Thread started 17 Nov 2009 (Tuesday) 07:43   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

Kingfisher_009
Mostly Lurking
Joined Jun 2009
13 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi everyone!

I'm a bird photographer and I'm thinking of buying the 7D, but I've heard that it's very soft, is that true?
I've seen somewhere that the 7D is softer than the XSI (450D) and much softer than the 50D or any other of Canon's new DSLR cameras.
Is it still a good choice instead of the 50D or something? Now I have the XSI (450D)

Sander Broström

http://www.regulusphot​o.com/external link

Post #1, Nov 17, 2009 07:43:24

Sander Broström, Sweden
Canon Eos 7D, Canon Eos 450D, Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM, Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L USM

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Rai33
Goldmember
Joined Jan 2009
1,827 posts
Sydney
[MORE/SHARE]

no and yes

!

Post #2, Nov 17, 2009 07:48:47

Portfolio - Fashion/Beautyexternal link
Portfolio - Kidsexternal link
Model Mayhemexternal link
Flickrexternal link

apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Joined Nov 2007
10,711 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

I think I know which tests you are referring to.

I've read these tests, and found that they tested two things.

1. If you stop down a lens a lot, does then the 7D, which has an 18 Megapixel sensor, have a better ability to detect diffraction than cameras with lower resolution?
Not too surprising, the answer was yes.

2. If you take photos with the 18 Megapixel 7D and compare them with photos taken with cameras with lower resolution, but you don't take any advantage of the fact that the high resolution images produced by the 7D does allow for more sharpening than the others, does the 7D then seem to produce soft images?

To be a bit more realistic/fair than these testers were, I'll add that when you sharpen the images from the 7D, you also sharpen the noise, which more or less negates the resolution advantage, at least at lower ISO.