Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Critique Corner
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 30th of January 2010 (Sat)   #1
jonahrei

Default C&C again....

Hi all,

I'm a newb and this is my second post in this section. I've had my camera for 1 month and I just want any c&c to improve my new hobby. These 2 shots were taken from a 7d 50mm f1.4.

Thanks.

jonahrei is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of January 2010 (Sat)   #2
vk2gwk
Cream of the Crop

Default Re: C&C again....

#2 got something...Nice shot - as if she just jumped off the back of the ute ( = utility vehicle for the non Australians... ). The first one is too soft and should be cropped farther to the right - with more space for her to look at you...
Have a look at my photos on Flickr! and on my portfolio web site.

Last edited by vk2gwk : 30th of January 2010 (Sat) at 01:59. Reason: explanation
vk2gwk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of January 2010 (Sat)   #3
seaside
Slapped with a ridiculous title

I agree #2 is better. A ramp, like those used for a handicapped person off the tailgate would have created an interesting image
seaside is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of January 2010 (Sat)   #4
joedlh
Goldmember

Location: Long Island, NY, North America, Sol III, Orion Spur of the Milky Way galaxy.

In both cases, you have your subject looking out the narrowest side of the image. It's better to have her looking into the center.

While others extol the virtues of the f/1.4 lens, the narrow depth of field places great demands on the photographer's sensitivity to where the focus is. In both shots, the hat fibers on her forehead are in focus, but her eyes are not. The cardinal rule of any kind of photography is that if there are eyes in it, they must be the point of focus.