Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 22 Aug 2009 (Saturday) 14:51
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Teleconverters on a crop sensor

 
MikeMcGowan
Member
MikeMcGowan's Avatar
238 posts
Joined May 2009
Bensalem, PA
Aug 22, 2009 14:51 |  #1

I'm going to be picking up a Canon 70-200mm f/4 L(non IS)this week, and I have a 50D. I was planning on getting either a 1.4x or 2x teleconverter later on for extra reach. Since I already have 1.6x crop factor, that makes the lens 112-320 already right? Now if I add either one of the teleconverters does it add onto the already stretched focal length? And what brand of teleconverters do you suggest? I would just go Canon, but I'm sure there's one that's just as good for a smaller amount of money.

Also, if I used the 1.4x converter on this lens, it would make me one stop down to f/6.3. Now does that mean I can't shoot at f/4, or that I can but the amount of light coming in will be equivalent to what it is at f/6.3?


Canon 50D | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 | Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC | Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 | Tamron 90mm f/2.8 | Peleng 8mm f/3.5 | Canon 580ex | Vivitar 285hv(3) | PW Plus II Transceiver(4)
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
joedlh
Goldmember
joedlh's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
Long Island, NY, North America, Sol III, Orion Spur of the Milky Way galaxy.
Aug 22, 2009 14:57 |  #2

The crop factor would be assigned to the lens-teleconverter combination. A 1.4 would make it a 280. Multiply that by 1.6.

Be aware that you will lose two stops with the 2x converter.

Can't help you with other brands.


Joe
Gear: Kodak Instamatic, Polaroid Swinger. Oh you meant gear now. :rolleyes:
http://photo.joedlh.ne​texternal link
Editing ok

LOG IN TO REPLY
SCOTTinNJ
Senior Member
SCOTTinNJ's Avatar
494 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Aug 22, 2009 15:10 |  #3

If you use a 2x on the 70-200 f/4 it will be a minimum of f/8 and you will lose autofocus on the 50D. Better to go with the 1.4x. Reportedly the Tamron/Kenko Pro are just as good as the Canon, and will work with lenses that the Canon version will not.


6D | 30D

17-40 | 24-105 | 70-200
8 | 14 | 35 | 50 | 100 | 1.4x

LOG IN TO REPLY
District_History_Fan
Goldmember
2,286 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Aug 22, 2009 15:23 |  #4

a 1.4 teleconverter would net you a 35mm eqivalent of 448mm, f5.6.


www.ericmcferrin.smugm​ug.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
DreDaze's Avatar
16,620 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Joined Mar 2006
S.F. Bay Area
Aug 22, 2009 15:29 |  #5

if you've never used a FF camera, then you don't really need to do the whole 1.6X to figure anything out...it's just going to cause people to come in here and tell you that your lens really isn't a 112-320mm...it's just the equivalent FOV...and all that...

the kenko 1.4 is a good TC and can be used on other lenses, while the canon can only be used on a few L's i believe...also you do lose 1 stop which as mentioned above is actually 5.6...using a 2x loses two stops so it becomes f/8, and no autofocus...

you don't even have the lens yet right?...i'd wait to see if you even do need the extra reach...


Andre or Dre
gear list
flickr (external link)
my 366 for 2016 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeMcGowan
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
MikeMcGowan's Avatar
238 posts
Joined May 2009
Bensalem, PA
Aug 22, 2009 16:38 |  #6

So me losing one stop means the biggest aperture I can shoot with is f/5.6? As in the camera won't let me go lower, or that I can shoot at f/4 but it's as dark as f/5.6. I'm not too sure, and I am going to wait until after I get the lens to see if I need the extra reach.


Canon 50D | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 | Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC | Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 | Tamron 90mm f/2.8 | Peleng 8mm f/3.5 | Canon 580ex | Vivitar 285hv(3) | PW Plus II Transceiver(4)
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
pwm2
"Sorry for being a noob"
pwm2's Avatar
8,626 posts
Joined May 2007
Sweden
Aug 22, 2009 17:02 |  #7

MikeMcGowan wrote in post #8505423external link
So me losing one stop means the biggest aperture I can shoot with is f/5.6? As in the camera won't let me go lower, or that I can shoot at f/4 but it's as dark as f/5.6. I'm not too sure, and I am going to wait until after I get the lens to see if I need the extra reach.

Note the expression f/4.

There is a mathematical relation between the focal length and the aperture.

When you use a 1.4x extender, you will both multiply the focal length from 200 to 280 and at the same time multiply the possible aperture from 4 to 5.6.

With the 1.4x extender, the camera will not allow you to select any aperture past 5.6. If you tape the extra connectors on the extender, you may fool the camera. It will show a focal length of 200 and a aperture of 4, but in reality you will still have a focal length of 280 and an aperture of 5.6.

