Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th of June 2005 (Sat)   #1
dennykyser
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 935
Default Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

I have never had the desire to do this before but I am playing with lighting more and more and wondering if this is possible. I am wondering if I can hook the lap top to the camera and see a preview of the picture on the lap top as I take them. If its in the manual dont flame me, I have been working so many hours I have not had a chance to read ever page of the manual.


Shooting with Canon 20D, 10D Windows XP on Dell laptop
__________________
Gear
Website
SportsShooters
MaxPreps
dennykyser is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of June 2005 (Sat)   #2
gasrocks
Cream of the Crop
 
gasrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portage, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 13,431
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

There is a video out. You can review pix on a monitor. Quick, easy way to show you or client what you are getting.
__________________
GEAR LIST
__________________
gasrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2005 (Sat)   #3
thanhda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

EOSViewer, the software which comes with the camera, does allow you to connect the camera to your PC using the white USB cabble and you can use the software to control the camera & shoot. However, you won't see a preview image on PC before shooting.

The benefit? Images go straight to your PC instead of your flashcard and you can view your pics right away in a bigger screen than your small in-camera LCD. I found it very useful in my autofocus practice shoot
thanhda is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of June 2005 (Sat)   #4
dennykyser
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 935
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

Thanks guys for the quick replys. I will have to check this out will be a great tool in controlling the light.
__________________
Gear
Website
SportsShooters
MaxPreps
dennykyser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2005 (Sat)   #5
triangle
Member
 
triangle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 127
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanhda
EOSViewer, the software which comes with the camera, does allow you to connect the camera to your PC using the white USB cabble and you can use the software to control the camera & shoot. However, you won't see a preview image on PC before shooting.

The benefit? Images go straight to your PC instead of your flashcard and you can view your pics right away in a bigger screen than your small in-camera LCD. I found it very useful in my autofocus practice shoot

You can also have it write to the card as well as the hard drive. I tried this on a shoot but it took L-O-N-G, so I disconnected it and went back to shooting without the laptop. Now the laptop does not have a hi-speed USB and that may be the reason it was slow. I like the concept, but just found it to be slow maybe with faster equipment it would be worthwhile. I remember it was called "Remote Capture". If you have the time it is great, but I was shooting a team with a line waiting. I felt rushed and gave up, but I will try it again if I get ahold of a hi-speed capable laptop.
__________________
Canon is Superb
triangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2005 (Sat)   #6
dmaster
Junior Member
 
dmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

Hi, I don't post much but would like to add to this thread that if you don't have a hi-speed USB port presently on your laptop it is very inexpensive to purchase a PCMCIA Card with two or four USB 2.0 slots on it. peace.
__________________
"There are no rules for those whom are love."
http://theprayeroftheday.com
-= }D} }|\/|{aster =-
dmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2005 (Sat)   #7
triangle
Member
 
triangle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 127
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmaster
Hi, I don't post much but would like to add to this thread that if you don't have a hi-speed USB port presently on your laptop it is very inexpensive to purchase a PCMCIA Card with two or four USB 2.0 slots on it. peace.
Thanks for the heads up dmaster.
__________________
Canon is Superb
triangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of June 2005 (Sun)   #8
CyberPet
Hiding Under a Rock
 
CyberPet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piteň, Sweden
Posts: 4,052
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

Capture One Pro lets you shoot directly into the computer. Works with the Canon 20D. Also, Canon have their own software for this as well.
__________________
/Petra Hall
Click here to view my geeky gear list
I shoot as much as possible in available light... sometimes, my flash is available ľ Joe Buissink
CyberPet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of June 2005 (Sun)   #9
Andrew Pratt
Member
 
Andrew Pratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada
Posts: 449
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

I doubt adding a high speed USB card would help much if you only had the 300D's since its USB connection is only 1.1 so that's the bottleneck..the 20D is USB 2.0 though so it would benefit nicely.
__________________
Canon Rebel XT, Kit lens & SD800IS
Andrew Pratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of September 2010 (Fri)   #10
freshcargo
Member
 
freshcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 361
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

bump, can someone please update on the best way to connect while shooting. is it possible with 7D supplied software? I have managed to do it but I think there is a better way. thanks in advance.
__________________
1DsMk III, 5DII, 17-40L. 135L. 70-200mmL II. 50mm F/1.4
freshcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of September 2010 (Fri)   #11
mkville
Member
 
mkville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Burlington Ontario
Posts: 926
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

On the Digital Photo Professional CD supplied there is a utility that can do this, not sure which one off hand, but I have played with this in the past and it works great.

Whats the way you have done it
__________________
Mark

5D II|Tammy 28-75|35 1.4L |85 1.8
Flick
Site
mkville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of September 2010 (Fri)   #12
lannes
Goldmember
 
lannes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 4,374
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

Free: EOS Utility
More expensive: Lightroom 3.2 (not as functional as EOS Utility)
__________________
1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

Last edited by lannes : 24th of September 2010 (Fri) at 10:39.
lannes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of September 2010 (Fri)   #13
kf095
Cream of the Crop
 
kf095's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada, Ontario, Milton
Posts: 5,578
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

I have done this with 500D and free Canon software EOS utility provided with camera.
It is same as Live View on the camera and works really great for macro photography of still objects. You’ll have full control of your camera from this utility including camera 10x zoom. If 20D actually supports it.
__________________
Site. Flickr. DigitaL and AnaLog Gear.
kf095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of September 2010 (Fri)   #14
freshcargo
Member
 
freshcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 361
Default Re: Conecting Camera to Laptop while shooting?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkville View Post
On the Digital Photo Professional CD supplied there is a utility that can do this, not sure which one off hand, but I have played with this in the past and it works great.

Whats the way you have done it
I used DPP. I could not find "EOSViewer" that was mentioned, I thought I might be missing something.

thanks for the replies.
__________________
1DsMk III, 5DII, 17-40L. 135L. 70-200mmL II. 50mm F/1.4
freshcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camera to laptop jbravi RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 20th of February 2007 (Tue) 20:09
camera/laptop backpack (uk) rick j Classifieds: Buy 0 27th of December 2006 (Wed) 17:00
30D shooting tethered to a laptop obeaman Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 9th of November 2006 (Thu) 00:47
shooting cirect to laptop Procarlos The Business of Photography 1 14th of March 2006 (Tue) 08:02
BAG FOR CAMERA AND LAPTOP Steve Parr Accessories & Storage 23 4th of October 2005 (Tue) 19:57


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.