LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Firmware hack Rebel XTi /400D enables ISO 3200, Spot metering!

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 24 Aug 2009 (Monday) 15:23   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
griptape
Goldmember
Joined Feb 2007
2,036 posts
Home
[MORE/SHARE]

frogcement wrote in post #9002601external link
Quite simple, to keep the price's of the xxD line artificially higher, it's
nothing new companies do it all the time. It's cheaper to use the same hardware and just disable stuff in software than to make a whole other line of sensors.

You're still missing the point. The XTi was the current Rebel when the 30D was released. The 30D didn't have native ISO 3200, and the 40D didn't have native ISO 3200. Both were software pushed. So two generations of cameras that COULD have had native ISO 3200 without cutting into sales of anything didn't for what reason?

Post #361, Nov 18, 2009 06:55:59




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
g3org3y
Senior Member
g3org3y's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
551 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Great link, thanks for sharing. Followed the instructions and got it to work on 3x 4 GB memory cards.

Any update as to whether this ISO3200 is genuine or just a software overexposure situation?

Post #362, Nov 23, 2009 07:45:39


EOS 400D, Sigma 10-20, Tamron 17 -50, Nifty Fifty f/1.8, Canon 100 f/2, 70-200L f/4, Speedlite 430EX II.

LOG IN TO REPLY
JustmeinTennessee
Senior Member
JustmeinTennessee's Avatar
Joined Nov 2009
136 posts
East Tennessee
[MORE/SHARE]

Love this! I did both of my cards - THANK YOU! :)

Post #363, Nov 25, 2009 09:11:24


My Flickrexternal link Photostream

LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
WaltA's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
3,400 posts
White Rock, BC, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

g3org3y wrote in post #9066401external link
Great link, thanks for sharing. Followed the instructions and got it to work on 3x 4 GB memory cards.

Any update as to whether this ISO3200 is genuine or just a software overexposure situation?

If you read this thread further back - around post 326 - (or the other chdk one the developers) you'll see that this is just an "unlock" of an already available capability in the Xti.

no PUSH involved.

Post #364, Nov 25, 2009 15:24:47


Canon 5D, 7D, 400D | Canon EF-S 17-85, 70-300 IS, 28-105/3.5 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
havik03
Senior Member
havik03's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
444 posts
HOUSTON
[MORE/SHARE]

ok exactly how do you do this? where is the file i need to dowload..

Post #365, Nov 25, 2009 23:56:41


flickrexternal link KEM CAMexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
WaltA
Goldmember
WaltA's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
3,400 posts
White Rock, BC, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

havik03 wrote in post #9084205external link
ok exactly how do you do this? where is the file i need to dowload..

Go back to post 1 - it has all the updated instructions.

Post #366, Nov 26, 2009 11:59:13


Canon 5D, 7D, 400D | Canon EF-S 17-85, 70-300 IS, 28-105/3.5 |

LOG IN TO REPLY
g3org3y
Senior Member
g3org3y's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
551 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

WaltA wrote in post #9081566external link
If you read this thread further back - around post 326 - (or the other chdk one the developers) you'll see that this is just an "unlock" of an already available capability in the Xti.

no PUSH involved.

I did try to read the whole thing, but it didn't seem conclusive to me.

I'm happy though, works v well. :)

Still need to find a use for those focus patterns though!

Post #367, Nov 26, 2009 16:54:53


EOS 400D, Sigma 10-20, Tamron 17 -50, Nifty Fifty f/1.8, Canon 100 f/2, 70-200L f/4, Speedlite 430EX II.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Oberlaa
Member
Joined Mar 2009
57 posts
Vienna, Austria
[MORE/SHARE]

Hello,

I installed the hack on my 400D, which I bought as a 2nd hand several month ago,
and it works very well.

At that time I spent a lot of time to find out the number of shutter activations, with no success.

But now with help of this hack it is quite easy :cool:
Also the ISO setting and spot metering seems to work fine, although not yet tested in detail...

Thanks a lot for this very helpfull information :lol:

BR

Werner

P.S.

My stdout.txt shows the following value:

*** unofficial information ***

ReleaseCount: 5060

Hope that I have at least another 5000 shutter releases... :grin:

Post #368, Nov 27, 2009 15:15:18 as a reply to g3org3y's post 22 hours earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
havik03
Senior Member
havik03's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
444 posts
HOUSTON
[MORE/SHARE]

looks confusing to do

Post #369, Nov 27, 2009 20:17:25


flickrexternal link KEM CAMexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
Senior Member
Joined Apr 2009
821 posts
Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

Oberlaa wrote in post #9092339external link
ReleaseCount: 5060
Hope that I have at least another 5000 shutter releases... :grin:

I'm above 18,000 last time I checked.