Taping the extra contacts on a 2x extender would allow you to autofocus even at f/8, but it will not always work. In low-light situations, then it may hunt which will result in extra wear on the lens. Letting the lens hunt for for a longer time could potentially overheat it.


5DMk2 + BG-E6 | 40D + BG-E2N | 350D + BG-E3 + RC-1 | Elan 7E | Minolta Dimage 7U | (Gear thread)
10-22 | 16-35/2.8 L II | 20-35 | 24-105 L IS | 28-135 IS | 40/2.8 | 50/1.8 II | 70-200/2.8 L IS | 100/2.8 L IS | 100-400 L IS | Sigma 18-200DC
Speedlite 420EZ | Speedlite 580EX | EF 1.4x II | EF 2x II

LOG IN TO REPLY
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
SkipD's Avatar
20,250 posts
Joined Dec 2002
Southeastern WI, USA
Aug 22, 2009 17:27 |  #8

MikeMcGowan wrote in post #8505021external link
I'm going to be picking up a Canon 70-200mm f/4 L(non IS)this week, and I have a 50D. I was planning on getting either a 1.4x or 2x teleconverter later on for extra reach. Since I already have 1.6x crop factor, that makes the lens 112-320 already right? Now if I add either one of the teleconverters does it add onto the already stretched focal length? And what brand of teleconverters do you suggest? I would just go Canon, but I'm sure there's one that's just as good for a smaller amount of money.

Also, if I used the 1.4x converter on this lens, it would make me one stop down to f/6.3. Now does that mean I can't shoot at f/4, or that I can but the amount of light coming in will be equivalent to what it is at f/6.3?

Mike, the part I put in bold in the quote above is NOT correct. A 70-200mm lens is, and always will be, a 70-200mm lens. Nothing can change that.

If you add a 1.4x extender to the 70-200 f/4 lens, then the combination becomes a 98-280mm lens. The maximum aperture becomes one stop smaller (higher f-stop number) with the 1.4x extender. Thus, the maximum aperture of the 70-200 f/4 with a 1.4x extender mounted would be f/5.6.

To the "crop factor" issue... Please read this "sticky" covering the "crop factor". The one thing to understand is that the focal length of a lens DOES NOT CHANGE when putting it on different format camera bodies. Note that "Format" refers to the size of the film frame or digital sensor in a camera. The "crop factor" essentially has one purpose in life. That is to compare the field (angle) of view provided by a particular focal length on two different format cameras, one of which is considered the reference format for the comparison.

The camera manufacturers have decided to use the 35mm film format as the reference format for DSLRs. However, the 35mm film format is not, never has been, and never will be the "master" format against which all other formats are measured. Thus, the current Canon marketing lingo for a 50D reads thusly: "35mm-equivalent focal length is approx. 1.6x the lens focal length". This language is far better than the old "magnification factor" that Canon used to use or even the very common "crop factor" term that you see/hear a lot today.


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeMcGowan
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
MikeMcGowan's Avatar
238 posts
Joined May 2009
Bensalem, PA
Aug 23, 2009 00:05 |  #9

That explains everything, thanks a lot.


Canon 50D | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 | Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC | Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 | Tamron 90mm f/2.8 | Peleng 8mm f/3.5 | Canon 580ex | Vivitar 285hv(3) | PW Plus II Transceiver(4)
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
yogestee's Avatar
13,829 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Joined Dec 2007
Australia
Aug 23, 2009 00:25 |  #10

MikeMcGowan wrote in post #8505021external link
I'm going to be picking up a Canon 70-200mm f/4 L(non IS)this week, and I have a 50D. I was planning on getting either a 1.4x or 2x teleconverter later on for extra reach. Since I already have 1.6x crop factor, that makes the lens 112-320 already right? Now if I add either one of the teleconverters does it add onto the already stretched focal length? And what brand of teleconverters do you suggest? I would just go Canon, but I'm sure there's one that's just as good for a smaller amount of money.

Also, if I used the 1.4x converter on this lens, it would make me one stop down to f/6.3. Now does that mean I can't shoot at f/4, or that I can but the amount of light coming in will be equivalent to what it is at f/6.3?

Mike,,your Canon 70-200mm F/4 will become a 98-280mm F/5.6 with a 1.4x TC

and a 140-400mm F/8 with a 2x TC.. Skip has explained so eloquently what happens with Field of View when comparing APS-C sensors and 35mm..

With either TC your auto focus will suffer and so will some image quality especially with a 2x TC.. With a 1.4x TC it's not too bad..

I have a Tamron SP AF 1.4x TC (the white model) which I team up with my Sigma EX 50-150mm F/2.8 APO with good results if I need that extra reach.. There is a little image degradation but nothing too severe and because the Sigma is a F/2.8 lens auto focus isn't affected too much..


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~GoPro Hero4 Silver~S95

http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

3,050 views & 0 likes for this thread
Teleconverters on a crop sensor
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00093 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is LouieF
743 guests, 562 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016