Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 16th of June 2005 (Thu)   #1
schmoelzel
Lord of the Holy Trinity

Default Mini Review - Canon 35/f1.4 L

Well, as many of you know I recently purchased this very scarce and hard-to-find-in-stock lens. I have had a few PM's and emails asking me my various opinions of the 35F1.4 L and while I am no pro equipment reviewer, maybe my humble thoughts will be of some interest to someone!

First the lens............here's a picture of my 50F1.4 and the 35F1.4 side by side. As you can see, the 35 has more heft and is twice the size. It is also finished in typical L glass fashion; feels solid and weight is just right on my Canon 1D.........

Some questions that I have received in the last few days after I posted some of my first shots with this lens:

Is it sharp? In a word, YES! I have a real weakness for sharpness and this lens does not disappoint. The DoF wide open is very narrow especially when you are close to your subject and that is where your focus point is critical. You can really get some crazy DoF effects if you tilt the camera and play around with the plane of focus.

Is it heavy? I find it the perfect weight with my 1D. It is easy to carry around (much easier than my 300 F4!!) but feels very stable. I have read over and over again that those with this lens feel 'inspired' when they have this attached to their camera body.