Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th of September 2010 (Sat)   #1561
pridash
Goldmember
 
pridash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UK - Where 30 degrees celcius is considered a heatwave and liable to result in death.
Posts: 3,551
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by disboifan View Post
This was shot upstairs in my house without a black background so I had to edit out the background which was a pain the arse.

Strobist info is here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dphan/4988869009/

Nice! Funny did a similar shot today but with blue and red gels...again on a non-black background, but got too lazy to edit it all out!!
__________________
Pradeep (but most people call me PJ)

Flickr | Website | Facebook

Stop obsessing about gear and focus on your own art and creativity. Nurture and love the artist inside yourself.
pridash is offline  
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of September 2010 (Sat)   #1562
spesmeadeus
Member
 
spesmeadeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 982
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

one of my 6 month old daughter

cc anyone!
spesmeadeus is offline  
Old 18th of September 2010 (Sat)   #1563
ElijahEOS
Member
 
ElijahEOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 839
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!










On MY monitor u can't see the background at all. Not sure what it looks like on ya'lls
ElijahEOS is offline  
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1564
danielc118
Member
 
danielc118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 219
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

on my calibrated U2711 I can see the background, and on my uncalibrated chimei 22" I can clearly see the background.
danielc118 is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1565
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
 
FlyingPhotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Probably Chasing Aircraft
Posts: 57,558
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

I can see it on my iPad...
__________________
"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.
FlyingPhotog is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1566
JayStar86
Goldmember
 
JayStar86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: VanCity, BC
Posts: 3,528
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielc118 View Post
on my calibrated U2711 I can see the background, and on my uncalibrated chimei 22" I can clearly see the background.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingPhotog View Post
I can see it on my iPad...
on a 15" mbp and i can clearly see the background as well.
__________________
---Jay---
Gear and Feedback
flikr
"I have taken my flash off my camera as God intended it to be and put a pocket-wizard there." - Zach Arias
JayStar86 is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1567
gotglade
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 306
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayStar86 View Post
on a 15" mbp and i can clearly see the background as well.
Same on my 17" MBP.
__________________
Glade
gotglade is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1568
mikekelley
"Meow! Bark! Honk! Hiss! Grrr! Tweet!"
 
mikekelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,315
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

lol yeah your monitor needs some serious help, my friend! i see it on both my mbp and ips panel.
mikekelley is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1569
yagit80
Senior Member
 
yagit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MANILA & DOWN UNDER
Posts: 1,257
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

My very first time with OCF/STROBES test shots!

B1600 22" HOWBD with grid and sock main
B800 shoot thru umbrella cam right





yagit80 is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1570
picard
Senior Member
 
picard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMR Design View Post
Good idea Jeff.

I'll help get the ball rolling.
This is the shot I posted over in the other thread and another one from the same shoot of Stefanie.

The first shot was with a 53" Octa on camera left with a large white reflector at camera right and the second shot is with a 24" x 32" Softbox with grid at camera left and white reflector at camera right.




What lens did you use for this portrait shot ?
__________________
Canon 1DM4,7D, Rebel XT
580 EX II, 430 EX II
Canon 70-200mm IS II L , Canon 85mm F1.2 L II, Canon macro 100mm F/2.8, 18-55mm kit
Sigma 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6, Sigma 10-22mm, Sigma 50mm F/1.4
Sigma 24-70mm F/2.8 EX DG HSM
picard is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1571
newnan3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 118
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMR Design View Post
Two 14" x 55" gridded strip boxes.



Hi Rob,

Great work!

What color paper are you using here?
newnan3 is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1572
ElijahEOS
Member
 
ElijahEOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 839
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Yeah my monitor has some DEEP blacks. Its the 24" iMac. It looks perfect on my monitor and actually exactly how I want it. On other monitors with brighter displays it is able to be seen.

I need to figure out how to adjust my monitor without a color calibrator. I have no clue how to do if on a MAC.
ElijahEOS is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1573
TMR Design
Cream of the Crop
 
TMR Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
Posts: 23,878
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by picard View Post
What lens did you use for this portrait shot ?
The first image was shot with the Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8 VR and the second with the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8.

That second image has recently been re-retouched, as my pp and retouching skills have vastly improved since those images were shot.
__________________
Please call me Robert or Rob, not TMR
Gear List & Feedback | The Lighting Academy

"Art is the elimination of the unnecessary." - Pablo Picasso
TMR Design is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1574
TMR Design
Cream of the Crop
 
TMR Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
Posts: 23,878
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by newnan3 View Post
Hi Rob,

Great work!

What color paper are you using here?
Thank you. I do a lot of this type of work on Savage Super White seamless paper. I like the Super White over standard White because of the greater reflectivity.
__________________
Please call me Robert or Rob, not TMR
Gear List & Feedback | The Lighting Academy

"Art is the elimination of the unnecessary." - Pablo Picasso
TMR Design is offline  
Old 19th of September 2010 (Sun)   #1575
ElijahEOS
Member
 
ElijahEOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 839
Default Re: Using MULTIPLE strobes - creative examples - post yours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElijahEOS View Post
Yeah my monitor has some DEEP blacks. Its the 24" iMac. It looks perfect on my monitor and actually exactly how I want it. On other monitors with brighter displays it is able to be seen.

I need to figure out how to adjust my monitor without a color calibrator. I have no clue how to do if on a MAC.
didnt want this to get lost at the bottom of the page.....
ElijahEOS is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photek Softlighter Users w/ strobes - problems and post examples Rock Photo Star Small Flash and Studio Lighting 25 30th of August 2013 (Fri) 17:06
Using a single strobe - creative examples - post yours sfaust Small Flash and Studio Lighting 9981 9th of December 2010 (Thu) 01:17
Shooting a Room with Multiple Strobes LeggNet Still Life, B/W & Experimental 0 11th of June 2007 (Mon) 18:09


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.