How much to charge for senior pictures???

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre People Talk
Thread started 22 Oct 2009 (Thursday) 07:05   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

draw4u
Joined Jul 2009
166 posts
Missouri
[MORE/SHARE]

Well, I had a lady contact me a couple weeks ago after seeing my friends senior pictures that I took (http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=763786) and she asked me if I would be interested in taking her sons. I was very honest with her and let her know that I am new to this and I sent her multiple examples of pictures that I have taken so she could see the quality that I was capable of providing her. I also explained to her that I do NOT have a studio so I would not be able to get some of the typical "studio" shots that some other places could provide her either. She has looked at the examples and has now come back and wants me to give her a ballpark price for taking her sons shots now and she said she really likes the quality of the examples that I provided to her. Here is a list of the differnt shots that she would like for me to take:

a. Bow and arrow in his camo
b. All his duck hunting gear
c. Deer hunting rifle & attire
d. Football
e. Baseball
f. Wrestling
g. One with him and his truck
h. Random outdoor shots

I have hunted and played all of these sports for years so I am sure I can find great outdoor locations for these and get pretty creative on them but this is alot of time and changing locations!!! My question is this, what do you think a fair price would be for her and I both if I was to do this and we took pictures in all of these different locations and outfits? I want it to be fair to her and I both, if that is possible, but I also want to get paid for the time that it will take me, which I am guessing will be 4-5 hours total and then I am sure we will end up with a couple hundred shots that I will give to her on a CD? And yes, I will be doing some minor touch-ups, crops, etc, but she will take care of all of the printing.