Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd of December 2009 (Thu)   #1
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,931
Default DPP and Win7 64 bit

Hey all!

I picked up a new little laptop with 64 bit Win7 on Black Friday. BTW, Win7 seems to move along pretty good, I'm pretty please.

So, I'm looking to install DPP, and I wondered if there are 1) any issues, 2) the Canon Web site shows Vista 64 bit (not Win7) -- any problems with the Vista 64 bit on Win7? 3) Will the same registry patch that worked on my XP machine to install without a disk work with Win7-64, or will I need a different patch?

My disks are so out of sight and mind I don't know where to start looking, so I figured some of you who are up to speed with Win7-64 might know. Thanks!!!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of December 2009 (Thu)   #2
HankScorpio
Goldmember
 
HankScorpio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England, baby!
Posts: 2,700
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

It works fine for me on Win 7 64bit. I don't use it often but it does run and hasn't crashed. I've not found anything that worked under Vista that now doesn't work under 7.

I did install a downloaded version with the original disk in the drive though so I'm not sure on the patch but if it's something the installer looks for then the registry in 7 works the same as Vista so it should be fine.
__________________
My collection of boxes with holes
EXIF semper intacta.
Gort! Klaatu barada nikto.
HankScorpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of December 2009 (Thu)   #3
johnknap
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Works fine for me also on Win7 64
johnknap is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of December 2009 (Thu)   #4
Littlefield
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SC, USA
Posts: 1,080
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Works fine and even my old RSP is smooth with windows 7 64 .
Littlefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of December 2009 (Thu)   #5
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
 
Lowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
Posts: 12,817
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Tony,

Not trying to worry you but I had problems with the DPP 3.7.2 update on my XP machine and was forced to do a complete uninstall, then reload my original CD version of DPP before finally loading the update. Canon were unable to offer a better alternative. You may have to find those CD's, crazy as it is!
__________________
Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfolio.com
Lowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of December 2009 (Thu)   #6
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,931
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Hey, thanks all!

So, one more question: when they specify Vista 64 as the OS, does there seem to be a difference performance-wise over the "regular" 32 bit XP/Vista version?
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of December 2009 (Thu)   #7
cfurlo
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 239
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

I don't know about your specific questions with 7, but if you can't find your discs, call Canon, they sent them to me for free.
__________________
Canon 10D/ 50D/ 70-200 f/2.8 L IS/ 28-135 IS/ 50 f/1.8, Tokina 11-16 2.8, 430 EX II, 580 EX II.
cfurlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of December 2009 (Thu)   #8
bohdank
Cream of the Crop
 
bohdank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 14,060
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

I'm running DPP on Win 7 64 bit. Runs perfectly fine.

I don't know about the registry fix, though.
__________________
Bohdan - I may be, and probably am, completely wrong.
Gear List

Montreal Concert, Event and Portrait Photographer
Flickr
bohdank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of December 2009 (Fri)   #9
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,931
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Hey thanks all -- I've never been a DPP user, Photoshop and Lightroom, but recently installed it on my XP workstation so I could get to know it and provide some semblance of intelligent discussion here on POTN, hence the long-missing disks (I'll have to google "home search Canon disks").

Anyway, just trying to get this laptop set up with some stuff, thanks for your input!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of December 2009 (Sat)   #10
Hen3Ry
Member
 
Hen3Ry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Aptos, CA, USA
Posts: 962
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonylong View Post
Hey, thanks all!

So, one more question: when they specify Vista 64 as the OS, does there seem to be a difference performance-wise over the "regular" 32 bit XP/Vista version?
Some people claim yes. I'm not so sure there is a measurable and visible overall performance increase going from Vista/32 to w7/64, but it does boot faster, seems more stable (I've been using W7 for six or eight months without a crash) and of course, you can have much larger images without bogging down in paging, etc. Since PS WIndows is 64 bit, this works well, though you may be surprised at how easy it is to use up 8GB of RAM.

For me the bottom line is that it's a much nicer GUI, and simply works better. The modifications to networking are almost enough reason to upgrade. Even so, my machine has OSX SL on it as well, and I wind up using that much more than W7.
Hen3Ry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of December 2009 (Wed)   #11
Dooms_day
Member
 
Dooms_day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 509
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

works great for me, except to export a raw photo to a jpeg, it seems to take some time. must be my processor (3.0 with 2 cores)
__________________
Canon EOS-1D mk ii + 70-200 4.0 USM L + Sigma 28-70mm 2.8-4 + Nifty 50
500px - Google+
Dooms_day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of December 2009 (Wed)   #12
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,931
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Hey All!

I'm reviving my thread because I got some new info!

I did some googling and found one specific reference to this matter which may be meaningful -- a forum had a post that was Win 64 specific for the registry hack, which was what I was wondering about, and here are the entries he gave for the registry:

Quote:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\EOS Utility]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\DPP]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\Zoom Browser EX]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\Zoom Browser EX\Settings]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\Zoom Browser EX\Install]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\Phot oStitch
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\EOS Capture]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\EOSV iewerUtility]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\ODSK]
For those who have not done this with your Win7 64 bit system, the instructions are the same as a 32-bit system: paste these lines into a text file, then rename the .txt file with a .reg extension. This makes the file automatically associated to the Registry, so you can double-cick it to "install" these lines into the registry. After that you should be able to install a version of DPP that is listed as supporting Vista 64 bit, such as the 7D software, although I don't believe that DPP will actually be "64 bit" any time soon.

Be forewarned, though, that "hacking" the registry has risks -- if "bad" stuff gets in there it can crash your system -- you'd likey have to do a "safe mode" reboot and try to "unhack" things (or do a System Restore) so do this at your own risk.

Well, try it if you want and post back your results, good bad or ugly!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of December 2009 (Fri)   #13
fredschulz
Junior Member
 
fredschulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Caution on the above post. The copy leaves some spaces that i do not think should be there, although I could be wrong.

Examples are:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\Phot oStitch
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\EOS Capture]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Canon\EOSV iewerUtility]


I do not think the spaces in Phot oStitch, EOS Capture and EOSV iewerUtility

Also I do not think the line:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

should be there either.

Perhaps Tony can clarify.

Regards,
fredschulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of December 2009 (Fri)   #14
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,931
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

Yikes, I didn't even notice those blanks! Thanks for catching that!

From looking at the 32 bit reg file, it looks like photostitch and EOSViewerUtility should (obviously) be one word, but there is a blank between all ZoomBrowser EX settings, but I hope I'm not mistaken!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of December 2009 (Fri)   #15
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,931
Default Re: DPP and Win7 64 bit

I'll add -- I don't know what happened to the copy/paste of that post -- my txt file looks fine, but the paste to the forum came across with the added blanks. Sorry, all!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CS2 on Win7 64? 02bfishn Computers 0 26th of November 2009 (Thu) 08:48
Win7 64bit + 20D = no more tethering? BluewookieJim Computers 5 17th of November 2009 (Tue) 09:24
A tale of two (Win7) systems... egordon99 Computers 7 13th of November 2009 (Fri) 20:39
Help Win7 environmental Variables lens pirate Computers 4 31st of October 2009 (Sat) 23:21
remote shooting 5d with win7 x64 sangosimo Computers 2 17th of June 2009 (Wed) 11:06


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.