1 Shutter replacement. That was probably only at 15,000.

Post #370, Nov 27, 2009 22:12:54


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

LOG IN TO REPLY
monst0r
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
237 posts
New Jersey
[MORE/SHARE]

havik03 wrote in post #9093677external link
looks confusing to do

It's really not too bad. If you have any trouble along the way (like I did), just search through this thread and I'm sure it will be answered. My only problem is that I tried to do it when it was first released, and then retried with the updated instructions. I was using an outdated CardTricks, I doubt you will have that problem. Good luck! It's worth it.

Post #371, Nov 27, 2009 22:16:01


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
SilverRS
Junior Member
SilverRS's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
29 posts
Burnaby, BC, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

Couldn't sleep tonight.. so I did the hack. :) Instructions were top notch. Follow it step by step and you can't screw it up!

Something new to learn now with the spot metering..

I just gotta remember to Delete All pictures instead of formatting my card everytime I want it cleared.

With regards to the Release Count - I don't know how accurate the release count is though. STDOUT.TXT says RC is 12723 for my second hand XTi, even though I know I took at least 6000 shots since I got it and the previous owner said he took 8000 pics or so (filename starts with 8134 when I acquired it). Anyone know if sequence # changes when u change from JPG to RAW? Not a big deal but kind of strange.

Thanks for making this hack!

Post #372, Nov 28, 2009 07:50:59 as a reply to monst0r's post 9 hours earlier.


PoweredByAloe.comexternal link : : flickrexternal link
2012 - Canon 7D Gripped
2009 - Canon XTi Gripped
Lenses - 50mm F1.8, 10-22, 70-200 F2.8 IS, 430EXII.... 18-55

LOG IN TO REPLY
cgpeanut
Member
cgpeanut's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
63 posts
smyrna, tn
[MORE/SHARE]

This hack works in Windows 7 Ultimate. Only issues I encountered was I reformatted my 4GB Sandisk Extreme III to FAT, bootable button in Cardtricks143 was grayed out if your filesystem is FAT32.

:)

Thanks!

Post #373, Nov 29, 2009 09:26:28 as a reply to post 8521426


1DMK2 - XTi - BG-E3 Grip - Canon EF 70-200mm f4L USM - Canon EF 24-70mm f2.8L USM - Canon EF 100mm macro f2.8 - Canon 50mm f1.8 nifty fifty - Canon 580EXII - Crumpler 7MDH - Gitzo Explorer Tripod - Manfrotto 488RC2 Ballhead - KIRK BL-MARK II L-Plate - Kirk QCR-2 Plate

LOG IN TO REPLY
DC ­ Fan
Cream of the Crop
DC Fan's Avatar
Joined Oct 2005
5,728 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Praise and endorsement for the hack's increase of an XTi's highest ISO to 3200, a big increase in usability when combined with Imagenomic's Noiseware.

At first glance, the hack instructions appeared to be too complex to be useful. That was wrong.

Using ISO 3200 for indoor sports has made faster shutter speeds possible, and that's improved the images of the sporting events. Applying the batch conversion from Noiseware has taken care of the higher noise that results from the ISO 3200 setting. Examples in this thread.

The hack and Noiseware combination has made lenses such as the 70-300mm IS USM far more useful. At US $30 for Noiseware, it's a far more affordable and practical combination than faster lenses.

Post #374, Nov 29, 2009 14:17:42 as a reply to cgpeanut's post 4 hours earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Gary ­ Wiant
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2009
516 posts
Shpenville, Pa
[MORE/SHARE]

is there a Hack like this for the XT? The low ISO is one of the reasons I upgraded to a 50D

Post #375, Nov 29, 2009 17:02:42 as a reply to post 8521426


Gary Wiant
1D mkIII - Canon Lenses - 70-200mm F2.8 IS Mk II - 24-105L f4 - 50 f1.4 - 100 2.8 Macro - 1.4x VIII & 2x VII extenders - 540EXII Flash, Flash Zebra SF-18 Ext. Battery Pack, Kenko Extension Tubes - Manfroto Macro Bracket - Lensalign Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
445,912 views & 0 likes for this thread
Firmware hack Rebel XTi /400D enables ISO 3200, Spot metering!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00108 for 5 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
790 guests, 508 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is PhotoKraze

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.