Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Presentation
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th of February 2010 (Wed)   #1
rosalynsam
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 78
Default Advise, please? laptop, with NO HDMI..

I am considering purchasing a new lap top, and it doesn't have the HDMI - and I really have no idea if I need it. I'd like to have the capability of projection from my laptop for my photographs/presentations. Do I need the HDMI? I've searched the forum and saw what seems to be a solution (an extra cable for some applications, which I'm not sure I understood), but it also comes with warnings that it isn't really recommended. The laptop monitor is widescreen - is that a problem? I am illiterate when it comes to much of the connections, what is needed, what is good, what is bad....any help is appreciated - thank you!
rosalynsam is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 11th of February 2010 (Thu)   #2
cdwise
Member
 
cdwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston, TX/Breckenridge, CO
Posts: 90
Default Re: Advise, please? laptop, with NO HDMI..

Sort of depends where you will be presenting. I've never used HDMI for presentations though I've used it for watching movies on my HDTV and from my tablet's dock for my computer monitor.

A lot of laptops have a display port that you can get a cable to connect to an HDMI if you need it but you'll only find HDMI on higher end laptops.

For presentations I've always used projectors that use a standard monitor port.
__________________
Cheryl D Wise
http://by-expression.com
Canon Rebel T1i
cdwise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of February 2010 (Fri)   #3
brap
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Advise, please? laptop, with NO HDMI..

Does the laptop have a dvi-out? If so, you can just buy a dvi - hdmi cable on ebay for about $5 and you'll be sorted.
HDMI sends same video signal as DVI except HDMI also includes audio. So you can send DVI-to-HDMI with no loss of quality. Just buy something like http://cgi.ebay.com/3-FT-HDMI-To-DVI...item3353c747f6
brap is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7D HDMI Out DeanAU Digital Video 0 11th of January 2010 (Mon) 16:37
50D and HDMI out PUREBRAD Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 23rd of November 2009 (Mon) 05:12
HDMI Shootfilm Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 9th of November 2009 (Mon) 22:41
50D and HDMI Mark1 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 2nd of October 2008 (Thu) 05:43
Looking for shoulder bag for camera&laptop - please advise prosurfer Accessories & Storage 11 19th of February 2008 (Tue) 10:16


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.