Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th of December 2009 (Sun)   #1
Khamelion
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North East England
Posts: 91
Default Is it the CF card or the 7D

Bit of a strange one this, 3 weeks ago I bought my 7D not had much time to play with it, needless to say it only has 100 photos taken so far.

At time of purchase I bought a 16gb SanDisk Extreme 60MB/s UDMA CF card, which I've had in the camera since purchase.

Today when out taking a few shots I got the message

"Card cannot be accessed. Reinsert/change the card or format card with camera."

I can't format the card in the camera, I just get told

"Cannot format. Change card"

So I changed the card, 3 times, with two 1gb Lexar and one 2gb Lexar card, all of which had the same issue.

So I put in my cheap and nasty emergency only card and the 7D was happy.

Then I decided to put the cards my 7D would not recognize into my 20D and straight away no issue, the 20D formatted the cards.

So I put the 20D formatted cards into the 7D and low and behold the 7D recognized the card and allowed me to format them.

But, alas, when I thought the issue was sorted, I put the 16gb SanDisk back into the 7D and took some more shots, only to find the same error happening again.

I'm thinking it's the 7D as all the cards work without problem in my 20D.

So what so you think, broken cards or broken 7D?
__________________
--
Kind Regards
Dave
Khamelion is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 20th of December 2009 (Sun)   #2
joeseph
"smells like turd"
 
joeseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 7,325
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

From the description above, I'd say the problem was the 7D. If you have previously formatted a number of different cards in the suspect camera and they all then fail with similar issues then you've done all the testing you can reasonably do - time for a visit to Canon I'd say, or better still to the retailer that sold you and see if you can get a replacement...
__________________
canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", 1D MK II converted for IR
TF posting: here
joeseph is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of December 2009 (Sun)   #3
elContrarian
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 94
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

You have a computer, don't you?
Try to format it there.
elContrarian is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 20th of December 2009 (Sun)   #4
Khamelion
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North East England
Posts: 91
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

Think I've found the issue, it may be me it may be the camera, however, I found that by pushing the CF Card in a little more firmly than I was used to with my 20D I don't have the problems.

A symptom I forgot to mention was that after inserting the card and turning the 7D on, the activity LED would come on for a good few seconds, go out, and nothing would happen, then when you tried to wake the camera up by pressing the shutter button, that's when the error message would appear.

However, if the card is pressed in a little firmer, when turning the 7D on, you get hte sensor cleaning graphic and all is good.

So the question is now, was I being a little paranoid about my expensive new cameram, or do I just have to learn a new way of thinking?
__________________
--
Kind Regards
Dave
Khamelion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of December 2009 (Sun)   #5
TJH132
Member
 
TJH132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 120
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

Sounds like a problem I had with two 8gig SanDisk Extreme IV. SanDisk finally decided they had a problem with a particular batch and replaced them. My thread is here:

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=772884

This thread has some detailed batch numbers to watch out for and ways to get new cards from SanDisk.

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=765502

I would NOT continue to use that card until you know for sure it's ok. You may be in for some lost images if you continue to use it!

TJH
TJH132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of December 2009 (Sun)   #6
dr1ft
Member
 
dr1ft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 284
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

Ah, I'm having the SAME problem! (my thread: http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=798123)

A cheap 2gb 50x Kingston works fine in my 7d but my 4gb ultra ii (100x) and my 8gb extreme iii (200x) give me that damned error.

I really need a camera right now for the holidays so I will use the 2gb cards, then send in the 7d for repair on 2nd January.

I'm convinced it's the 7d that's the problem. Pressing the card firmly does nothing. Call Canon ASAP.

-Vik
__________________
-Vik
http://www.sejvik.com
dr1ft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2009 (Mon)   #7
Khamelion
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North East England
Posts: 91
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

Pushing the card in firmly makes no difference, I think it was more hope and willing on my behalf that that was the issue.

I left the camera overnight, battery out as Canon recommend, tried again this morning, but straight away, CF card error. I was straight on the Phone to the shop and I'm off there now hopefully to get a replacement, as I really do not want them to send it off to Canon for repair.
__________________
--
Kind Regards
Dave
Khamelion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2009 (Mon)   #8
Khamelion
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North East England
Posts: 91
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

Took the 3 week old 7D back to the shop, and got a straight swap and the new one I got has the latest firmware already installed.

So fingers crossed this one behaves.
__________________
--
Kind Regards
Dave
Khamelion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2009 (Mon)   #9
dr1ft
Member
 
dr1ft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 284
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

Glad it worked out for you Dave. I wish I had the option of returning to the shop!
__________________
-Vik
http://www.sejvik.com
dr1ft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2009 (Mon)   #10
Khamelion
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North East England
Posts: 91
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

While I was in there, I bought the grip and battery, I think it was a Canon ploy to get me back to the shop to spend more money.

The bad news is when the other half finds the credit card bill I'm in for trouble, but the good news is at least I'll be able to snap her exploding now.
__________________
--
Kind Regards
Dave
Khamelion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2009 (Mon)   #11
oldvultureface
Goldmember
 
oldvultureface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,800
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

A similar issue with the 5DMKII and SanDisk cards:

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=798749
oldvultureface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2009 (Mon)   #12
Khamelion
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North East England
Posts: 91
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

I've still got the 16gb SanDisk, as it worked fine in my 20D, I'll take a few shots over the next couple of days to see if all is well. If not 'll send it back to SanDisk.

I wouildn't care, but when I was in the shop I was going to buy a Lexar card, but the assistant talked me into the SanDisk, should have stuck to my gut feeling. Hey ho we live and learn.
__________________
--
Kind Regards
Dave
Khamelion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2013 (Fri)   #13
jkdjedi
Member
 
jkdjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 236
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

I'm just now having the same issue w/ 2 different Sandisk 32 g cards. SOB!!
__________________
7D | 6D | 50 f/1.4 | Macro 100 f/2.8 | 70-200L f/4 | Sigma 35 f/1.4 ART | Tokina 16-28 f/2.8 | Tamron 24-70 f/2.8
jkdjedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2013 (Fri)   #14
auto-clicker
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 757
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

Just a cautionary advise, don't push extra hard on the card, you might break pins, which will hurt more.
auto-clicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2013 (Fri)   #15
TeamSpeed
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cow and Corn Country, Indiana
Posts: 23,864
Default Re: Is it the CF card or the 7D

Quote:
Originally Posted by auto-clicker View Post
Just a cautionary advise, don't push extra hard on the card, you might break pins, which will hurt more.
Pushing harder isn't going to break pins, unless the card didn't slip down overall the pins properly. The card will bottom out before there is an issue, as long as all pins seat into each port properly.
__________________
SL1 | 5D3 | 100L | 24-70L | 70-200L f2.8 IS | Σ 50-500 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Tok 11-16 | 18-55 IS | 55-250 IS
Past Equipment | My Gallery | My Mini-Reviews
Resources For Sale: Focus Genie MicroAdjustment Chart | High ISO Denoiser Action
TeamSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.