Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th of August 2009 (Thu)   #1
Fireflyphoto
Junior Member
 
Fireflyphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6
Default Second Curtain Sync

Is there ANY way of using a Canon 580EXII off camera in second curtain sync (or stroboscopic mode for that matter)?

I would be really grateful to hear from anyone who has managed to do this in some way or another.
Loving off camera flash work, but figuring out that there are great deficiencies in Canon's speedlite line up.

As an aside, is there a way of using second curtain sync on studio strobes?
Currently using Interfit strobes triggered by an Elinchrom Skyport off a 5D.
__________________
If you want memories to cherish, start by making them
Fireflyphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 13th of August 2009 (Thu)   #2
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,353
Default Re: Second Curtain Sync

If you use Canon's wireless system, having another 580 EX II (for example) as a master on the camera, you can indeed use stroboscopic flash with flash guns off camera.

Due to how they've implemented 2nd curtain sync, that can only be used by a flash in the hot shoe on the camera. Hence, the only way of doing that off camera is with an extension cord between the flash and the hot shoe.

Quote:
great deficiencies in Canon's speedlite line up
Which deficiences are you thinking about?
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of August 2009 (Thu)   #3
Fireflyphoto
Junior Member
 
Fireflyphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6
Default Re: Second Curtain Sync

Thanks for that.

As for the deficiencies, I suppose that sounded like a bit of bashing.
Let's call them areaas that would be great with a few improvements.

Saw a great post on PixSylated that expressed a few things quite eloquently
http://pixsylated.com/2009/07/syl-ar...lite-wishlist/

Not being able to use 2nd curtain with a radio transmitter is a disadvantage. Line of sight is not something that is always possible to achieve.

Have been watching a lot of Joe McNally's lessons on Kelby training and must say the control and ease of use of the CLS system is quite impressive
__________________
If you want memories to cherish, start by making them
Fireflyphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 14th of August 2009 (Fri)   #4
ean36
Member
 
ean36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 625
Default Re: Second Curtain Sync

Second curtin sync can be done with PW's. You will need the MultiMax as your transmitter to pull it off.
__________________
be safe and well. George
7D, 5DIII, 5DII and too much to carry all at once
ean36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of August 2009 (Fri)   #5
tezmo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: Second Curtain Sync

ean could you elaborate on this, please? I have been fretting over this very thing and wondering whether to jump ship from canon completely, so any insight you might be able to offer would be much appreciated
tezmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of August 2009 (Fri)   #6
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,353
Default Re: Second Curtain Sync

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireflyphoto View Post
Not being able to use 2nd curtain with a radio transmitter is a disadvantage. Line of sight is not something that is always possible to achieve.
Just to make sure nobody misunderstood me: Second curtain sync is not possible with Canon's wireless system.
Of the three exclusive sync settings (1st, 2nd and high speed), only 1st and high speed are supported when using the wireless multiple flash systems.

I understand that some want the master/slave (I support keeping that, since in my native tounge there's no problem with it) switch back. I don't want it. I like the fact that the camera can set the mode of the flash, including normal or master. That wouldn't be possible if there's a mechanical switch to control it too, since the camera can't move the switch.
I'd like to see flash settings being coupled to the programmable (C1-C3) modes of my 40D. The flash could perhaps retain the settings from the last session in memory, if used in, say, M mode, but if you switch to C1, the flash settings for that mode should be transferred to the flash as well. At least if the settings were stored for the same type of flash.
There are issues that aren't obvious how to handle, but they can be solved, if you want to.

It would require two hands, but a simple firmware update (can't be done by the user, unfortunately) could allow holding the PILOT key and simultaneosuly pressing one of the four buttons would give you normal, master with flash, master without flash or slave. Instant mode selection, at the cost of one test flash, when you press the PILOT button. If they re-engineer and put a separate shift button there, you don't even need to send the test flash. The advantage of that solution is that a new setting sent from the camera's menu system wouldn't be blocked by a mechanical position of a mode switch.

As for ratios vs. separate settings, I prefer both. Put a general display with reasonable resoultion on the display, and you aren't limited by pre-defined icons. So instead of the A+B+C, A:B or A:B C settings, you could just add a A B C setting (all E-TTL, but with separate FEC for each group). Such a display would also easier be able to display info about even more groups, if they fit into their wireless messaging standard. It would still be nice if this Speedlite 630 EX (just a name I invented now) would be compatible with the old flash guns we have, or at least it has a legacy mode (custom function).
With this added mode, those liking front light are served as before, but those preferring all sorts of directions can use the new mode. If they have problems transferring info for yet another group (more blinking would also cost more power, just prior to the real flash release), then at least the master could have a group of its own.
__________________
Anders

Last edited by apersson850 : 14th of August 2009 (Fri) at 08:28.
apersson850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of August 2009 (Fri)   #7
ean36
Member
 
ean36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 625
Default Re: Second Curtain Sync

Quote:
Originally Posted by tezmo View Post
ean could you elaborate on this, please? I have been fretting over this very thing and wondering whether to jump ship from canon completely, so any insight you might be able to offer would be much appreciated
The MultiMax has a function that delays the trigger based on the shutter speed you program into it. This will work in MANUAL mode only, no ettl. I just bought one to do a McNally style running dancer on the beach. I know it works but haven't yet tried it. I think it will work with any flash that you can connect a PW to.
__________________
be safe and well. George
7D, 5DIII, 5DII and too much to carry all at once

Last edited by ean36 : 14th of August 2009 (Fri) at 13:49.
ean36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second Curtain Sync Jethro790 Small Flash and Studio Lighting 10 30th of October 2007 (Tue) 20:05
Second curtain sync w/ST-E2 tfiorda Small Flash and Studio Lighting 3 3rd of October 2007 (Wed) 14:43
Second Curtain Sync Brandon123 Small Flash and Studio Lighting 4 5th of January 2007 (Fri) 15:43
second curtain sync? statenine Small Flash and Studio Lighting 5 4th of October 2006 (Wed) 17:08
580EX second curtain sync DrDaddio Small Flash and Studio Lighting 2 17th of July 2006 (Mon) 11:08


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.