Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 20 Dec 2009 (Sunday) 16:11
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Is it the CF card or the 7D

 
Khamelion
Member
91 posts
Joined Jun 2006
North East England
Dec 20, 2009 16:11 |  #1

Bit of a strange one this, 3 weeks ago I bought my 7D not had much time to play with it, needless to say it only has 100 photos taken so far.

At time of purchase I bought a 16gb SanDisk Extreme 60MB/s UDMA CF card, which I've had in the camera since purchase.

Today when out taking a few shots I got the message

"Card cannot be accessed. Reinsert/change the card or format card with camera."

I can't format the card in the camera, I just get told

"Cannot format. Change card"

So I changed the card, 3 times, with two 1gb Lexar and one 2gb Lexar card, all of which had the same issue.

So I put in my cheap and nasty emergency only card and the 7D was happy.

Then I decided to put the cards my 7D would not recognize into my 20D and straight away no issue, the 20D formatted the cards.

So I put the 20D formatted cards into the 7D and low and behold the 7D recognized the card and allowed me to format them.

But, alas, when I thought the issue was sorted, I put the 16gb SanDisk back into the 7D and took some more shots, only to find the same error happening again.

I'm thinking it's the 7D as all the cards work without problem in my 20D.

So what so you think, broken cards or broken 7D?


--
Kind Regards
Dave
http://www.resoluteima​ges.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
joeseph
"smells like turd"
joeseph's Avatar
Joined Jan 2004
Auckland, New Zealand
Dec 20, 2009 16:37 |  #2

From the description above, I'd say the problem was the 7D. If you have previously formatted a number of different cards in the suspect camera and they all then fail with similar issues then you've done all the testing you can reasonably do - time for a visit to Canon I'd say, or better still to the retailer that sold you and see if you can get a replacement...


canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", 1D MK II converted for IR
TF posting: here :-)

LOG IN TO REPLY
elContrarian
Member
94 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Dec 20, 2009 17:00 |  #3
banned

You have a computer, don't you?
Try to format it there.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Khamelion
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
91 posts
Joined Jun 2006
North East England
Dec 20, 2009 17:15 as a reply to elContrarian's post |  #4

Think I've found the issue, it may be me it may be the camera, however, I found that by pushing the CF Card in a little more firmly than I was used to with my 20D I don't have the problems.

A symptom I forgot to mention was that after inserting the card and turning the 7D on, the activity LED would come on for a good few seconds, go out, and nothing would happen, then when you tried to wake the camera up by pressing the shutter button, that's when the error message would appear.

However, if the card is pressed in a little firmer, when turning the 7D on, you get hte sensor cleaning graphic and all is good.

So the question is now, was I being a little paranoid about my expensive new cameram, or do I just have to learn a new way of thinking?


--
Kind Regards
Dave
http://www.resoluteima​ges.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
TJH132
Member
TJH132's Avatar
120 posts
Joined Feb 2007
Salem, Oregon
Dec 20, 2009 17:24 as a reply to Khamelion's post |  #5

Sounds like a problem I had with two 8gig SanDisk Extreme IV. SanDisk finally decided they had a problem with a particular batch and replaced them. My thread is here:

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=772884

This thread has some detailed batch numbers to watch out for and ways to get new cards from SanDisk.

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=765502

I would NOT continue to use that card until you know for sure it's ok. You may be in for some lost images if you continue to use it!

TJH




LOG IN TO REPLY
dr1ft
Senior Member
dr1ft's Avatar
284 posts
Joined May 2008
Silver Spring, MD
Dec 20, 2009 19:07 |  #6

Ah, I'm having the SAME problem! (my thread: http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=798123)

A cheap 2gb 50x Kingston works fine in my 7d but my 4gb ultra ii (100x) and my 8gb extreme iii (200x) give me that damned error.

I really need a camera right now for the holidays so I will use the 2gb cards, then send in the 7d for repair on 2nd January.

I'm convinced it's the 7d that's the problem. Pressing the card firmly does nothing. Call Canon ASAP.

-Vik


-Vik
http://www.sejvik.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Khamelion
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
91 posts
Joined Jun 2006
North East England
Dec 21, 2009 04:25 as a reply to dr1ft's post |  #7

Pushing the card in firmly makes no difference, I think it was more hope and willing on my behalf that that was the issue.

I left the camera overnight, battery out as Canon recommend, tried again this morning, but straight away, CF card error. I was straight on the Phone to the shop and I'm off there now hopefully to get a replacement, as I really do not want them to send it off to Canon for repair.


--
Kind Regards
Dave
http://www.resoluteima​ges.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Khamelion
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
91 posts
Joined Jun 2006
North East England
Dec 21, 2009 06:28 as a reply to Khamelion's post |  #8

Took the 3 week old 7D back to the shop, and got a straight swap and the new one I got has the latest firmware already installed.

So fingers crossed this one behaves.


--
Kind Regards
Dave
http://www.resoluteima​ges.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
dr1ft
Senior Member
dr1ft's Avatar
284 posts
Joined May 2008
Silver Spring, MD
Dec 21, 2009 06:31 |  #9

Glad it worked out for you Dave. I wish I had the option of returning to the shop!


-Vik
http://www.sejvik.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Khamelion
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
91 posts
Joined Jun 2006
North East England
Dec 21, 2009 06:41 as a reply to dr1ft's post |  #10

While I was in there, I bought the grip and battery, I think it was a Canon ploy to get me back to the shop to spend more money.

The bad news is when the other half finds the credit card bill I'm in for trouble, but the good news is at least I'll be able to snap her exploding now.


--
Kind Regards
Dave
http://www.resoluteima​ges.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
oldvultureface's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
Northwest Indiana USA
Dec 21, 2009 06:42 as a reply to dr1ft's post |  #11

A similar issue with the 5DMKII and SanDisk cards:

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=798749


OVF

LOG IN TO REPLY
Khamelion
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
91 posts
Joined Jun 2006
North East England
Dec 21, 2009 07:11 as a reply to oldvultureface's post |  #12

I've still got the 16gb SanDisk, as it worked fine in my 20D, I'll take a few shots over the next couple of days to see if all is well. If not 'll send it back to SanDisk.

I wouildn't care, but when I was in the shop I was going to buy a Lexar card, but the assistant talked me into the SanDisk, should have stuck to my gut feeling. Hey ho we live and learn.


--
Kind Regards
Dave
http://www.resoluteima​ges.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jkdjedi
Senior Member
jkdjedi's Avatar
339 posts
Joined Jun 2013
California
Aug 02, 2013 17:00 |  #13

I'm just now having the same issue w/ 2 different Sandisk 32 g cards. SOB!!


http://www.fernandezim​ages.com/

LOG IN TO REPLY
auto-clicker
Senior Member
760 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Aug 02, 2013 17:52 as a reply to jkdjedi's post |  #14

Just a cautionary advise, don't push extra hard on the card, you might break pins, which will hurt more.




LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
28,275 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Aug 02, 2013 18:40 |  #15

auto-clicker wrote in post #16176443external link
Just a cautionary advise, don't push extra hard on the card, you might break pins, which will hurt more.

Pushing harder isn't going to break pins, unless the card didn't slip down overall the pins properly. The card will bottom out before there is an issue, as long as all pins seat into each port properly.


Past Equipment | My Galleryexternal link
Resources For Sale: High ISO Denoiser Actionexternal link | Focus Genie

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

10,294 views & 0 likes for this thread
Is it the CF card or the 7D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0031 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is matvid
587 guests, 577 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016