Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th of January 2010 (Thu)   #1
zooxanthellae
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent U.K
Posts: 278
Default 7d hard reset question

Hi all

After playing with the settings on my 7d for the last couple of months i decided to do a hard reset as i wanted to default to factory.
I removed both batts and left the camera for around 10mins, installed both batts again and was met with the set date/time screen.
Sweet except my picture style settings were still stored and my name was still registered in the copyright info screen,
Custom functions were reset though,does this sound right as i thought a hard reset totally wiped the camera clean?
Many thanks for your help.
__________________
Canon 5D MK II,7d,70-200 L F2.8,24-70L,100mm Macro usm F2.8,sigma 150-500 OS,50mm 1.8 mk II,580 ex II.
zooxanthellae is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 7th of January 2010 (Thu)   #2
John the Geek
Member
 
John the Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 903
Default Re: 7d hard reset question

You reset the volatile memory. There is a custom function to reset the settings. My 7D isn't in front of me, but it's in the menu somewhere.
__________________
Canon Gear: 7D Gripped :: 16-35mm /2.8L II :: 24-70mm /2.8L :: 70-200mm /2.8L IS II :: 28mm /1.8 :: 50mm /1.4 :: 85mm /1.8 :: 200mm /2.8L II :: 180mm /3.5L Macro :: Extenders 1.4x II and 2x II :: Speedlites 430EX II (x2) and MT-24EX Macro Twin Lite
www.focalmagic.com (Under construction)
John the Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of January 2010 (Thu)   #3
zooxanthellae
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent U.K
Posts: 278
Default Re: 7d hard reset question

Yep i have reset the other functions now although it still retained my copyright info, i would have thought there would be a way to totally default a fresh set up but it would seem not. So the camera has a flash memory?
In that case all those that attempt to hard reset to get rid of gremlins etc dont really achieve or change anything?
__________________
Canon 5D MK II,7d,70-200 L F2.8,24-70L,100mm Macro usm F2.8,sigma 150-500 OS,50mm 1.8 mk II,580 ex II.
zooxanthellae is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 7th of January 2010 (Thu)   #4
Tim Kostka
Member
 
Tim Kostka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 342
Default Re: 7d hard reset question

"Clear all camera settings" is in the menu, which might be what you're looking for.
__________________
Zenfolio | Picasa Web
Canon EOS 7D | EF 24-105mm L | EF-S 10-22mm | EF-S 18-135mm | Sigma 50-500mm | 580EX II | Feisol CT-3441SB Tripod
Tim Kostka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of January 2010 (Thu)   #5
zooxanthellae
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent U.K
Posts: 278
Default Re: 7d hard reset question

Hiya, yes that cleared the settings but left info such as copyright and a couple of other bits and bobs intact. I was expecting some kind of master reset to total default so it was kinda minty box fresh reset, that would be handy from a resale point of view especially if copyright info didn't get manually cleared as an over sight.
__________________
Canon 5D MK II,7d,70-200 L F2.8,24-70L,100mm Macro usm F2.8,sigma 150-500 OS,50mm 1.8 mk II,580 ex II.
zooxanthellae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of January 2010 (Thu)   #6
L.Morey
Senior Member
 
L.Morey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Modesto Ca
Posts: 1,571
Default Re: 7d hard reset question

Did you try taking out thr little cr132 batt in the battery compartment for 5-10 min and see what that does good luck
__________________
7d gripped,40d gripped,G9,17-40f4L, 24-70f2.8 L, 70-200f2.8 mkll L, 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L, 50f1.4 , 85f1.8 , Sigma 24-70f2.8
Sigma 150-500 , Sigma 18-200f4-6.3 , Canon Ste2 , Canon
580mki , Canon 580mkllx2
http://lwmorey.zenfolio.com/
L.Morey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of January 2010 (Thu)   #7
John the Geek
Member
 
John the Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 903
Default Re: 7d hard reset question

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.Morey View Post
Did you try taking out thr little cr132 batt in the battery compartment for 5-10 min and see what that does good luck
AH! When I read "both batteries" I thought that, but he has a grip! That could mean either.

Also, Canon told me 30 minutes without batteries, not 10. Not sure if they were just being cautious though.
__________________
Canon Gear: 7D Gripped :: 16-35mm /2.8L II :: 24-70mm /2.8L :: 70-200mm /2.8L IS II :: 28mm /1.8 :: 50mm /1.4 :: 85mm /1.8 :: 200mm /2.8L II :: 180mm /3.5L Macro :: Extenders 1.4x II and 2x II :: Speedlites 430EX II (x2) and MT-24EX Macro Twin Lite
www.focalmagic.com (Under construction)
John the Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of January 2010 (Fri)   #8
zooxanthellae
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent U.K
Posts: 278
Default Re: 7d hard reset question

Hiya , sorry yes I mean I removed the time/date button batt plus the power batts.Perhaps I should leave the camera longer.
Thanks all
__________________
Canon 5D MK II,7d,70-200 L F2.8,24-70L,100mm Macro usm F2.8,sigma 150-500 OS,50mm 1.8 mk II,580 ex II.
zooxanthellae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to HARD RESET a Canon 450D or 500D? Lucato Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 21st of December 2009 (Mon) 11:33
How to Hard Reset Canon 40D Eschew Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 21st of August 2008 (Thu) 01:43
IS or no IS the hard question mikediamo Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 22 16th of March 2008 (Sun) 10:53
HARD RESET WITH G6 sampei76 Canon G-series Digital Cameras 4 5th of April 2005 (Tue) 07:24


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.