Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12th of August 2009 (Wed)   #1
jonathan41

Default 50d Card will not format.

Hi guys, a newbie here. I have just got a 50D today and have tried three of my memory cards in it but it will not accept any of them. I am at my wits end, you know what its like, new camera and all that.
When i have tried the camera it says CARD NOT FORMATTED. FORMAT CARD.
so i go into the menu and try to format the car but it says CARD NOT FORMATTED. CANNOT FORMAT CARD.

I have always had canons for many years and have never encountered this before. Can anyone help a desperate man!!!

The cards are blank and have been used in my 40D and 400D and 300D before that. One of the cards is a new sandisk IV 8gb, so its not a quality issue??

Help? Jon
jonathan41 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of August 2009 (Wed)   #2
mprayii

Default Re: 50d Card will not format.

can you format it with your pc?

probably fat32 or 16, i doubt you'd want to use NTFS.
mprayii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of August 2009 (Wed)   #3
jonathan41

Hi Mprayii, thanks for the reply. Can you please explain your answer in idiots terms please.
I am not too computer literate. The camera was bought and i got it today from Simply Electronics and i would urge people not to deal with them. The 50D took 2 weeks to arrive....!! and it seems it has a fault. can anyone elabourate further on this ErRR CF/formatting error?...many thanks,,jon
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of August 2009 (Wed)   #4
Mike
ugly when I'm sober

So, what is the process you go through with your card, just to be clear?