three of my memory cards in it but it will not accept any of them. I am at my wits end, you know what its like, new camera and all that.
When i have tried the camera it says CARD NOT FORMATTED. FORMAT CARD.
so i go into the menu and try to format the car but it says CARD NOT FORMATTED. CANNOT FORMAT CARD.

I have always had canons for many years and have never encountered this before. Can anyone help a desperate man!!!

The cards are blank and have been used in my 40D and 400D and 300D before that. One of the cards is a new sandisk IV 8gb, so its not a quality issue??

Help? Jon




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mprayii
Member
158 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 08:18 |  #2

can you format it with your pc?

probably fat32 or 16, i doubt you'd want to use NTFS.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jonathan41
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 08:40 as a reply to  @ mprayii's post |  #3

Hi Mprayii, thanks for the reply. Can you please explain your answer in idiots terms please.
I am not too computer literate. The camera was bought and i got it today from Simply Electronics and i would urge people not to deal with them. The 50D took 2 weeks to arrive....!! and it seems it has a fault. can anyone elabourate further on this ErRR CF/formatting error?...many thanks,,jon




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike
ugly when I'm sober
Avatar
15,276 posts
Gallery: 23 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 160
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Sandwich UK...the place, not the food!
     
Aug 12, 2009 08:44 |  #4

So, what is the process you go through with your card, just to be clear?

Do you put the CF card in to the CF card slot in your camera, close the cover, switch the camera on, enter the menu and select Format Card?


www.mikegreenphotograp​hy.co.uk (external link)
Gear
UK South Easterners
flickr (external link) Blog (external link) 5∞px (external link)

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? ::: A closed mouth gathers no foot.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jonathan41
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 08:54 |  #5

HI. I take the camera out of the box, fitted battery and lens. Made sure meory card was firmly in place. Turned camera on.
If i press the button down (to take a shot) then ErrCF displays on the top mini screen and "Card not formatted. Format card with this camera" appears on the back screen.

so i go into menu, to format and then press the OK button to format the card. Once pressed it says "Cannot format. Change card".

I am really frustrated as i only got it today and wanted to go out playing with it!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike
ugly when I'm sober
Avatar
15,276 posts
Gallery: 23 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 160
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Sandwich UK...the place, not the food!
     
Aug 12, 2009 09:01 |  #6

Hmmm...does sound like a fault somewhere. If the cards work fine with other cameras it could be your camera, I hate to say.


www.mikegreenphotograp​hy.co.uk (external link)
Gear
UK South Easterners
flickr (external link) Blog (external link) 5∞px (external link)

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? ::: A closed mouth gathers no foot.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mprayii
Member
158 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 09:17 |  #7

plug card into pc with the USB reader or directly into the face of the pc if supported.

Go to My Computer

Right click on your memory card, select format. I think I have used fat32 on my card and had no problems with it.

Its also worth trying another card to see if that works. Is there a Ritz or Bestbuy local to you? Ritz would probably let you try before you buy... dont know about bestbuy.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jonathan41
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 09:51 |  #8

But should i have to do that?? I have now tried to use the same card in the 40D and that wont work either. there is nothing wrong with the cards, as all three wouldnt have had a funny turn exactly at the same time. I think the 50D has done something now to my cards....i will try the computer thing...

any other ideas guys???




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mprayii
Member
158 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 09:56 |  #9

i guess I dont know? Was just trying to help - at this point it doesnt seem like it would hurt anything to try.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mprayii
Member
158 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 09:58 |  #10

reset to defaults? update firmware?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
irispatch
Goldmember
Avatar
1,009 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Maryland
     
Aug 12, 2009 10:01 |  #11

If the cards have been working in your other canon cameras they should work in the 50D. Before sending it back format one card in the 40 D or thr 400d. Then transfer to the 50D that way you know that the card can be formated in a canon camera. Then try to format in the 50D. I have no problem switching cards between a 350D and the 50d so I am inclinded to think that there is something wrong with the camera.


Canon 50D, Canon 100mm f/2.8 IS L, Canon 20-35mm f/2.8L, Canon 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS and Kenko 1.4 TC :lol:
Gitzo G2228 with a Markins Q3, and assorted gadgets. :)
The Iris Patch

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jonathan41
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 10:14 |  #12

Hi guys. Well i have tried both cards in the 40D and they dont work in that. Isd it possible the 50D has done somethingt o them when i followeed the onscreen instructions to reformat them??...
I have then been on my PC and reformatted them to FAT32, but it hadsnt made any difference to the CF cards. Neither will work in either cameras now...HELP!!!

Im a bit sick because both cards were working perfectly weell yesterday int he 40D, both are extremeIV , one being an 8 the other a 4!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jonathan41
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 10:21 |  #13

sorry about spelling1!! its my frustration coming out..lol




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mprayii
Member
158 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 10:25 |  #14

are you able to return the camera? And its rather weird that both cards are not working. I believe fat or fat 16 only supports 2 gb, but it could be worth a shot. have you tried formatting it within the camera after using the pc?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roach711
Senior Member
Avatar
717 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI USA
     
Aug 12, 2009 10:28 as a reply to  @ jonathan41's post |  #15

I have heard of devices killing CF cards. If they worked fine before in the 40D and don't after attempting to use them in the 50D I'd conclude the 50D caused the problem. I certainly wouldn't try any more CF cards in the 50D.

Sorry to say, it's time to send the camera back with a request to replace the dead CF cards. The retailer probably won't honor your request, but it doesn't hurt to ask.


---------------
50D, 100-400 L IS, 100 Macro 2.8, 24-105 L IS, 420EX, No talent

Shoot 'em all and let Photoshop sort them out.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

19,302 views & 0 likes for this thread
50d Card will not format.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is mason.snipes
316 guests, 274 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.