Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 13 Aug 2009 (Thursday) 19:26
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Second Curtain Sync

 
Fireflyphoto
Hatchling
Fireflyphoto's Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jan 2009
New Zealand
Aug 13, 2009 19:26 |  #1

Is there ANY way of using a Canon 580EXII off camera in second curtain sync (or stroboscopic mode for that matter)?

I would be really grateful to hear from anyone who has managed to do this in some way or another.
Loving off camera flash work, but figuring out that there are great deficiencies in Canon's speedlite line up.

As an aside, is there a way of using second curtain sync on studio strobes?
Currently using Interfit strobes triggered by an Elinchrom Skyport off a 5D.


If you want memories to cherish, start by making them

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,265 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Aug 13, 2009 19:36 |  #2

If you use Canon's wireless system, having another 580 EX II (for example) as a master on the camera, you can indeed use stroboscopic flash with flash guns off camera.

Due to how they've implemented 2nd curtain sync, that can only be used by a flash in the hot shoe on the camera. Hence, the only way of doing that off camera is with an extension cord between the flash and the hot shoe.

great deficiencies in Canon's speedlite line up

Which deficiences are you thinking about?


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
Fireflyphoto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Fireflyphoto's Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jan 2009
New Zealand
Aug 13, 2009 20:48 |  #3

Thanks for that.

As for the deficiencies, I suppose that sounded like a bit of bashing.
Let's call them areaas that would be great with a few improvements.

Saw a great post on PixSylated that expressed a few things quite eloquently
http://pixsylated.com ...canon-speedlite-wishlist/external link

Not being able to use 2nd curtain with a radio transmitter is a disadvantage. Line of sight is not something that is always possible to achieve.

Have been watching a lot of Joe McNally's lessons on Kelby training and must say the control and ease of use of the CLS system is quite impressive


If you want memories to cherish, start by making them

LOG IN TO REPLY
ean36
Senior Member
ean36's Avatar
625 posts
Joined Jun 2006
West Palm Beach, Florida
Aug 14, 2009 07:04 |  #4

Second curtin sync can be done with PW's. You will need the MultiMax as your transmitter to pull it off.


be safe and well. George
7D, 5DIII, 5DII and too much to carry all at once

LOG IN TO REPLY
tezmo
Member
36 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Aug 14, 2009 07:39 |  #5

ean could you elaborate on this, please? I have been fretting over this very thing and wondering whether to jump ship from canon completely, so any insight you might be able to offer would be much appreciated :)


Flickrexternal link | 5d2 | 17-40mm f/4L | 85mm f/1.8 | 135mm f/2L

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,265 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Aug 14, 2009 08:13 |  #6

Fireflyphoto wrote in post #8455974external link
Not being able to use 2nd curtain with a radio transmitter is a disadvantage. Line of sight is not something that is always possible to achieve.

Just to make sure nobody misunderstood me: Second curtain sync is not possible with Canon's wireless system.
Of the three exclusive sync settings (1st, 2nd and high speed), only 1st and high speed are supported when using the wireless multiple flash systems.

I understand that some want the master/slave (I support keeping that, since in my native tounge there's no problem with it) switch back. I don't want it. I like the fact that the camera can set the mode of the flash, including normal or master. That wouldn't be possible if there's a mechanical switch to control it too, since the camera can't move the switch.
I'd like to see flash settings being coupled to the programmable (C1-C3) modes of my 40D. The flash could perhaps retain the settings from the last session in memory, if used in, say, M mode, but if you switch to C1, the flash settings for that mode should be transferred to the flash as well. At least if the settings were stored for the same type of flash.
There are issues that aren't obvious how to handle, but they can be solved, if you want to.

It would require two hands, but a simple firmware update (can't be done by the user, unfortunately) could allow holding the PILOT key and simultaneosuly pressing one of the four buttons would give you normal, master with flash, master without flash or slave. Instant mode selection, at the cost of one test flash, when you press the PILOT button. If they re-engineer and put a separate shift button there, you don't even need to send the test flash. The advantage of that solution is that a new setting sent from the camera's menu system wouldn't be blocked by a mechanical position of a mode switch.

As for ratios vs. separate settings, I prefer both. Put a general display with reasonable resoultion on the display, and you aren't limited by pre-defined icons. So instead of the A+B+C, A:B or A:B C settings, you could just add a A B C setting (all E-TTL, but with separate FEC for each group). Such a display would also easier be able to display info about even more groups, if they fit into their wireless messaging standard. It would still be nice if this Speedlite 630 EX (just a name I invented now) would be compatible with the old flash guns we have, or at least it has a legacy mode (custom function).
With this added mode, those liking front light are served as before, but those preferring all sorts of directions can use the new mode. If they have problems transferring info for yet another group (more blinking would also cost more power, just prior to the real flash release), then at least the master could have a group of its own.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
ean36
Senior Member
ean36's Avatar
625 posts
Joined Jun 2006
West Palm Beach, Florida
Aug 14, 2009 13:33 |  #7

tezmo wrote in post #8458167external link
ean could you elaborate on this, please? I have been fretting over this very thing and wondering whether to jump ship from canon completely, so any insight you might be able to offer would be much appreciated :)

The MultiMax has a function that delays the trigger based on the shutter speed you program into it. This will work in MANUAL mode only, no ettl. I just bought one to do a McNally style running dancer on the beach. I know it works but haven't yet tried it. I think it will work with any flash that you can connect a PW to.


be safe and well. George
7D, 5DIII, 5DII and too much to carry all at once

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,178 views & 0 likes for this thread
Second Curtain Sync
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00106 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is James1989
714 guests, 423 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016