Thread started 16 Jun 2005 (Thursday) 12:10   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

schmoelzel
Lord of the Holy Trinity
Joined Aug 2001
1,886 posts
London (Canada)
[MORE/SHARE]

Well, as many of you know I recently purchased this very scarce and hard-to-find-in-stock lens. I have had a few PM's and emails asking me my various opinions of the 35F1.4 L and while I am no pro equipment reviewer, maybe my humble thoughts will be of some interest to someone! :)

First the lens............here's a picture of my 50F1.4 and the 35F1.4 side by side. As you can see, the 35 has more heft and is twice the size. It is also finished in typical L glass fashion; feels solid and weight is just right on my Canon 1D.........

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE

Some questions that I have received in the last few days after I posted some of my first shots with this lens:

Is it sharp? In a word, YES! I have a real weakness for sharpness and this lens does not disappoint. The DoF wide open is very narrow especially when you are close to your subject and that is where your focus point is critical. You can really get some crazy DoF effects if you tilt the camera and play around with the plane of focus.

Is it heavy? I find it the perfect weight with my 1D. It is easy to carry around (much easier than my 300 F4!!) but feels very stable. I have read over and over again that those with this lens feel 'inspired' when they have this attached to their camera body.

Is the bokeh nice? I love to isolate the subject from its' background and this lens has that ability in spades. I have noticed in the past couple of days that when I take shots further away from the subject, the background becomes less blurred but the subject seems to 'pop' out of picture. I think this is to do with the incredible contrast that this lens produces. Much the same effect that you get from the 135F2 L.........some refer to it as a '3-D' look.