Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 17th of November 2009 (Tue)   #1
Kingfisher_009

Default Canon Eos 7D --- Soft?

Hi everyone!

I'm a bird photographer and I'm thinking of buying the 7D, but I've heard that it's very soft, is that true?
I've seen somewhere that the 7D is softer than the XSI (450D) and much softer than the 50D or any other of Canon's new DSLR cameras.
Is it still a good choice instead of the 50D or something? Now I have the XSI (450D)

Sander Broström

http://www.regulusphoto.com/
Kingfisher_009 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of November 2009 (Tue)   #2
Rai33

Default Re: Canon Eos 7D --- Soft?

no and yes

!
Rai33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of November 2009 (Tue)   #3
apersson850
Cream of the Crop

I think I know which tests you are referring to.

I've read these tests, and found that they tested two things.

1. If you stop down a lens a lot, does then the 7D, which has an 18 Megapixel sensor, have a better ability to detect diffraction than cameras with lower resolution?
Not too surprising, the answer was yes.

2. If you take photos with the 18 Megapixel 7D and compare them with photos taken with cameras with lower resolution, but you don't take any advantage of the fact that the high resolution images produced by the 7D does allow for more sharpening than the others, does the 7D then seem to produce soft images?

To be a bit more realistic/fair than these testers were, I'll add that when you sharpen the images from the 7D, you also sharpen the noise, which more or less negates the resolution advantage, at least at lower ISO.
Old 17th of November 2009 (Tue)   #4
Waldemar Sikorski
Goldmember

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/top...01/136#7765183